We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See young talent develop”

Diamond Head Theatre
Ranked #156 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Attraction details
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“See young talent develop”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a nice venue. Almost every seat is a good seat. And, the price is very reasonable for the quality product.
DHT should also be supported because it has given many local newcomers, young and old, a chance to showcase their talents. It would be a shame for local talent if this opportunity is lost.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Could not believe it!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Coming from a family strong community theatre background in Australia we were bemused to have the opportunity to see the 'sold out' theatre production of Legally Blonde
Theatre can be reached by a no 2 bus from Waikiki or a $10 taxi. Probably need to get a taxi back as we got lost trying to traverse the late night bus system
The production itself was first-class The theatre is comfortable, and very homey.
They advertised the play in one of the publicity rags....don't imagine many tourists go.
But it was as good as many professional productions, and one third of the price....who am I kidding ...one sixth!!! A great thing to do...check them out for something different to do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coro35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
532 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Fabulous Broadway quality production of Annie”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We saw Annie. As a New Yorker, I frequently go to Broadway shows. Annie at Diamond Head was top rate! The actors, including children, were fabulous, as was the choreography, costumes, sets, and orchestra. Yes, there is a live orchestra. There were 8 pieces, but the orchestra director re-arranged all the musical scores for the musicians and, himself, played 6 different instruments.

My sister, a Honolulu resident, says that all performances at Diamond Head are fabulous. Kudos to the entire cast, musicians, designers, producer and director. All that and the tickets are only $25 thanks to donors.

Do take the time to enjoy a performance

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKatieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great theater experience”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had the pleasure of seeing Singin in the Rain at the Diamond Head Theater in Honolulu when I was there on a recent visit - what a treat! It was a great show with wonderful singing and dancing. The theater is small so there are no bad seats. Box office and ushers were all friendly and helpful. If I lived on Oahu I would be season subscriber - great entertainment at a great price. Mahalo!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mew521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Community Theatre in the Islands”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Theatre buffs - if you like to check out local productions while on holiday, this is the place to go on Oahu. Check out their website for the latest: http://diamondheadtheatre.com/

There are no bad seats in the house, so buy the cheapest ticket.

Warning - restrooms are limited, so expect a long line. Refreshment consist of fundraiser items available outside during intermissions. $2 for drinks or candy. No food or drink is allowed inside.

Parking is available in the theatre's private lot or in the community college's lot across the street. If you don't have a car, catch a cab. Bus service is limited.

Support local theatre!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank la808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing