We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get the hype”
Review of Kaiwa

Kaiwa
Ranked #120 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Don't get the hype”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This place seemed hugely popular people were queuing to get in so decided to give it a go taking advantage of the happy journey from 5pm to 7pm. Tempura vegetables were ok and potato and cheese gratin although amazingly tasty the potatoes were way undercooked. Having alerted the waitress the dish went back to be cooked further but it was returned literally a minute later still undercooked - potatoes still felt hard! This is just not acceptable really.
Grilled Angus Sirloin steak ( $24 on HH, $48 normally) was gristly and bland bit of meat though all we could taste was the rosemary - too overpowering. Rosemary goes with lamb but not with beef and certainly not very Japanese!
Best bit was the $3 beer Sapporo but you have to order potato ad cheese dish to try.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    112
    27
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Blown Away”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Strolling up Lewers Street looking for something light to eat as it was getting late and we had been on an plane for 6 hours. A very pleasant surprise to find this restaurant and just what we needed. Being at level 2 the crowds tend to miss this restaurant so it was relaxed with a steady stream of customers but no waiting. The service was excellent, speedy informative and attentive. We had Aburi Hamachi Roll with seared yellow tail and teriyaki sauce USD18 (delicious), Rekon Cheese Yaki with a blend of cheeses USD11 (subtle and quite different) and Tati Ika Sugata Yaki with garlic miso USD16 this was sashimi grade grilled squid and amongst the best I have tasted. Couldn't really fault, this restaurant is well worth searching out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilHBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service and an excellent price”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We ordered their top sashimi platter off of the special menu and it was very, very good. The awabe and everything else was very fresh tasting. The amaebi was just as good and better than many I have had in Japan. I highly recommend this plate if you have been to Japan and like the taste of authentic Japanese food. We then ordered an ebi karage and it was very meaty, fresh and tastey. I little greasy, but it's fried. This was excellent after the amaebi miso soup. Then we finished it off with buri daikon. It was a little strong, but very good. If you like Japanese food and haven't tried buri daikon, it is a different taste which I recommend you try! The service was friendly. The waiter was attentive and helpful. He knew the products well and gave sound answers to our questions. If you like sashimi and other real Japanese foods which are true to their origin in taste, I hope you have the opportunity to go to Kaiwa's!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I'm not usually given to hyperbole but, if you are prepared to go outside of the box, a meal at Kaiwa will be enough to awaken the most jaded of palates.
I went to Kaiwai after a online search for the best sashimi in Honolulu. After a bit of searching and enquiring I found myself on the 1st (2nd if outside UK) floor of a rather pleasant shopping/accommodation development. From the outside Kaiwa is unremarkable. The difference is in the marvellous service and the outstanding food. I had the special house trinity sashimi which constituted gorgeous belly tuna, yellowtail and abalone. All was beautifully prepared but the abalone was served with its liver separated. I had never experienced such a beautiful taste and texture although I'm informed that many Americans don't care for it. I also had some gorgeously tender octopus and a squid dish exquisitely prepared with uni. After a discussion on my upcoming trip my waitress sorted out a taster menu of 3 different sakis. Delicious. All in all the bill was amazingly good value for money. Don't miss

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MestizoCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place! It was definitely one of my favorite restaurants on the island. The service was great; the food was delicious! Everything was fresh and you can order healthy but fulfilling dishes. It definitely satisfied my picky Californian taste.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiwa also viewed

 

Been to Kaiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing