We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ATTENTION TO DETAIL!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“ATTENTION TO DETAIL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow this hotel is amazing!
Staff are so friendly, attentative and efficient!
Rooms are nice, very clean and cleaned everyday. Everyday, a staff member will ask you if you would like your bed turned and provide you with bottled water.
If you are off to the beach, trump will provide you with a beach bag, fresh fruit, water, towels and sunscreen.
Even sitting by the trump pool is nice (although not big and probably more like a lap pool) staff will continually ask you for drinks, food, clean up after you, make sure the pool area is always tidy and even provide you with free samples of smoothies!
The buffet breakfast was very yummy, lots of great food to cater for everyone!

I really can't fault this place, no wonder is it number 1 on trip advisor in Waikiki, it deserves to be! You get treated like royalty in this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpWaikikiHonolulu, Director of Residences at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We certainly try our best to attend to every guests' need while they are here - or even before they arrive. Our attaché department's main goal is to reach out to each and every guest to insure that any needs or requests are fulfilled before they begin their vacation (and then again as they are departing!) . In this way, we hope that you feel very special before, during and after your trip!

Additionally, although we also recognize that most guests love the beaches in Hawaii, we know they like to visit the pool. Therefore, when you return, please be sure to check out the enhancements of the area and amenities that will be in place in the next few weeks.

MAHALO again - we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    463
    120
    31
    22
See reviews for
1,029
1,051
86
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon for 2 weeks and I hope this review does it justice as it was absolutely perfect in every possible way.

From start to finish we were made to feel like VIPs, the staff could not do enough for us. Upon arrival we were greeted with leis, fruit infused water and towels to freshen up. We were also upgraded to a deluxe sea view room. The room itself was great. It was large, clean and so well equipped. Including a coffee maker, blender, rice cooker, etc. We were given sparkling wine, cookies and chocolates throughout our stay.

I recommend eating at Wai'olu on a Friday night, the food is tapas style and the sushi is some of the best we've had. On Friday's you can watch the fireworks (from another hotel) from this terrace and the live music is fantastic.

It's the little things that really make this hotel stand out as a cut above the rest. After turn down the radio is always on with Hawaiian music playing, every member of staff greets you with a smile, the beach bags which other reviewers have mentioned, the concierge service is superb, lifts are always ready waiting on the ground floor, more fruit infused water by the pool... I just cannot put into words how outstanding the service is at this hotel making it a clear cut above the rest.

We will definitely return one day and also look into choosing trump hotels at other locations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ileftmyheartinTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpWaikikiHonolulu, Director of Residences at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us - and even more excited that we were able to be a part of "that something special".

We're also glad you had a chance to enjoy the live music and Friday night fireworks - it's really exciting for guests to have that chance to watch them from Wai'olu, ~ and it definitely can be the fantastic end to a spectacular vacation.

Once again, MAHALO! We hope to see you soon...maybe even before you celebrate your First Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarraville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel has it all - exceptional staff (service really is something else), great location close to restaurants, the beach, the shopping, plus a novel pool on level 6 overlooking Waikiki. A lot of the hotels in Waikiki seem squashed in so that you may end up with a window view of the hotel next door. Trump sits out by itself so there are no such problems.

The room was big - we stayed in a deluxe partial ocean view studio, which had its own kitchen. This is a massive drawcard as we could have an amazing self made breakfast on our balcony whenever we woke. The staff were great with our daughter, bringing her some little treats when we arrived and certainly making us feel very special and welcome after a long and tiring flight.

The finishing of the room is impeccable and every little detail seemed to have been addressed. We got a stay 4 nights, pay 3 deal and I think for what we got it was great value. As an overall package and at the price we paid I really can't fault it. Exceptional!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazb6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for three nights in April and loved our room, the location, service, and amenities! The kitchen was fully equipped (even a wine chiller) but lacked a blender. (However the staff was eager to find one for us!) Loved the washer/dryer; BIG tvs; stereo; mini island in the kitchen; etc.
All the employees we encountered were very friendly. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite with a lovely view of the beach and sunsets.
It was a super location for shopping and although it's not on the beach, it was an easy walk and we had a great view of Diamond Head.
The only thing we weren't crazy about was the layout of the bathroom. It's an open shower concept and the water went flying everywhere. We asked for a shower curtain to block the water (and view of someone showering) from the sink area/dressing/closets.
Had a great treatment in the Spa and enjoyed appetizers in the lobby level bar. The bar also boasts the "world's best mai tai" and it was worth the $14.50!!
Enjoyed our stay and would love to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FloridaGirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights last week in a Deluxe Ocean View room. I can't speak highly enough of the service, quality and the "little extras" that has Trump at the top of the Waikiki Hotel ratings.

Although checkin is at 4pm, our room was ready at noon. The only slight glitch was that, although it was on the 20th floor, it seemed to be a Partial Deluxe Ocean view room (the view was impeded by the ocean front hotels), not the full Ocean view that I had booked. I made a quick call to reception, and we were moved a couple of hours later to a room on the Saratoga side, which had a much better view and was a little larger ... a lot better for the 3 of us.

Every staff member who we came in contact with had a friendly Aloha, and everything from checkin to checkout was super efficient. The little extras were also a nice touch ... the beach bag, the welcome cake pops and cookies for our daughter, the call from reception 10 minutes after we moved rooms to make sure everything was OK with the new room, the call from the attaché to welcome us to the Hotel, the complimentary Trump beach area and umbrellas ... these are the type of things that set the Trump apart.

Both the service and quality were exceptional and we would love to return some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the Saratoga road side - much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes: location, service, cleanliness, amenities, appointments.

Location - the hotel is located at the heart of Waikiki beach. Although the hotel is not absolute waterfront, it is merely a street away and a two minute walk to the beach.

Room - the room had everything we needed - a balcony with views of the beach, a stove, a bath, a nice shower, and a fully equipped kitchen. It is beautifully appointed. Wifi signal is strong and fast!

Cleanliness - super clean, no issues here. I think hotel staff tidy up and will turn your bed twice a day.

Service - Superb! Nothing is too difficult. Planning a day at the beach, drop by the concierge and grab your beach bag that contains beach towels, sunscreen and a bottle of water.

What a great hotel this is!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in April 2012 for 10 nights for honeymoon.

On arrival we were upgraded to 1 bdrm suite with partial ocean view up high, which had nice view South (away from Diamond Head). We were up about 20 floors and higher floors are recommended.

The room was beautiful, large, and very clean and well looked after. Bathroom and bed were some of the larger we had seen, and additional extras (including bottle of champagne on arrival) all welcomed nd extra touches. The Trump branded everything in the room also was amusing but all products top quality.

Hotel itself is a 10-15 minute stroll from the main restaurants (and maybe 25 minute walk to Ala Moana shopping centre if you fancy it, 5 mins by cab or 10 minute shuttle bus). The distance was handy as after all of the big servings you get it was nice to walk some of it off (the starter at least). Located rIght on the beach also on a quieter spot, and being at the quieter side has its benefits given crowds further up at the main hotels. Plenty of abc stores on doorstop of the hotel.

Concierge and staff were all professional and friendly, and went out of their way to help (with complimentary towels and water to beach, and snack pack etc).

Breakfast at the hotel was okay if not a bit overpriced (same as spa, however it is a hotel so somewhat expected). Westin, Hilton and Sofitel breakfast buffet have it over Trump in this respect. Gym is fantastic and good equipment, and bar lovely with sunset views and nice ambience. A tip for visitors would be 'eggs n things' which is on the same road as Trump hotel and very local and ridiculous meals, and affordable (12 egg omelette anyone? Think man vs food but very nice).

The only main issue would be price. We got a reasonable rate for our stay from an online website, and given it was a special occassion were happy to pay a little extra. That said, looking at the rates today to plan a trip back in September this year we were shocked - at over $350 a night for basic rates it seems overpriced (and this said having stayed at many similar level hotels around the world). Curiously, when we stayed the hotel was practically empty - we would have put it at 40% capacity at best being generous. It was a ghost town most of the time we were there which we found surprising for such a beautiful hotel. Whilst not giving the place away I am sure there is room on the price to bring more people in.

It is a lovely hotel and we would recommend to others provided you can find a decent rate ($300 or under for studio room with views feels right).

Room Tip: Go high and seek water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuzzieTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing