We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service Makes for a Memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service Makes for a Memorable Stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Trump name connotes quality and an elevated experience designed to impress. In this regard, the Waikiki property aligned with the brand. Each employee, from the front desk to the room cleaners presented a professional, warm manner, much like the gracious hosts they were. We remained on the property for seven nights, allowing for a long-term perspective of the workings of the property. Located on busy Waikiki beach, it was an easy walk to great restaurants, shopping, public transportation and the beach itself.
The hotel had several unique features. When guests used the beach, upon entering the beach area, a Trump employee provided a free of charge bag with sunblock, towel, and a bottle of water. This same bag was given each time we left the property for a day trip. The hotel also provides for twice daily room cleaning which given the active lifestyle most guests engage in, was a valued offering. Following the second cleaning, the water bottles were replaced, all linens changed and toiletries added. Finally, each room had some type of kitchen or kitchenette. We were therefore able to stock the refrigerator with groceries and do some cooking with a two burner stove and microwave. The larger suites allow for in room washer and dryer- a gift to travelling families.
Our initial room did not have an ocean view. After contacting the front desk for an available alternative, one was quickly offered that provided the desired view, a larger room and lanai for approximately $100 more per day, a discount off of the $175 standard charge.
The only concern with the property relates to the height of the ceilings- lower than standard on each hallway and room. It did not detract from the quality of the room itself, but presented a somewhat claustrophobic feel in the hallways that were not as well air conditioned as the rooms and therefore contributed to the tight feeling.
While we traveled with multiple people including a family with children, all of whom enjoyed the property, the hotel is more adult friendly than child friendly. For example, the pool was fairly small for the size of the hotel and had a limited number of chaises and chairs surrounding it. The better options would be to use the beach or visit any one of a number of memorable Honolulu sites.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view or ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megkellercogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha Megkellercogan. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your detailed review. We are thrilled that you received exceptional customer service and that we could make your experience with us special and memorable. It is wonderful to learn that you were pleased with your new room and that you enjoyed its accommodations, amenities, and twice daily maid service. We are also glad that you liked our hotel's location in Waikiki and complimentary beach bag service. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,164
    489
    127
    35
    25
See reviews for
1,132
1,122
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we pulled up into the valet area and were greeted with Aloha by the Bellman, families and lobby assistance until the moment we did our check out, it was like a beautiful dream. I highly recommending sticking to the Japanese cuisine. Everything was great: especially the Jacuzzi with a perfect view of the sunset. We attended the on site LUX event Friday night and were pleasantly surprised! ;)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahuna8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Kahuna8899. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted to learn that you experienced such a beautiful and luxurious stay at our hotel. It is wonderful that you enjoyed dining at our restaurants, the Infinity Pool, and the LUX event. We are also very happy to hear that you received excellent customer service from check in to check out, and our staff is honored by your compliments. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent 5 days in Oahu for a wedding at the Kahala Resort and was so fortunate to stay at the Trump! The location was wonderful, close enough to all the action but secluded and serene enough for relaxation. The service was excellent and we could not have been happier! We were on the 25th floor and had the best view of the ocean and beach. The sad thing was we didn't stay enough in the room to enjoy it but the next trip there, we will take advantage of it. The only complaint is their pool does not get enough sun and is not large enough. I guess most head to the beach nearby.
I have not visited Oahu in recent years as I find it too commercialized compare to the other islands but this time, I really enjoy our visit and plan to go again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ultimatemom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Front Office Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha ultimatemom76. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and its ocean view, our location in Waikiki, and excellent customer service. Our staff is thrilled to hear that you could not have been happier, and we are so glad that we could make your first trip back to Oahu a positive and special experience after a long time away from the island. It is wonderful to learn that you plan to visit us again soon, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I always enjoy the warm welcome when you arrive at the lobby of the hotel. The special attention that everyone accords the guest at the hotel is second to none. The staff are really friendly, helpful, and will go out of their way to satisfy your request. They care about your comfort while you are enjoying your vacation. The SPA has so much to offer and have excellent therapist.

How can you assemble such great staff in one roof??? it is really a FANTABULOS experience to stay at the Trump Waikiki hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to cook for your family, every room has a kitchen. but if you dont like cooking while on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha Steve D. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed wonderful customer service and that you found the special attention we provide each guest to be second to none. Our staff is honored and appreciative of your compliments and is thrilled that they could make your experience memorable. We are also glad that you enjoyed our spa and had an excellent therapist. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I spent my 30th birthday in Honolulu, and I am so glad that I selected this hotel for my one week stay. From the moment we walked in to the hotel, we were greeted with a glass of cucumber water, leis, and cool face towels. The hotel room, itself, was beautiful, clean, and in a good location.. right near the beach. They supply you with a beach bag, with all the necessities needed for the beach. Super cool! Concierge was always helpful with directions, and suggestions on where to go. They definitely showed us the aloha spirit, and I am looking forward to my stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyleenJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha MyleenJane. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 30th birthday celebration and for sharing your review. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the arrival greeting of infused water, chilled towel, and shell lei, the cleanliness and beauty of your room, our complimentary beach bag service, and our location in Waikiki. We are delighted to hear that you received helpful service with aloha spirit from our staff, and we are so glad that we could make your experience special and memorable. We are thrilled to learn that you are planning to stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here because of a deal I found. We definitely got dom perignon on a buddweiser budget and could not have been more surprised.

Upon arrival you are greeted like royalty. You receive a shell lei and welcomed in to your temporary home. You have to take an elevator to the actual lobby but that is not a big deal.

The hotel and rooms are very clean and pretty. The decor is mostly classic but not too cluttered or stuffy. The hotel does not have direct access to the beach, but it's only a block away.

The rooms come with a kitchen complete with dishwasher and stove and everything you would need to cook. They thought of everything.

What makes this hotel remarkable and memorable is the service. Everyone treats you like a VIP no matter what you look like and who you are. I like that they dont judge you by your clothes bc no one looks good coming back from a day at the beach. =) All the hotel staffers are friendly and helpful.

If you're going to the beach, don't forget your beach bag. They lend you a beach bag (it's a cooler bag) with some water, towels, sunscreen and fruit. This was so thoughtful and it came in handy for us. We didn't have to lug towels in our luggage. You can return the bag at the end of the day.

Stay here if you can, it's totally worth it!

Room Tip: The single rooms have a king bed but the couch is a pull out queen bed. The staff actually will com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha Sophie T. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised by the luxurious guest experience we provide and that you enjoyed the accommodations of your room, our complimentary beach bag service, and our location in Waikiki. Our staff is very appreciative and honored by your kind words about the friendly and helpful service you received throughout your stay and is delighted that we could make you feel welcome and at home. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family of four (kids 14 and 12) stayed two nights on the back-end of our Hawaii vacation trip. Chose the Trump initially for their convenient location to beach and shops, as well as their good reputation (I've previously stayed at Trump Soho). Was in the two bedroom suite near top of building. Service was spectacular, view unbelievable, and everyone was extremely helpful while we were there. We utilized the various restaurants, spa and Concierge help for assistance with kids' activities. Overall, everything was great, and we'd definitely stay there again. Hotel location was extremely convenient to various shops and restaurants also. For the size of rooms, thought price paid was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors overlooking the beach! The suites had awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotlantaAlpharetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha HotlantaAlpharetta. Thank you for staying with us and other properties in the Trump Hotel Collection and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite and its view, dining in our restaurants, our spa services, and our location in Waikiki. Our staff are truly honored by your kind words about the spectacular customer service you received and are thrilled that they could make your experience with us special and memorable. We are very happy that you will definitely stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,019 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing