We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“understated elegance,first class customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

My wife and I spent a lovely evening in early December at the Trump. It had recently been opened and not all restaurants were up and running. But the freindly, yet well schooled customer service from the staff was impressive. They are a young group, but have been given good training and have an upbeat, enthusiastic atitude. That goes a long way to making a stay at a hotel memorable and enjoyable.The rooms are spacious and well done and the open shower treatment interesting..but it works! Views over the Halakulani of the ocean at Waikiki were quite stunning... and this is from someone who is born and raised on Oahu, so am a bit jaded when it comes to "ocean views"....
The lobby on the 6th floor level is a brilliant idea..and beautifully designed. Feels like an old kamaaina estate with the floor to ceiling folding wood doors that open onto large veranda bays overlooking tthe greenery of Fort derussey right at treetop level...with the blue of the ocean as a back drop, it is dramatic.
If you live here, try it out....it will reveive your sense of beauty and excitement in Waikiki..and dont forget to take an early morning swim out to the surf line up! Aloha !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank townbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,939 - 1,945 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

From the moment we stepped foot on property my wife and I were greeted with a genuine Aloha. A bell man assisted us with our bags. We were then escorted onto the lobby, which was very unique. Lobby was on the six floor. I believe no other hotel in Waikiki has lobby above the actual ground floor. Lobby was very well designed. White sofa with perfectly arranged pillows and exotic floral arrangements. Front desk employees were very professional, attentive and friendly. Bell man offered flavored cold water and a cold wet face towel, a very creative touch since it was pretty hot and humid. Check in was very fast. Front desk agents maintained eye contact and smiled. We were then escorted to our room by our bell man. He was very informative and helpful. Rooms were elegant, classic, clean and peaceful. Restaurant staff very friendly. Spa offered customized treatments and staff were very welcoming. Front desk employees acknowledged every guest with a "Aloha" and a smile. They even remembered our names when walking through lobby, which made our trip and we felt like we were home. Upon check out, bell man arrived in moments notice and was able to assist with no questions asked. Front desk employees maintained a genuine smile and greeting. Check out was quick. Valet employees had car out by the time we were on ground level. You can tell everyone that worked here, enjoy what they are doing. We've never stayed at place were the environment and people are so positive and happy. My wife and I would highly recommend staying here. Trump has really impressed us from their employees to their exceptional guest service! This is the new kid on the block and they are here to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldairportguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Everything was impeccably clean. The staff are friendly and address you by name which was nice. The bathroom is roomy with plenty of towels, although the water pressure is on the weak side. The bed was very comfortable, the flat-screen TV was large, and the free wireless Internet was really appreciated.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach, and I mean a very short walk. You just cross the street from the hotel and the beach is like 50 ft. away through some green space. I was on the beach everyday and the proximity was a big surprise because looking on a map, it seemed a lot further.

Also nearby are the shops and malls, and also plenty of restaurants to choose from. For a first time visit to Hawaii, it did not take much effort to find what I needed.

I tried the spa and found it pricey for the experience that I got.

I was there during the marathon weekend and the staff made the effort to make sure all guests were aware of the traffic issues and to help you get to the airport through the traffic mess.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quasar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

When we decided to spend our honeymoon in Hawaii, we thought we would take a chance and spend it at the new Trump Towers. The arrival went well, since we arrived later in the afternoon our room was already ready – even with some nice honeymoon amenities. Our room was beautiful- a nice contemporary feel. Pool is nice, but a bit small for 400+ rooms. The beach bags they loan you are great and very convenient. If you are going to the royal palace, call the concierge desk to arrange as they get a discount off the normal rate. The new BLT restaurant was great, dinner service was a bit long for my liking but overall service and food was good. Nightly parking is $28 so if you are not planning on using your car everyday I would only rent for the days that you are going to use it. If you are visiting during the Winter Season, visit the North Shore. The waves were absolutely amazing!

The only irritant was prior to arrival we had asked the attaché to arrange a few dinner reservations for us. I waited over a week with no email or follow up call so after not hearing back from them, I called the concierge desk to see if they could help me. The concierge assisted me right away to confirm everything and sent an email confirmation within minutes. Sounds small, but when you are traveling to Hawaii during the holidays I would recommend to have all your dining set prior—lots of the popular restaurants can fill quickly. Not sure what the difference between the two departments is (pre arrival vs. post arrival?) only that we had more interaction with the concierge than the attaché. I would suggest calling concierge if you need to get something done.

Overall vacation was great! The staff here is all very pleasant as we were always greeted with ALOHA where ever we went. We’re already planning our anniversary for next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We lucked out by getting a room here for 4 days, as the hotel sold out rather quickly the week we were travelling. The service is second to none, where everyone knows who you are, what your names are, including your children. From housekeeping to the spa staff to the bellstaff....unbelievable service!
The rooms are unbelievably clean and the bathrooms are like your own private spa. Very clean lines for the rooms and having a kitchenette proved to be extremely useful with a 4 year old!
As per someone else's note of saying that it doesn't cater well to families with young children, I completely and totally disagree!!! The hotel staff and facilities were unbelievable and the only area that he coudn't go was completely inside the spa for services!!! They treated him like a guest on his on his own and would recommend anyone with small children to consider this hotel as an option! They don't have the typical "playground" area for kids but the beach is a stone's throw away so it's not necessary!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaii2009for3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We were greeted by extremely friendly and nice staff the moment we pulled into the hotel. The check-in was quick but the room wasn't ready and we were given a free upgrade from a beachwalk to the ocean view studio. Which we thought was a nice gesture.

We had lunch at the the only restaurant serving and the staff pulled out a kids menu at the odd hour we were there. And one last thing, although not sure how important this really is if this were true - we heard from the other guests that this is not really owned by Trump and that Trump just licensed his name for the hotel operations.

The ocean view from the room is nice and the lanai though wasn't spacious it was decently sized with a table and two comfy chairs. We realized the view would have been depressing from the lower floors if we had gotten the "beachwalk studio". The beachwalk in the marketing is a bit misleading. The "beachwalk" is the Beachwalk road behind the hotel and has nothing to do with either a beach or walking on beach.

We also realized the room is too small for a family with two kids since there isn't much room left to maneuver around once we opened up the queen sofa bed.

The kitchen is well stocked with all the high end appliances and the bath was extra spacious and marbled floors and walls.

The hotel staff were always friendly, courteous and made us feel really special while we were there. The otherwise helpful and informative concierge sent us to two restaurants for lunch and to our surprise we found both the places closed for lunch. We were more than a little annoyed to have this happen twice and our kids didn't let us asking the concierge for any more advice on food tips after the two incidents after that! Not really sure why the staff isn't up to date on restaurant business hours. There were otherwise very helpful, friendly and patient though. Some nice touches include making sure your car is stocked with water bottles whenever you left the hotel, and free children's books and toys during the first and the last days for the kids.

Also, for those with cars there is a $30/day fee for parking. Something you may want to consider when renting a car while you are staying at the hotel (but most hotels in this area perhaps have a parking fee as well).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

This was our first time staying at a Trump hotel and weren't quite sure what to expect but this stay exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were all (2 adults and 3 children ages 12, 9, and 6) treated so special. We were given a complimentary upgrade so we'd all be comfortable in the room and the staff always went above and beyond their duties. The rooms were awesome! We were impressed with the kitchen with the high-end appliances, the bathrooms and comfy beds. Although the pool isn't too big, the kids still had fun. You felt like family there. Although we are locals, this stay made us feel like we were worlds away. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $320 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing