We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marginally interesting”

Queen Emma Summer Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$420.00*
and up
Luxury Convertible Tour to Oahu's North Shore
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
More Info
$55.81*
and up
Diamond Head and Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour
Ranked #47 of 328 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Queen Emma Summer Palace or Hānaiakamalama (The Southern Cross), served as a summer retreat for Queen Emma of Hawai'i from 1857 to 1885, as well as for her husband King Kamehameha IV, and their son, Prince Albert Edward. It is a now a historic landmark and educational museum preserved and operated by Daughters of Hawai'i. Admission to the Palace: General: $10 Kama'āina & Seniors: $8 Children 5-17 $1. Open daily from 9 AM to 4 PM. Closed on major holidays. Because the Palace was built in the nineteenth century, access may not be available for visitors who have difficulties climbing stairs.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Marginally interesting”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We found the house (not a palace at all) only marginally interesting but we did speak to the archivist for a good hour and he was full of interesting info and was completely fascinating. Only because of that were we delighted we made the stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graceful2x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    76
    28
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Be prepared to take mental photos...no camera's allowed :(”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

So me being the absolute history buff I am I decided not only did I have to go to Iolani Palace but Queen Emma's as well, It's a small house and garden and is beautiful but unfortunately because all of the items are actually donated you are not allowed to take any photos! Very disappointing since I love taking pictures of historical places. It is also a bit pricey, I paid $12, my boyfriend decided not to come in since it would have been $24.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KerisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

take the tour.....the docent is always very informative and friendly.....they have a wonderful collection of things from the period....not huge but very special......the special displays are not only informative but very beautiful too......it is not a palace like in the west but it still is very special

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful snapshot of Hawaiian History”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Took my 13 year old for a quick visit. Opted for the docent tour and had a very informative and interesting experience. Anyone who likes Hawaiian history would love this. Never knew that Queen Victoria, Mark Twain, and Andrew Johnson all had Queen Emma in common. The docents lovingly show you all the period pieces in the home with great detail, and relate the happiness as well as the tragedies in the life of this gifted and charitable Queen. Highly recommend this!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LvtoPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great historic house”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wonderful docents made our visit to Queen Emma Summer Palace a delight. The house itself is an important part of Hawaiian history - kudos to the Daughters of Hawaii for saving such an important site from developers and for maintaining it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Emma Summer Palace also viewed

 

Been to Queen Emma Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing