We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & staff/ no outdoor space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights with my family and we love it. The location is very convenient to restaurants, beach and transportation. Staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to help with a warm smile. I wish all hotel staff is like that. The only bad part is the pool area which is smaller than most pool. It's actually a 1 lane pool with children play area right next to it. The sitting area is very tight and I have never found a space to sit down for the entire stay. The only available space to sit is in the sun which is too hot for me. However, the beach is 1 block away and you can get a beach bag with sun block lotion and area to go. After all, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: If you like a view, I recommend a higher floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AdventureMom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Aloha AdventureMom16. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you and your family loved our hotel, our complimentary beach bag service, and our location in Waikiki. Our staff is honored by your kind words about the friendly customer service you received and is thrilled that they could make your stay with us so special. We appreciate you recommending our hotel to other travelers, and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 3,012 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Trump Hotel as part of a 2-day "vacation from our vacation" at the beginning of July. As a general comment the hotel is very nice, and with regards to customer service, this is probably one of the friendliest/most accommodating staff that I have ever experienced.

The rooms are very clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Amenities in the hotel are very nice (although the pool is a little small).

As a word of caution; if you are looking for the "Hawaii 5.0 luxury experience" this hotel may not be for you. I can't exactly put my finger, but it doesn't have that same vibe as a Royal Hawaiian or a Moala Surfrider... That's not to say that this isn't an excellent hotel option - it's just very "Trump"-esque

Room Tip: Request a room on the West Side; East Side rooms face over the Embassy Suites hotel pool, so there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Aloha David T. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and that you liked the cleanliness and amenities of your room. Our staff are honored to learn that you consider them to be the friendliest and most accommodating staff you have ever experienced and are thrilled that they could make your vacation special and memorable. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was really wonderful! The service was fantastic in fact! We had some packages delivered to the hotel and they made sure we got it. Plus, we had complimentary upgrade with the membership. Even though our stay was really short for only 2 nights, but the people there really made a difference! (although it's a little pricey!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Aloha Jezzie H. Thank you for staying with us for your Honeymoon celebration and for sharing your review. We are delighted that our fantastic customer service could make your experience so special, and we hope that the next time you visit Waikiki we will have the pleasure of welcoming you for more than just two nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I loved staying here. There is a serenity to the service here that is very satisfying. We had a two bedroom ocean view suite on the 12 floor which was perfect. We were there for 8 nights so having a kitchen and especially a washer and dryer was so convenient when it is a swimming vacation. The pool area was a nice size and it was never really crowded when we were there. We enjoyed a few breakfasts at In-Yo and the service there was warm and friendly except for the hostess who seemed a little snippy. The beach was just a short walk away and the hotel always had a complimentary bag available with towels, water and sunscreen for your beach excursions. We loved staying here and a special shout out to Cathy, Dennis, Case and Marlito who always had a smile and a kind word. Thank you and all the other members of this amazing staff. You made our trip to Hawaii very special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saint22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Aloha saint22. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved staying at our hotel and that you had a wonderful experience. It is great to learn that the amenities of your Suite could make your long stay more convenient and comfortable and that you also enjoyed our Infinity Pool, breakfast at In-Yo Cafe, and our complimentary beach bag service. Cathy, Dennis, Case, Marlito and the rest of our staff are so appreciative of your praises about the amazing customer service you received, and they are truly delighted that they could make your vacation special and memorable. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had a great stay. Upgraded on arrival without asking. Staff and amenities were fantastic. Only downside was the pool area. Being mid july, kids everywhere and in such a small area was impossible to have a quiet relax with a drink around the pool. At one pont there were 23 children and 3 adults in the pool which is only abt 20m x 2m. Kids screaming jumping. Love kids but this was disappointing. Other than this small gripe, great location, great service. As it was me partners birthday we splahed out and had dinner in the hotel restaurant BLT. Fantastic service and a complementary desert as well because of the Birthday. Would definitely stay again but probably not during school holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front facing hilton so you get a great view of the fireworks every friday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Aloha Vanessa K. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed your room and its amenities, our hotel's location in Waikiki, and celebrating your partner's birthday by dining at BLT Steak. Our staff are honored by your compliments about the exceptional customer service you received and are glad they could make your stay with us special and memorable. We recognize your comments about family stays during school breaks and are thrilled that you definitely plan to stay with us again in another season, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Right off the bat: if you are looking for a property ON the beach, then Trump isn't your spot.

HOWEVER, if you are looking for a property with amazing customer service and comfortable stay then this is where you need to visit.

I came here on a family holiday with my wife and parents. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and had a wonderful stay. They provide complimentary towels, water, sunscreen and fruit when visiting the beach. Moreover, any complaint you have, they make it a priority to make sure you are happy. We received food after a long wait and when we got it, it was cold (this was poolside). The manager came out and made sure they recooked the food and made all items (food and drinks) on the house.

We wanted a suite higher up in the building - they called us daily to move us up.

We had a late flight out (ie 10:40pm) - they accommodated us in another room for free until 8pm in the evening.

I travel worldwide and have never considered hotels in the US to have decent (not even good) customer service. However, at the Trump Waikiki you see the eastern hospitality in action. They don't leave any stone unturned to make sure you leave happy.

I just wish the hotel was on the beach itself but the 1 minute walk to the beach is no competition for the amazing customer service. Additionally, the pool is a bit small and is flooded with children in the afternoons.

It'll be hard to consider another location when visiting Waikiki next time.


Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Narayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Aloha Narayan B. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are thrilled that the amazing customer service you received could create a wonderful experience for you. Our staff is honored by your kind words and is truly delighted that they could ensure you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are also happy to hear that you liked your Suite and our complimentary beach bag service. We hope your travels bring you to Waikiki again soon and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our large family stayed at the trump recently in a three bedroom suite.

Surrounded with trump style, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
The service was extraordinary!

Our towels were replaced perfectly with extras every single day - the place was always immaculate after housekeeping and they left us a wonderful welcome present upon our arrival.

Pure luxury, the complimentary toiletries are amazing! I particularly loved the sugar scrub the most. The kitchen was beautiful with a hidden cupboard fridge, wine cooler too. However there was no drying rack for dishes and not enough tea bags haha!

We dined at the in hotel lobby cafe many times - it was wonderful - reasonably priced but well worth it.

Try the fish and chips if your hungry! Or the turkey wrap for something light and healthy - and don't go past a strawberry piña colada - my favourite.

The pool is also really really nice, smallish but with plenty of tanning space! The gym is very very small but there's enough space there - the complimentary infused water is definitely a bonus!

Overall we loved our stay at the trump. Could never go anywhere else after staying there we will definitely return!

Once you feel the carpet on your toes you will fall in love :)

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank epicurism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Aloha haansy. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are absolutely delighted that you loved our hotel. It is wonderful to learn that you and your family were comfortable and happy in your suite and that the accommodations and amenities could make your stay luxurious and special. We are glad you enjoyed dining at In-Yo Cafe and Wai'olu Ocean View Lounge, tanning on our Infinity Pool deck, and working out in the Fitness Center. Our staff is honored by your compliments about the extraordinary service you received. We are thrilled that you plan to stay with us again and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
494 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,631 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $391 - $878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing