We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donald comes up Trumps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

First visit to Hawaii and could not have chosen a better hotel. The staff should be applauded for their friendliness and efficiency. We felt extremely comfortable and enjoyed the food in the restaurants, the facilities in our room and the view from the balcony. We wish that we could have stayed longer and will definitely return. Mahalo.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Aloha Beverley L. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are thrilled that your first visit to Hawaii and our hotel could be such a wonderful and memorable experience. It is delightful to hear you felt at ease and enjoyed your room and our restaurants. Your kind words about our staff and the customer service you received are greatly appreciated. We are looking forward to your next visit and welcoming you back to our hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Would like to share what a fantastic experience we had at Trump Waikiki, which we stayed at for the second part of our recent trip to Hawaii. We stayed at a different location for the first 5 nights before heading to Las Vegas to see Elton John, then returned to have some relaxation and Hawaiian hospitality before returning home. It was a fabulous way to complete the holiday, with everything from the genuine friendliness of each and every staff member we encountered, to the standard of accomodation, and facilities of the establishment. After so many people had stated in their reviews they had received upgrades, we were hopeful but not fortunate to have one, but nonetheless happy with out room. The daily beach bags were a nice touch, the twice daily housekeeping, and good quality toiletries and linen/towels added to the experience - to me it's these small things that count towards a hotel being one that is good, and one that is great. We didn't use the cooking facilities of the well appointed kitchenette, but was great to have cutlery and crockery to use for breakfast which we ate most days on the lanai. The bed would have to have been the most comfortable I have ever slept on - was like floating on a cloud without being too soft. Standout features for us were the acknowledgement that it was our anniversary the month we were there (from the details provided on joining the Trump card) with the complimentary box of cookies and bottle of bubbly, and the way the staff on the concierge desk handled the an issue when a tour booking went wrong. They went over and above what we would have expected them to do to manage the situation - well done ladies! We were concerned about the pool following previous reviews in regard to size but actually didn't find it as bad as expected, could always get a sun lounge and were appreciative that some parents were mindful of keeping their children in one section of the pool so that there was an area that child-free holidaymakers could plunge in peace. Poolside food service was reasonably priced and good quality. Only patronised the Wai'olo Lounge once, and there was a wedding on that evening, but were accommodated in the foyer area adjacent - food was fabulous. Great location in regard to proximity to Lewers St for restaurants and a quieter part of town. Would I stay there again....absolutely, and tomorrow if I could!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sydney_AustraliaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Aloha Sydney_AustraliaDee. Thank you for staying with us and for providing your detailed review of our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that you had a fantastic experience and fabulous way to complete your holiday and celebrate your anniversary. Our staff is so honored and truly appreciative of your kind words about the friendly customer service you received throughout your stay. We are also very glad that you enjoyed the accommodations of your suite, the Infinity pool, beach bag service, and Wai'olu Ocean View Lounge. It is wonderful to hear that you would come back to stay with us tomorrow if you could. We hope that your travels do indeed bring you back to Waikiki and we can welcome you to the hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at the Trump Waikiki for 3 nights in a one bedroom partial ocean view room. Service was excellent starting from check-in to check-out.

The hotel itself is located within walking distance to the beach and Kalakaua Ave, where they have lots of shopping and restaurants. I thought valet parking was pretty pricey, but I don't know how much other hotels in area charge.

The room itself was immaculate and spacious with a separate living room, dining room, kitchen, and a balcony with wonderful views. Room also had a washer/dryer, which was really convenient for after the beach, and they also provide bottled water for the length of your stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g10betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Aloha g10betr0tter. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review and your photos of our hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time in your suite and that you enjoyed the amenities, views, and location in Waikiki. Our staff is honored by your compliments about the excellent customer service you received throughout your stay and is thrilled to hear that you will definitely be staying with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

simple paradise for me after long years of hard work it was worth to have this trip and stay on this hotel keep it up !!! avoid going on the peak season its packed o i opt to go solo on a lean season to be able to enjoy the full service i expect

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hajma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Aloha Hajma A. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We are glad that our hotel could provide paradise for you and that you enjoyed the services we offer. We hope your travels bring you to Waikiki in the future and we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just finished a 10 night stay at Trump Waikiki. We booked a ocean studio but with the Trump card program we were upgraded to a 1 bed + Den Ocean view suite which was outstanding. The apartment was super clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room had great ocean views and we also got a spectacular fireworks view on Friday night from our balcony. Loved the clean new look and didn't hear any other guests whilst in our room. Trump is a little bit out of the middle of Waikiki which suited us as we like it a bit quieter and it's only a 5 to 10 min walk to anything you need. WIFI worked perfectly the whole time we were there and the pool was more than enough for us. The beach is only a short walk away and everyday concierge will give you a beach bag with towels, sunscreen & fruit .Our daughter became sick in the middle of the night so we called front desk and they said it would be best to go to hospital and they had a taxi waiting for us when we got downstairs. I can't thank the staff enough on how caring they were as they followed up the next day with a phone call and a lady came to our room with a surprise for our daughter that cheered her up.
Just one small thing I can think of is that they could do with an air dryer in the room for clothes. I had just bought a $70 shirt in Waikiki and didn't want it in the dryer so I put it over the chair on balcony and ended up with a huge stain across the back and it was completely ruined.
Yes you could stay somewhere closer to the beach but you can't beat Trump for service & cleanliness.

Room Tip: Saratoga ocean side is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Majoruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Aloha Marjoruss. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your detailed review. We are delighted that your family found your ocean view suite to be clean, comfortable, and outstanding throughout the 10 night vacation. It is also wonderful to learn that you enjoyed the pool, our concierge and beach bag service, and our hotel's location in Waikiki. Our entire staff is so appreciative of your kind words for the customer service you received, especially with regard to the care we provided for your daughter. We also thank you for the suggestion about in-room air dryers to assist guests who do not want to use standard clothing dryers, and we will review this to improve future guest experiences. We hope your travels bring you back to Waikiki and we can welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked this hotel because of the reviews. We normally don't pay this much for a room, but, I'm so glad we did - it was so worth it! There were 4 adults in our party and they upgraded us from a one bedroom with a den to a two bedroom - what an awesome way to start! The staff was great - right from the start to the very end. We didn't have any children in our group - so the pool was not an issue for us, in fact, we enjoyed the smaller pool - not so busy and noisy - very relaxing. We went to the WaiOlu bar which is on the 6th floor behind the registration desk, and the bartenders really made us feel welcome - they gave us good information about what to see in the area - they were pleasant and fun to visit with - great staff!! The housekeeping service was also great - it was so nice to have our refrigerator filled with bottled water when we got back to the room. On our next visit to Honolulu we will definitely return to the Trump!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jblackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Aloha jblackjack. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We are delighted that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your suite and its amenities, the Infinity Pool, and your time at Wai'olu Ocean View Lounge. Our staff is very appreciative of your praises for the great customer service you received. We are so happy that we could help make your stay special and memorable. We are honored that you plan to stay with us again on your next trip to Honolulu, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Trump Waikiki for the kids' spring break. We have stayed in Sheraton Waikiki and Royal Sheraton previously but chose Trump this time based on the good reviews. What a disappointment! The staff is friendly and courteous. However, the hotel pool and the luxury beach service are both like jokes. The pool is extremely small and was jammed with kids of all ages. There is no beach service apart of supplying a beach bag with towels, sun screen and a bag of an apple and an orange. You need to walk for a block to the beach and there is a guy on the beach who has a contract with Trump from whom you can rent chairs and umbrellas for $15/hour fee. I forgot my reading glasses at the hotel after we checked out. Fortunately the housekeeping found them and the hotel was gladly to send it back to me as long as I pay for the shipping charges. Now, Trump Hotel management, here is something you can learn from other luxury hotel with good service: When my husband left his tie in the room at the Peninsula Chicago, not only the hotel mailed the tie back, it was dry cleaned and pressed, folded nicely in a box, free of charge. I always consider Trump a luxury hotel. We enjoyed the Trump service in New York, but were definitely disappointed at Waikiki.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids to Waikiki, Sheraton Waikiki is definitely a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Aloha J L. Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed friendly and courteous customer service during your stay, but we are very saddened to learn that the pool size and beach program did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry that you were unhappy with the shipping process for the eyeglasses you left in your room. We appreciate and value your feedback as it provides us the opportunity to review and ultimately improve our processes. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,588 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
325 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $336 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing