We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Quality, Taste, and Service”
Review of Kaiwa

Kaiwa
Ranked #107 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superior Quality, Taste, and Service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My family treated me to dinner here one lovely evening. We sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the glow of the torches and the gentle breeze. Our servers were extremely friendly. Got to know each other on a first name basis. I had sashimi. It was so incredible. Absolutely fresh and perfect flavor. Lovely presentation, as well. The rest of the family ordered assorted rolls, which they loved. Every plate of sushi that arrived was lovingly explained to us by our servers. How many times have you ordered sushi and completely forgotten what you chose by the time it arrives? If you're like me, plenty of times! We really appreciated the "refresher course" when the rolls were delivered to our table. Our drinks were always refilled without asking, and when we left the servers made sure to say goodbye to us, and waved at us every time we walked by for the rest of the evening (there's fun shops all around the restaurant.) Highly recommend Kaiwa- it's worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank excitedforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    112
    27
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Top quality Japenese on Lewers Street”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Super fresh, upmarket Japanese restaurant. Has sushi/sashimi and also teppanyaki dishes. Will suit those looking for an upmarket dining experience (expensive, but quality). Hamish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zxcbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Superior japanese food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had dinner here on our recent visit to Waikiki. The sushi and sashimi were excellent, well prepared and the presentation was fabulous. As tacky as it is, we had to take a few photos of the food before eating.

The restaurant is a single large room with sushi bar at the back and table seating at the front. The decore is modern minimalist with western style seating - normal tables with chairs or bench seating. The restaurant did not appear to have private Tatami rooms. The seating was comfortable but some of the tables are fairly close together so privacy is not the greatest.

Overall, Kaiwa was a nice dining experience but not for those on a budget. For our family of six, we averaged $65 per person, this included tip but we had no liquor. We kept our meal cost down by ordering various types sushi and sashimi and sharing. If you're going to have liquor, appetizer and steak or lobster from their teppan grill, you're going to be over $100 per person so you may want to look at the menu before going in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous steak”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just arrived in Hawaii today and ventured out this evening to look for a restaurant for dinner. Looked up and saw Kaiwa as we were walking down the street. What a find! We both ordered the Black Angus garlic steak. Cooked to perfection and tender. And they cooked us stir fry veggies to go with the meal even though it wasn't on the menu. Serving was more than adequate by Australian standards (maybe not by American standards) so we thoroughly enjoyed it. I hate wasting food when the servings are huge!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ozbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Poke & Sushi”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our second day walking around Waikiki, we had a craving for sushi for lunch and came across this restaurant along the Waikiki Beach Walk. We ordered the Ahi poke, sashimi platter and a couple other items. Food was really good, melt in your mouth sushi! As much as I enjoyed the food, however, the service was a tad bit slow and I would say the food was very pricy! Lunch for 2 with tip was just under $70!?

I definitely would recommend this place for the sushi if you have some extra cash to spend, but if you are on a budget you should probably skip it for the time being.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing