We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“love, Love, LOVE TRUMP” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“love, Love, LOVE TRUMP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Waikiki, but my partners and 3 year old daughters first time. I love Hawaii and wanted my family to love it as much as I do. Well Trump helped make this happen. We spent an amazing 9 nights in room 2020 which we booked through Hawaii 5-0 Vacation Rentals (fantastic people to deal with).

From our arrival to departure we were made to feel special! Trump is the newest kid on the block and that shows in the clean and modern feel of the hotel. Cleanliness is my biggest gripe with hotels, I'm extremely fussy (a little OCD perhaps!) well Trump didn't let me down. They offer the most outstanding customer service I have ever received in any hotel I have stayed in. My young daughter was treated like a princess, the staff would come down to her level to talk to her, clapped when she sang or danced for them and offered her cold bottled water whenever she walked past the desk.

There are so many positive points with this hotel, e.g. The size of the rooms and layouts, huge marble bathrooms, fully functioning kitchens, twice daily housekeeping, beautiful views, free wifi, great pool area, complimentary beach bags, boogie boards, bottled water, umbrellas. The list could go on....if you are looking for a hotel to stay at in Waikiki - this hotel is number 1 on tripadvisor for a reason. Do yourself a favour and book a room!

Thank you Trump for making our holiday an amazing one, we will see you again in 2014!

Room Tip: A room with a view, even a partial view is great.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashjay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    452
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
961
1,005
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
meaganl78
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a divine time staying at Trump on my own for a few days. Went for a city view room which was surprisingly quite large with very well appointed kitchenette. Very welcomed by staff. Box of Honolulu cookies was delivered to my room as a welcome gift. Voice mail messages left by staff to welcome me and also to assist me in my departure. The pool is small and there is. It an enormous amount of sun up there but for me that works fine. Excellent poolside service as well as room service. The day spa is very luxurious, including hot tea and chocolate on arrival. In compensation for the fact trump is not on the beach but across the road, guests can borrow a beach bag equipped with two towels, fresh fruit and cold water (in a cooler bag) ....very considerate ! . All in all a fantastic few nights and one I wold gladly repeat.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank meaganl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Trump Waikiki and were impressed with the quality and level of service. We were greeted with a refreshing drink and floral lei on arrival and taken to our room immediately (despite arriving at 9am). We had a deluxe ocean view room which was very spacious with a large kitchen and lounge area and a modern shower-room style bathroom.

The facilities are great, however we were disappointed with the pool area, being located on level 4. You couldn't see the beach from there - only the old outdated hotels directly opposite, where people sit on their balconies staring down at you. Unfortunately this hotel has no tropical or Hawaiian atmosphere to it, it really could be located in Anywhere, USA, and it would feel exactly the same. The beach is just a short walk across the road, but again, this part of the beach has none of the atmosphere you expect of Waikiki.

This is a good quality, good value hotel, but if you're after more of a "beachy" holiday, try Halekulani or Royal Hawaiian, merely for their better location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! Your generous comment regarding our service is greatly appreciated, since that is what we take pride in and strive for.
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment concerning our pool and the urban surroundings and thank you for your time in bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our vacation at The Trump Waikiki started last Sunday (9th) and from the moment we arrived we felt special. We had an early flight in from Japan and arrived at the hotel at 10:00 a.m. but check-in was not until 4:00 p.m. I believe. What to do? We were tired and our 11 year old son wanted to change and go to the beach. Not to worry, Tomomi checked us in and made an extra effort to find us a room within an hour and with an upgrade to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Thank you Tomomi (Front Reception), Dean (the guy who takes cares of you when you pull-up to The Trump...just a sweet guy and runs a tight crew) and Maria (Housekeeping) for making this a great trip.

We stayed at the Royal Hawaiian last year after reading it was "the best" place in Waikiki. What a joke that was. The Trump Waikiki is "THE BEST" hotel in Hawaii. Royal Hawaiian had old feeling rooms, worthless staff, small (unbelievably small) bathrooms and noise from the mall and the bars ruined that stay. DO NOT STAY there. Stay at The Trump. No noise at all. Super new and clean rooms. If you are lucky enough to get an ocean view from the 23rd floor like we had you will appreciate Hawaii's beauty all the more. Spacious everything. The bathroom alone is the size of a small child's bedroom. Equipped with a Japanese made Euro-style washlet toilet and two sinks and a shower where water can go everywhere and noone will care. Room service came twice a day and sometimes more to clean up. They clean your dishes if you cook, like we did a few times, as well as your entire room. The washer and dryer were a great convenience. The only inconveniences were false fire alarms but that happens. Location is awesome because just out the backside on Beachwalk is Henry's which has awesome sorbet and ice cream priced extremely reasonably. The sandwiches are great there too. Back to the Trump. The pool is small as we expected before booking but it is all you need because you will spend you time at the beach. The hot tub or jacuzzi was nice while my son swam and the pool view is wonderful especially when the stars are out at night. No complaints about the pool. Stay at the The Trump Waikiki and you will not regret it. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view....really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fujituji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleason, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here and had a nice time. But, there is no beach only streets on all sides of the property.
The rooms are spectacular, however. It feels more like I'm staying in a big city hotel rather than a resort in Waikiki.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BirdLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHW, Manager at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out in commenting about your stay. We regret to learn of your disappointment in that you felt the ambience and the surroundings were too urban. Nonetheless we truly appreciate your patronage and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for six nights last week. It was a beautiful hotel and is within walking distance to the beach and high end shopping. The staff was very friendly and always willing to assist. I especially likes the gift of Honolulu Cookie Company cookies and Trump bottles water. The hotel is over-priced ( as most hotels in Hawaii are) but well worth it. I had no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anklfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Checked into Trump for 6 nights, on arrival we had booked the ocean view studio but were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise, although understandably not ready as it was only 8:30am. The checkin procedure was very smooth and professional, great staff. The suite was well appointed with full kitchen facilities, a large fridge and freezer with ice on demand, the rooms were spotless, 2 bathrooms roomy with lots of towels great water pressure from the showers. Good views of the beach from 2 balconies.
The pool area although small was well kept, plenty of towels and an attendant on call.
Didn't get chance to sample the breakfast or any of the restaurants but I'm sure they will match the property.
Trump Waikiki is about the service, superb in all areas, going to the beach or a day trip? Here's a bag sir, with towels, water, fruit and sun screen, just return when you get back.
The hotel is positioned nicely a short walk to both the beach and the shopping areas.
All in all, a very good hotel, up there in my top 10, it deserves its rating on Tripadvisor I'm sure, but would need to stay in a few more in the area to compare.
If your budget stretches this far, book the Trump Towers Waikiki, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colshorrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing