We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and amenities but no child free pool area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and amenities but no child free pool area.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had a great stay. Upgraded on arrival without asking. Staff and amenities were fantastic. Only downside was the pool area. Being mid july, kids everywhere and in such a small area was impossible to have a quiet relax with a drink around the pool. At one pont there were 23 children and 3 adults in the pool which is only abt 20m x 2m. Kids screaming jumping. Love kids but this was disappointing. Other than this small gripe, great location, great service. As it was me partners birthday we splahed out and had dinner in the hotel restaurant BLT. Fantastic service and a complementary desert as well because of the Birthday. Would definitely stay again but probably not during school holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front facing hilton so you get a great view of the fireworks every friday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Aloha Vanessa K. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed your room and its amenities, our hotel's location in Waikiki, and celebrating your partner's birthday by dining at BLT Steak. Our staff are honored by your compliments about the exceptional customer service you received and are glad they could make your stay with us special and memorable. We recognize your comments about family stays during school breaks and are thrilled that you definitely plan to stay with us again in another season, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,164
    489
    127
    35
    24
See reviews for
1,131
1,122
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Right off the bat: if you are looking for a property ON the beach, then Trump isn't your spot.

HOWEVER, if you are looking for a property with amazing customer service and comfortable stay then this is where you need to visit.

I came here on a family holiday with my wife and parents. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and had a wonderful stay. They provide complimentary towels, water, sunscreen and fruit when visiting the beach. Moreover, any complaint you have, they make it a priority to make sure you are happy. We received food after a long wait and when we got it, it was cold (this was poolside). The manager came out and made sure they recooked the food and made all items (food and drinks) on the house.

We wanted a suite higher up in the building - they called us daily to move us up.

We had a late flight out (ie 10:40pm) - they accommodated us in another room for free until 8pm in the evening.

I travel worldwide and have never considered hotels in the US to have decent (not even good) customer service. However, at the Trump Waikiki you see the eastern hospitality in action. They don't leave any stone unturned to make sure you leave happy.

I just wish the hotel was on the beach itself but the 1 minute walk to the beach is no competition for the amazing customer service. Additionally, the pool is a bit small and is flooded with children in the afternoons.

It'll be hard to consider another location when visiting Waikiki next time.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Narayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Aloha Narayan B. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are thrilled that the amazing customer service you received could create a wonderful experience for you. Our staff is honored by your kind words and is truly delighted that they could ensure you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are also happy to hear that you liked your Suite and our complimentary beach bag service. We hope your travels bring you to Waikiki again soon and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our large family stayed at the trump recently in a three bedroom suite.

Surrounded with trump style, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
The service was extraordinary!

Our towels were replaced perfectly with extras every single day - the place was always immaculate after housekeeping and they left us a wonderful welcome present upon our arrival.

Pure luxury, the complimentary toiletries are amazing! I particularly loved the sugar scrub the most. The kitchen was beautiful with a hidden cupboard fridge, wine cooler too. However there was no drying rack for dishes and not enough tea bags haha!

We dined at the in hotel lobby cafe many times - it was wonderful - reasonably priced but well worth it.

Try the fish and chips if your hungry! Or the turkey wrap for something light and healthy - and don't go past a strawberry piña colada - my favourite.

The pool is also really really nice, smallish but with plenty of tanning space! The gym is very very small but there's enough space there - the complimentary infused water is definitely a bonus!

Overall we loved our stay at the trump. Could never go anywhere else after staying there we will definitely return!

Once you feel the carpet on your toes you will fall in love :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank epicurism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha haansy. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are absolutely delighted that you loved our hotel. It is wonderful to learn that you and your family were comfortable and happy in your suite and that the accommodations and amenities could make your stay luxurious and special. We are glad you enjoyed dining at In-Yo Cafe and Wai'olu Ocean View Lounge, tanning on our Infinity Pool deck, and working out in the Fitness Center. Our staff is honored by your compliments about the extraordinary service you received. We are thrilled that you plan to stay with us again and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Trump name connotes quality and an elevated experience designed to impress. In this regard, the Waikiki property aligned with the brand. Each employee, from the front desk to the room cleaners presented a professional, warm manner, much like the gracious hosts they were. We remained on the property for seven nights, allowing for a long-term perspective of the workings of the property. Located on busy Waikiki beach, it was an easy walk to great restaurants, shopping, public transportation and the beach itself.
The hotel had several unique features. When guests used the beach, upon entering the beach area, a Trump employee provided a free of charge bag with sunblock, towel, and a bottle of water. This same bag was given each time we left the property for a day trip. The hotel also provides for twice daily room cleaning which given the active lifestyle most guests engage in, was a valued offering. Following the second cleaning, the water bottles were replaced, all linens changed and toiletries added. Finally, each room had some type of kitchen or kitchenette. We were therefore able to stock the refrigerator with groceries and do some cooking with a two burner stove and microwave. The larger suites allow for in room washer and dryer- a gift to travelling families.
Our initial room did not have an ocean view. After contacting the front desk for an available alternative, one was quickly offered that provided the desired view, a larger room and lanai for approximately $100 more per day, a discount off of the $175 standard charge.
The only concern with the property relates to the height of the ceilings- lower than standard on each hallway and room. It did not detract from the quality of the room itself, but presented a somewhat claustrophobic feel in the hallways that were not as well air conditioned as the rooms and therefore contributed to the tight feeling.
While we traveled with multiple people including a family with children, all of whom enjoyed the property, the hotel is more adult friendly than child friendly. For example, the pool was fairly small for the size of the hotel and had a limited number of chaises and chairs surrounding it. The better options would be to use the beach or visit any one of a number of memorable Honolulu sites.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view or ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megkellercogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Megkellercogan. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your detailed review. We are thrilled that you received exceptional customer service and that we could make your experience with us special and memorable. It is wonderful to learn that you were pleased with your new room and that you enjoyed its accommodations, amenities, and twice daily maid service. We are also glad that you liked our hotel's location in Waikiki and complimentary beach bag service. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we pulled up into the valet area and were greeted with Aloha by the Bellman, families and lobby assistance until the moment we did our check out, it was like a beautiful dream. I highly recommending sticking to the Japanese cuisine. Everything was great: especially the Jacuzzi with a perfect view of the sunset. We attended the on site LUX event Friday night and were pleasantly surprised! ;)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahuna8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Kahuna8899. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted to learn that you experienced such a beautiful and luxurious stay at our hotel. It is wonderful that you enjoyed dining at our restaurants, the Infinity Pool, and the LUX event. We are also very happy to hear that you received excellent customer service from check in to check out, and our staff is honored by your compliments. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent 5 days in Oahu for a wedding at the Kahala Resort and was so fortunate to stay at the Trump! The location was wonderful, close enough to all the action but secluded and serene enough for relaxation. The service was excellent and we could not have been happier! We were on the 25th floor and had the best view of the ocean and beach. The sad thing was we didn't stay enough in the room to enjoy it but the next trip there, we will take advantage of it. The only complaint is their pool does not get enough sun and is not large enough. I guess most head to the beach nearby.
I have not visited Oahu in recent years as I find it too commercialized compare to the other islands but this time, I really enjoy our visit and plan to go again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ultimatemom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Front Office Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha ultimatemom76. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and its ocean view, our location in Waikiki, and excellent customer service. Our staff is thrilled to hear that you could not have been happier, and we are so glad that we could make your first trip back to Oahu a positive and special experience after a long time away from the island. It is wonderful to learn that you plan to visit us again soon, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I always enjoy the warm welcome when you arrive at the lobby of the hotel. The special attention that everyone accords the guest at the hotel is second to none. The staff are really friendly, helpful, and will go out of their way to satisfy your request. They care about your comfort while you are enjoying your vacation. The SPA has so much to offer and have excellent therapist.

How can you assemble such great staff in one roof??? it is really a FANTABULOS experience to stay at the Trump Waikiki hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to cook for your family, every room has a kitchen. but if you dont like cooking while on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha Steve D. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed wonderful customer service and that you found the special attention we provide each guest to be second to none. Our staff is honored and appreciative of your compliments and is thrilled that they could make your experience memorable. We are also glad that you enjoyed our spa and had an excellent therapist. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing