We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Service; Cattle Class Wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First Class Service; Cattle Class Wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We went to Oahu for my wife's birthday. I was a little reluctant to stay at a Trump hotel (it was my first time) as I don't like the Donald's abrasive personality and arrogant nature. That said, I was blown away by the hotel, the view, and the service. We got upgraded to an ocean view suite and, the staff had sent chocolates up to our room on my wife's birthday. This hotel was first class all the way except for one point ...
Here's what I liked about the hotel:
+ the service was second to none
+ the pool, spa and amenities were amazing
+ I liked the fact that our suite had a little kitchenette so we didn't had to eat out three meals a day
Here's what I didn't like:
- The wifi was EXTREMELY slow. At times, I couldn't connect or I would get dropped off. I'm in a business where I need to access my e-mails and cloud storage files at all times (yes, even on vacation). I've stayed at two-star motels that had faster wifi. In fact, I would've given this hotel five stars if it weren't for this frustrating issue.

Room Tip: Tip: get an ocean view room. You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHK403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha AHK403. Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you were blown away by our excellent customer service and that you enjoyed your room, pool, and spa. We are sorry to learn that the WiFi connection did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your feedback about this topic. We truly value and pay attention to the feedback we receive from our guests, and in the case of the WiFi speed it prompted us to improve the complimentary WiFi service throughout the hotel. Since your stay in June of 2013, we have upgraded our WiFi system and guests now enjoy a significantly faster connection. We hope your travels bring you to Oahu again and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    463
    120
    31
    22
See reviews for
1,029
1,051
86
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
605 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Trump and had a wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived through to checkout every employee we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The lounge at Lobby level truly does make the best mai tai in the world as they claim. Their happy hour is great and the bartenders are friendly and go out of the way to make you feel welcome. One night we came back just before they closed and my wife asked for a hot chocolate. I doubt that comes up often in Honolulu but the barman went out of his way to make her a great one with whipped cream and all. Many places would have just said- no we don't have that on the menu.
We used the spa one day during our stay and here as well the customer service was exemplary.
Our room was a small apartment with a nice living room , full kitchen and 2 balconies from which we could see the fireworks at the nearby Hilton on Friday and watch the sunsets each night. Everything in the room was clean and in good working order.
The Breakfast buffet is a bit expensive but that's par for Hawaii and the food and service there were equally first rate.
The valet parking guys also deserve mention because they were always quick and efficient whenever we needed to get our car and greeted us warmly whenever we returned.
The hotel is a short walk through a pathway across the street to the beach. It is also a short walk in the opposite direction to the main shopping avenue in Waikiki.
Honestly I can't imagine a better place to stay in busy Waikiki. Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha bccrab. Thank you for sharing your detailed review of your recent stay with us. Your recognition of the excellent customer service you received from all areas of the hotel is greatly appreciated by our staff; we are so happy that we could help make your vacation special! It is wonderful to learn that you got to enjoy both our World's Best Mai Tai and a custom made hot chocolate from Wai'olu, and that you also had a great experience at In-Yo Cafe for breakfast. We are delighted that you loved your suite and the sunset view. We can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have stayed at some of the finest hotels but the service here was impeccable. All 5 stars for service and staff.
Cons: Very small pool, Spa not really a 5 star spa.
We were not much at the hotel as we were enjoying the beautiful Oahu island. So didn’t mind the small pool. Waikiki beach is not that great - beaches north Oahu are much better.
We went to Maui and stayed at Ritz - much more lavish that trump but could not beat the service and friendly staff of trump.
We stayed at the premium one bedroom suite and had a great time.

Room Tip: Stay at a higher floor to enjoy the ocean view. Breakfast was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rr_0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha rr_0608. Thank you for reviewing our hotel and recognizing us as number one in customer service. All of our staff is truly honored by your kind words and delighted that the impeccable customer service you received could not be beat by the other fine hotels you have visited. We are so glad that your family was comfortable in your suite and enjoyed breakfast at In-Yo Cafe. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We know honolulu very well and maintenance issues are the norm. We were totally pleased by the Trump. Not only is the location great - we were worried that it was not "on" the beach but it is really just a very short few dozen steps away! - and they give you a wonderful complimentary beach bag with towels, water, sunscreen, etc - really you don't need to be any closer - but also the quality of the facility is top notch: the rooms are really beautiful and well equipped; and the staff was 200% on board to please us. We were very happy here but will note the drawbacks: (1) parking is insanely expensive and you cannot self park; (2) the gym is very tiny and there is no locker or steam room - this is really not the right exercise room for a 5 star hotel, although it is serviceable; (3) the restaurant choice is limited and $$$$ but that is not really an issue since you are in the middle of Waikiki; (4) the pool is tiny and shaded. Not the place to go if you want a pool scene.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha Iroden. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. We are sorry to learn that certain aspects of the property did not meet your expectations, and we apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused during your stay. Our staff is honored to hear that you found their service to be 200% on board to please you. It is also wonderful that you enjoyed your room, the beach bags, and our hotel's location. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Touring the US
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spent 8 weeks at the Trump while in Honolulu on business. Yes, that is a LONG time to be in any hotel, but the Trump made it a dream come true. The personal attention from the staff is priceless.
JULIA JULIA JULIA! She was a joy and customer service dream. The entire staff at the door/valet was superb. The happy hour was excellent! There are not enough superlatives.
Mahalo!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenjay212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Aloha Kenjay212. Thank you for sharing your review and deeming our hotel as a 6 star experience and a dream come true. We are so appreciative of your praises for the customer service you received, and Julia is especially happy to learn that she helped make your 8 week stay more enjoyable. We hope that you visit us again in Waikiki again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were given a beautiful welcome from Tiana, and the check in was seamless, the room was enormous, and there is a lot of attention to detail throughout. Every member of staff we came across was just lovely, and I can't fault a thing ( well, one little thing, it takes months to boil a kettle on that stove, can you not just have an electric kettle?)
The only fly in the ointment were the residents - who were not like the other people we had met in accommodations in Hawaii. Is it because a hotel like this (as in expensive) attracts people in a certain socio-economic class? - I think so. There was a fair smattering of the "my dogs bigger than your dog" loud people and tight lipped haughty mutes. ... auch well.....
But to continue, we came to terms with this, and yes did enjoy our stay and should we return to Oahu, would choose to stop here again, given the very fantastic staff and location,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ukdianeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Aloh aukdianeuk. Thank you for sharing your comments about your family's recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy to learn that in spite of the sentiments you had towards other guests, you still enjoyed your vacation. We are also very appreciative of the compliments you gave to our staff for the fantastic customer service you received, attention to detail in the room, and our location in Waikiki. We hope your travels bring you back to Oahu and we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed everything about this property. The service provided by a staff of extraordinary people is exemplary. Any request was promptly handled and always with a smile and willingness to please. Our suite was ideally appointed and the view of Waikiki stellar. The restaurants are also top shelf whether it's breakfast on the patio or dinner at BLT's. The pool area is smaller but certainly adequate. The beach is just a short block away and shopping is also nearby. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelMack425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa H, Public Relations Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Aloha TravelMack425. Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay at our hotel. Our staff is so appreciative of your positive feedback regarding the exemplary service you received. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite, the restaurants, Infinity Pool, and our location in Waikiki. It is wonderful to know that you plan to come back in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing