We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best diving/snorkeling experience ever”

Reef Pirates Diving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Reef Pirates offers daily Oahu scuba diving trips and professional PADI scuba certifications. We operate our own dive boat and limit it to 6 divers plus crew for a more personalized, less crowded dive experience. We have an excellent safety record, and offer complimentary Waikiki hotel transportation with all our dive charters and scuba certification courses. We also offer private charters and multi day packages, as well as the latest equipment from Atomic and Cressi. Want to try scuba diving and not certified? We offer Discover Scuba Diving. Try diving in a safe, secure, and friendly way.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Reef Pirates is an amazing company. The first day I was in Hawaii I saw countless numbers of gorgeous fish and sea turtles so close I could have hugged them. I was so impressed.

Thank Jsings115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPirates, Instructor at Reef Pirates Diving, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Aloha and thank you for your review of your diving and snorkeling experience with Reef Pirates Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 942 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

I choose Reef Pirates for my introductory scuba diving because the website was clear, conscise and upfront escpecially about the medical questions. I was pleased with Sean's and Seth's professionalism and personal touch in taking care of their clients. Since this was my first time underwater, it was good to know they wanted me to enjoy scuba diving as much as they enjoy it. This was a very good experience for me since I have wanted to try scuba diving for a very long time. Just say it has to do with watching Sea Hunt and Flipper while growing up in the Midwest.

Thank Chi-Guy-60660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPirates, Instructor at Reef Pirates Diving, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Aloha -

Thank you for your review of your Discover Scuba Diving experience with Reef Pirates!

When you are ready to get certified, give us a call!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

WOW, WOW and amazing. I will first have to admit I stumbled upon xxxxx by accident and very much to my good fortune. They are very small, personal, attentive experienced and highly knowledgeable diving operation. Second to none on the island from the novice to the 100+ dive diver. I took four dives with Sean and each and every one was an eye opening experience. I am from an island in Florida and consider myself very knowledgeable about the undersea life. However, I pale in comparison to Sean, and apparently so do the other dive instructors on the boat from other operations. Each and every time we returned to the boat and all were comparing stories mine and my experience with Sean were far and above those of the others on the boat. We saw Reef Sharks (hiding deep underneath the coral cliffs), Frog Fish, different types of nocturnal shrimp, even though are dives were during the day. He just knew how to find all the creatures on these reefs and bring them to life during the day. Several octopus and a large variety of eels large and small. Scorpion Fish, dozens of turtles, swimming with the porpoise. I could go on and on. Just a great memorable life time experience which opened my eyes. Each dive was like being a child again waiting for the sun to rise and seeing what presents lay beneath the tree, this case the ocean. If you like seeking average and settling for second best then go to the more-well advertized operations. If, on the other hand if you seek the thrill and excitement while looking through the eyes of a child again then follow my advice…..call Sean. My children will get their certification from Sean when we return this fall. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

PS. Bring a handful of Slim Jim’s for Sean……watch his face light up!

Dean

Thank Dean180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPirates, Instructor at Reef Pirates Diving, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Aloha Dean -

Thank you for your review of Reef Pirates Hawaii. We enjoy sharing the ocean with others; especially instructing. We look forward to certifying your children and showing them the other 80% of the world.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My wife has been diving for years. For me, it was my first time diving outside of my class. We couldn't have had a better experience. Sean is the consummate professional who has something to offer all diving levels. Great time. Great memories. And thanks for the pictures!

Thank Barrett1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPirates, Instructor at Reef Pirates Diving, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Aloha -

Thank you for your review of Reef Pirates Hawaii - we hope you will come diving with us again next time you are in Honolulu!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I only had one dive trip booked with Reef Pirates on my trip to Oahu - but this operation was so great I wound up diving with them practically every other day I was there! Sean and Seth bring a great sense of humor, endless enthusiasm and complete professionalism to help quell the fears of even the most anxious diver. While there were more people on the boat... our group was very small and had our own entry & exit so it was like being on a private charter!

Both guys are great at pointing out all the beautiful wildlife (Sean went out of his way to make SURE I saw an Octopus - its the highlight of my dive life!), and the fact that they both set up/change your gear (unless you'd rather do it yourself) AND take off your fins before you climb back up the ladder are just the icing on the cake. I've been around a few full service shops, but Reef Pirates exceeded all my expectations and more. I'll ABSOLUTELY be back!!!

Thank Amy_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPirates, Instructor at Reef Pirates Diving, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Aloha Amy!

Thank you for your review of Reef Pirates Hawaii! We hope you will come diving with us again next time you are on Oahu.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Pirates Diving also viewed

 

Been to Reef Pirates Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing