We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than we thought possible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at the Trump Waikiki Beach Walk for two weeks in April 2014 as a birthday treat for our mother. This hotel is a bit on the expensive side for us, but we really wanted to make her celebration special. As soon as we arrived I got the feeling that we had made the right decision about choosing this hotel, and things just got better and better. When we arrived, we were greated by name and were presented with beautiful shell leis. Our luggage was taken care of before we even had time to ask for it and we were escorted to the reception area where we were given cool towels to freshen up hands and faces. We also got ice cold scented water. What a difference from standing in line, waiting to check in! Beforehand, we had asked for a room high up in the building (for the view and to get away from the noise of the streets) on the Fort DeRussy side of the hotel. Our wishes were perfectly fulfilled and we can recommend the 31st floor to anyone who whould like a nice sea view. The lady in the reception also wished our mother a happy birthday, a very nice touch. She offered to give us a full tour of the hotel, but as it was late at night and we had travelled for >24 hrs, we preferred to get up to the room quickly. When we arrived in our room, we were surprised to see a beautiful chocolate cake and a happy birthday card. We also recived a box of Honolulu cookies in a cute box. A little while after we had reached the room, the lady in the reception telephoned to check if the room was alright. She was so nice to us! We had a 2 bedroom suite with two lanais and a corner balcony. The suite was huge! We almost got lost! Everything was perfectly clean and seemed quite new. The bathrooms were equipped with "The Spa at Trump" amenities which were replenished every day. Using the sugar scrub and the body butter after a long day's sightseeing and hiking was pure luxury. We had masses of towels and lovely bathrobes (we bought bathrobes to take home, to keep some of the Trump feeling). We used the kitchen alot. It contained everything imaginabile (more things than my kichen at home). For us, having a kitchen on vacation means freedom. You don't need to make dinner reservations every night, and if you are delayed, the kitchen is there waiting for you, unlike your dinner table at a restaurant. The kitchen had stove, oven, microwave, rice cooker, water kettle, coffee maker (coffee and tea were replenished twice a day), dishwasher, fridge, freezer, glasses (both real glass and plastic for kids or outings), cutlery, plates of every size and lots more. We even baked our own muffins in the muffin tray! The suite had a proper dinner table with space for 6 persons (so many hotel rooms, even those with kitchen, have not). The beds were very comfortable. We also had our own washer and dryer, a real help when you are staying for two weeks. That washer and dryer enabled our family to travel with hand luggage only and avoided getting the vacation ruined by lost luggage. So, the suite as perfect in every way, but the best thing about staying at the Trump was the staff. Everyone was curteous, helpful and really seemed to care about making our stay enjoyable. The housekeeping staff always helped out if we needed extra coffee and went through a lot of trouble to get us a new glass bowl when we had happened to break one (for all the world, you would have thought it was their fault it was broken, which it was not). The people at Attache really were angels. We requested 3 travel fit kits to our room (shoes, shorts, sports bra, t-shirt and yoga mat), and everything we needed was different sizes. They didn't only find the right things for us, but did it in an instant. Those travel fit kits really saved the day when we hiked up Koko head. It is a steep climb, and without workout gear, I think we would have melted. The doormen were forever helpful. They found us taxis at all hours, got us water when we were leaving for an outing and were always ready with a joke and a smile. Everytime we got back, they greated us and asked us about our day! The concierge service at ground floor was always ready to give us towels, bottled water, fruit and sunscreen whenever we went to the beach. When we returned to the hotel, we just handed back the bag with used towels and got a new one next time. It was so convenient never having to buy heavy water bottles. When I asked them about the way, they didn't only tell me where to go, but got out a map, drew the most convenient route and made sure I knew what direction I was going before leaving me. One day when we got back to our room, we found a box of truffles waiting för us on the counter. That kind of surprises makes your day! We never visited the spa, so I can't review that, but we visited the pool area quite often. No, the pool isn't huge, but it is very beautiful. We were always there in the morning or late at night, so it was never crowded. It consisted of a rectangular pool with comfortable water temperature, perhaps best fitted for swimming, and a smaller, hotter bubble pool. There were sun loungers by the pool, water and some magazines. The pool was flanked by greenery on one side, and on the other side you could glimpse the sea. We also visited the library to print boarding passes. There was two computers with a printer already stocked with paper and working at the first attempt (up til now, I never knew a working hotel printer). We also visited the gym which had all the usual gear. The location of the hotel is very close to the beach, we never felt inconvenienced by it not being a beachfront property. You can walk to the beach in 2 minutes and that is to the nicest part of Waikiki beach in my opinion. We could usually sit under a tree in the Fort DeRussy park. By doing so, we avoided direct sunlight during daytime and didn't get sand in all our bags, clothes etc. This part of Waikiki beach is less crowded and you have more room to spread out. All in all, the best hotel stay we've had so far. The attention to detail and the will to make your stay perfect really matters, and the Trump knows how it is done! Thank you for your kindness, we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha CissiSweden. Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your mother's birthday and for taking the time to share your detailed review. We are thrilled to learn that your experience was even better than you thought cold be possible and that this was the best hotel stay you've ever had. It is wonderful that you found your suite to be clean, spacious, and comfortable and that you enjoyed the fully-equipped kitchen, in-suite laundry, and amenities. Our staff is very honored by your kind words about the excellent customer service you received and so delighted that we could make your stay special and memorable. We are happy that you plan to come back, and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

I almost didn't stay at the Trump because I wanted to be directly on the water…I am so glad that I decided to go with the Trip Advisor recommendations. The services from start to finish was amazing and the room was perfect. I agree with the positive reviews, I'm not sure what more I can add that has not been said. You will not regret the decision to stay at the Trump.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PracticingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Aloha PracticingTourist. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that your family enjoyed a perfect room and amazing services throughout your stay. We hope your travels bring you to Waikiki in the future and we can welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Trump is rated the best hotel in Honolulu and for good reason. But i think it should be classified as the best hotel in Hawaii. The service is amazing, and that is an under statement. From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave, front desk, Attache, room service, maids, everyone was amazing. We stayed 6 nights and did not encounter one staff member at the Trump who was polite and offer a service beyond what was expected.
We had a 2 Bedroom ocean front and wow, what a view. We made sure we were in the room every night to watch the sunset. The ocean front is definitely worth the money.
This was our second visit to the Trump Waikiki and we will definitely be back. In fact, we will endeavor to stay at any Trump hotels we come across.
Thank you to all at the Trump Waikiki for making trip awesome.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidB1005_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Aloha DavidB1005_13. Thank you for staying with us for the second time and for sharing your review. We are truly honored that you consider us to be the best hotel in all of Hawaii! It is wonderful to learn that you received amazing customer service from all of our staff and that you enjoyed your Oceanfront Suite. We are so happy to hear that you plan to visit us again and that you are looking into visiting other hotels in the Trump Hotel Collection. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My family had 3 and a half days in Hawaii and decided to splurge by booking the Trump's Diamond Head Penthouse. We just had stayed at an amazing hotel in Vegas, but this was really in a class of its own.

POSITIVES
- Before arriving I requested an extra pull out bed. They measured the room, made sure it fit, installed it before we arrived (even though we checked in early) and provided it free of cost.
- So the penthouse is one of those modern interior design situations where the bathrooms are all glass, and so the toilets/showers can be seen from the bedroom. I sent an email to the staff requesting if they had anything to help with privacy, within a few hours they had measured the walls, gone out, purchased and installed curtains to meet our request. Amazing level of service.
- Great ceiling heights and floor to ceiling windows
- The views from this room are insane. I have attached some pictures of these. You can see both sunrise and sunset.
- Had a bunch of goodies upon check in. Some insane chocolate chip cookies that I really shouldn't of finished but I did.
- Room service was incredibly quick, and was tasty (at least for the two times we ordered something small)
- I think they scour the island to find the friendliest check in, concierge and entrance staff. Always extremely hospitable and willing to strike up a conversation.
- Our flight arrived at 5am and checkin was only at 2pm, but they graciously allowed us to check in early (luckily our room hadn't been booked the night before), which was a massive relief after an uncomfortable overnight flight. Also upon checkin someone comes and gives you wet towelettes to freshen up (which was very nice!)
- The robes ... honestly the best robes I have ever experienced.
- Trump spa was also amazing. They were booked out when I tried to have a walk-in appointment, so need to book in advance (which is normal).
- There is a rooftop hot tub with crazy views across Honolulu. Very easy to operate (water was always warm). Attached some photos of this as well.
- Internet was free and worked well
- Bathroom supplies were amazing and all branded from the Trump Spa (I took some of the scrub and body butter home =p)
- Washer and dryer in the room which is useful
- Some great restaurants and shops within walking distance (as well as the beach). Try Roy's for dinner one day, was amazing food!

NEGATIVES (Nothing major / within the staff's control)
- I wasn't a huge fan of the buffet breakfast at the In-Yo cafe. Pretty standard buffet for what is charged. Recommend trying to find somewhere else. We had 1 breakfast on a food tour, 2 at the Trump, and one down the road at another place which was just average, so unfortunately don't have a recommendations.
- Can get pretty windy outside (I think we were there at an especially bad time as the deck furniture of one of our neighbours nearly blew off the roof, so they had to come and secure ours). But just be aware of this if you plan to spend most of your time on the roof/deck or host an event for some reason (we were happily indoors for most of the time except when using the hot tub).
- The hotel transfer the attache tried to organise for us was very expensive ($165 for a sedan to $215 for a limo). If you google for cheap transfers you can find a van for a fixed fee of $35 (so we used that instead).
- The storage space is a little small in the room, so you will most likely end up having suitcases that can't fit in the wardrobes (.... we are shopaholics so this was probably inevitable anyway)

Also it's not a positive or a negative, but just an expectation setting. There are about 5 or 6 other penthouse apartments on this floor (I think maybe owned by private individuals, none of whom seemed to be there during our stay). This particular room faces towards the city/mountains (you can see the sea from both sides of the apartment, but its not directly facing it). The view is equally breathtaking (of the Ko‘olau mountains / city), but don't expect to be facing the beach directly.

Overall I am really happy that I had the chance to experience Honolulu from the Trump penthouse. It really feels like you are sitting on top of the city and it's a great vantage point to explore the city. Good luck with your booking choice!

Aloha,
David

Room Tip: If you have the money go for the Diamond Head penthouse! Doesn't have a direct view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Aloha DavidBNZ. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your detailed review of our Diamond Head Penthouse Suite. We are thrilled to learn that you had the best stay ever and that you enjoyed the views, accommodations, and amenities of the suite. Our staff is delighted that the customer service you received helped make your experience so positive and is very appreciative of your kind words. We hope that your travels bring you to Waikiki in the future and we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at Trump Wakiki for our first honeymoon destination (23rd - 27th April) and it exceeded our expectations! We arrived after a 10 hour flight overnight and had not had any sleep - the staff quickly got our room ready 4 hours early, & provided us with a room upgrade.
The room was comfortable, relaxing, and had a beautiful view off the balcony. Our towels were changed daily & we were given new bath amenities each day. The room had a beautiful big bathtub and overall was very modern.

I have read other reviews about the pool being too small - I thought the pool was amazing! Plenty of deck chairs to lay by the pool and amazing views from the pool deck and from in the pool.
The Ocean View bar has a fantastic atmosphere & is great at happy hour & for tapas food!

The beach is a 2 minute walk and the lovely staff at Trump provide packed bags with towels, suncream, fruit and water to take to the beach - this was a fantastic service.

Finally, the staff were so friendly and helpful. From arriving at Trump to departing we were extremely pleased with the assistance we received and we wish we were back there right now!! Will definitely stay again if we visit Hawaii again in the future - absolutely worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoleara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Aloha nicoleara. Thank you for staying with us for your honeymoon celebration and for sharing your review. We are truly honored that we are the best hotel you've ever stayed at. We are delighted that we could exceed your expectations and make your honeymoon a special experience. Our staff appreciates your compliments about the friendly and helpful customer service you received, too. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and its view, the Infinity Pool, Wai'olu Ocean View Lounge, and our beach bag service. We thank you for the kind words and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have just had a few days at the Trump and we could not faulted there service levels on any account. Very Every detail was attended to with great efficiency and a pleasant manner.

The food & service in the WAI'OLU Ocean View Lounge was brilliant. Breakfast at IN-YŌ Cafe easy light and tasty with very courteous staff.

The staff are constantly servicing the rooms when you are not around so everything is always perfect on your return!

I'll be going back for sure!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor overlooking the park and the beach. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Aloha StuChristie. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you received fantastic service and that the dining experiences at Wai'olu Ocean View Lounge and In-Yo Cafe were so enjoyable for you. We are thrilled that you plan to come back for sure, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Those travelling with kids understand how there is very small margin for error in selecting ideal hotel accommodations. My wife and I travel to Hawaii frequently and our most recent trip included our 5-year old and a 1-year old. This was our first stay at the Trump Waikiki and will definitely not be our last as we were quite pleasantly surprised. We've stayed in other hotels in the area on previous trips and were never quite 100% satisfied in particular as kids carry unique needs. After a very positive experience this past week, I have to admit you really need to reach to find anything to complain about.

Before arriving we received several emails advising of services available as well as a pre-check-in option to select specific requirements (i.e. groceries, type of pillows, excursions, etc). The hotel is located right in the heart of the Waikiki strip and is centrally located. Most importantly it is across the street from beach access. When we arrived we were greeted by a hostess and escorted to the lobby one floor up where we were again greeted by hostesses offering wet towels and drinks. Check-in was very fast and simple. We were escorted to our room where our bags were already waiting. After a long stressful plane ride with 2 young ones, it was very nice to get unloaded and settled into our room so efficiently.

Our first impression of the room was a collective grin on our faces. Right away you admire how clean, modern, and spacious the suite is. We ordered a partial ocean view 1-bedroom suite however the view from our room (#1922) was essentially unencumbered wraparound with clear views of the ocean. Gourmet kitchen was fully stocked and equipped to address all our kids' eating needs. It was my wife's birthday so a freshly chilled chocolate cake was awaiting on the counter with a nice birthday greeting card. They thought of everything for our kids - bottle warmer, kids robe + slippers, step stool for sink, diaper genie, etc). The bathroom is large with double sinks and a large soaker tub (an open shower area that is not enclosed). Wi-fi was free but bandwidth a little weak. 2 LCD TVs that featured open HDMI slots so I was easily able to connect my MacBook for the kids to watch their stored movies.

The bedroom is a bit tight as most of it is taken up by the king bed. We did not request a full-size crib and managed to squeeze a smaller wooden crib in next to the bed. Our older daughter slept with us in the large bed rather than outside on the pull-out sofa. We switched to contoured pillows free of charge as the synthetic pillows were a bit flat for our liking. Our biggest complaint would be the lack of storage space. There is one dresser in the bedroom with only 4 full drawers and then the closet. For a family of 4 staying for 1 week, you will be living out of some suitcases. Washer and dryer is a small condo-sized version that did an adequate job and simply required more frequent cycles. Noise levels were fairly good but cannot be avoided altogether given the location of the building (i.e. we did not have any challenges falling asleep).

The staff throughout the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly - you could not pass a hotel staff member without a smile and an "aloha". Our room was serviced twice a day so always well stocked. The gym is a bit tight but contained all the essentials including treadmills, ellipticals, dumbbells to max 55 lbs + 2 machines (chest + shoulder press), and drinks. We did not find there to be a lot of kid activities but could be because we did not ask or seek them out. I read some complaints about the small infinity pool - honestly for 2 younger kids and unless you are looking to swim laps, we found the pool area relaxing and refreshingly quiet (probably because it is not big enough for diving, beach balls, etc). We did not get a chance to dine in the hotels' restaurants opting for some more economical local alternatives and/or simply cooking meals on our own.

All-said, the Trump was one of the best accommodations we have experienced anywhere and worthy of the accolades it receives. It is not the cheapest option but you definitely get your money's worth if you are a demanding traveller as we are and concerned about your kids' needs as well. We will not be staying anywhere else on future visits and would highly recommend for any of our friends and families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NT604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Aloha NT604. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your detailed review of our hotel. We are thrilled that our Trump Kids amenities and Trump Attaché services could help make traveling to Hawaii with two young children more convenient and enjoyable for you and your wife. It is wonderful to learn that you experienced helpful and friendly customer service throughout your stay and that you found our accommodations to be the best of anywhere. We are very appreciative of your compliments and are delighted that you definitely plan to visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
418 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,616 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $369 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing