We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service! 10 days in heaven at Waikiki Trump” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service! 10 days in heaven at Waikiki Trump”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we stepped into the cab to leave for the airport we were treated to outstanding service. Most high end hotels do not welcome families like this one. Both our daughters (9 & 12) were attended to as though they were paying customers as well.

Rooms were impeccably clean, food was amazing, location was perfect and I can't say enough about the service. Valet, bellhop, house keeping, pool staff and guest services get a 10+ from me.

I 100% recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    452
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
961
1,005
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Reading some reviews after booking the hotel for our recent trip, I nearly canceled the reservation thinking it wasn't fit for families. So glad we decided to stick with it because Trump Waikiki and staff goes above and beyond to make children feel welcomed. By now you've read that upon arrival, you are greeted with leis and shell necklaces, then on the lobby floor, with water and cold towel. Excellent touch. As everyone else shared, beach bags stocked with water and fruit were also extremely appreciated. What I want to focus this review on is the "little things" they did to pre-empt your asks and make your stay even better!

First, my son loved the seal stuffed animal and activity set upon arrival in the room. The fruit plate was also very much appreciated. He loved having his own robe and slipper (adorable touch!) along with mommy and daddy's. What was most impressive was that they even gave us a stool in the bathroom to help him reach the sink...not even Disney Aulani did that!

The pool is not your typical large, resort pool, but it actually was quite well designed for kids, with plenty of shallow "landing" areas for young ones to soak their bodies. The fact that it wasn't a deep or large pool make it easy for you to stay close to your children, whether you're next to the pool, or in the hot tub. Very few guests were in the pool when we were there (most were tanning) so our son and other kids enjoyed their time in there.

Every time we got inside the car, every door was held open, and everyone offered to help with directions. When it was pouring, we were given very nice umbrellas to carry along, and they also made sure to cover us while we walked to the car. The staff members all stopped to say hi whenever my son wanted to chat with them.

The hotel is just a few steps from Eggs n' Things and several delicious Japanese restaurants (through back alley). And 2 blocks away, you'll find yourself in the heart of Waikiki with tons of shops, restaurants and tourists. The beach immediately in front of the hotel (cross the street) is a bit rocky but make a left turn, walk a bit more, you'll find yourself in much softer sand. For us, that wasn't a big deal at all to walk in the water a bit! Why would it be? The weather is gorgeous!

As a family, we had to stock up on milk, snacks, cereal, juices, etc. The kitchenettes came in SO handy!! We loved having a kitchen in a luxury hotel (versus having to rent an old condo). Balconies were huge too which made it easy for my husband and I to sneak out and enjoy some wine while our kid sleeps. The housekeeping was meticulous-- twice a day, and anything you used in the kitchen, is washed immediately or refilled.

If you need reservations for dining, don't even hesitate to use the Attache service. They truly take care of you! They also installed a Wii in our room since we have a little guy.

Finally, extra thanks to Dean, Dori and Ebi (?) who went out of their way to make us feel welcomed!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view room is only slightly more expensive than garden view...it's worth it. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sklo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here at the Trump, it is everything and more than the reviews I have read.
From the moment stepped out of our airport transfer we have been greeted with wonderful hospitality.
Dennis on the concierge desk, so helpful and kind. We had a lovely evening at the Wai olu restaurant which was amazing!
The food was extra special, but in particular Jamie our waitress was just gorgeous, so attentive. Also last night in the Wai olu lounge the musician Johnna made a refreshing change to the usual Hawaiian singers, again amazing and so friendly. Our room is just as other reviewers have mentioned, views special but to the point you don't want to leave! This hotel is the reason many Australians keep coming back to Hawaii. Love it, don't bother thinking about booking any other hotel this is it!
And thank you to all the wonderful staff at the hotel! Mahalo

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I came to the Trump Hotel for our 10th anniversary. It was a fantastic stay! The staff here are remarkably friendly, and very attentive to every need. The hotel itself while not on the beach, is only a couple minute walk to the beach. One of the nice surprises was that the hotel provides a beach bag that has sunblock, towels, water and fruit. My wife and I did rent a car, but in retrospect it probably wasn't needed. Even when we went to the Polynesian cultural Center and North Shore area, we took a a shuttle tour that was available directly through the PCC. I highly recommend that by the way. The valet fee is a little excessive, I actually prefer to park my own car, but it was nice not have to look for parking in the busy Waikiki Beach area.

For anybody looking to stay at the Trump Hotel, I can definitely say you will not be disappointed. It did feel just a bit formal for a beach vacation though. I think next time we may try the Outrigger, or even the Royal Hawaiian. Both of those felt a little bit more Hawaiian, while the trump had a more city feel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skilesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Trump International Hotel is a tranquil oasis where understated elegance meets sheer indulgence .Upon arrival, we received beautiful leis and were promptly checked in. By the time we have reached our room, the bell boy was already there greeting us with a box of Hawaiian cookies. Our spacious room on 20th floor had all the necessary comforts: soft bed, high quality linens, wonderful bathroom amenities, free and fast wi-fi. The small kitchen was well equipped adding to the homey atmosphere. The hotel also provides great beach bags with towels, cold water, fresh fruit, and even sunscreen! I loved it so much, I bought one!

The infinity pool however is very small, waist-deep and very narrow. The pool area is also small and very crowded.

Dinning - Wai'olu lounge has beautiful views but the food is extremely mediocre and overpriced. It is the only area of the hotel where the service is spotty. If you want to give them a try, take advantage of the happy hours specials between 3 and 6. BLT Steak downstairs is open only for dinner. We had dinner there twice and absolutely loved it! Great food, impressive wine selection and wonderful service.
Overall, great hotel, impeccable service. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a dinner at BLT! Sit on the lovely patio and let the staff to treat you like a roy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magdalena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is still as good as the first time we stayed here shortly after it opened. Excellent staff, great service and the personal touch. They even stored some mail from 18 months ago. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter & i didn't stay @ the hotel,but we were made to feel very welcome as casual diners.We had a buffet breakfast here & the quality was second to none!Many people wouldn't know that you can ask & be welcome to go to the dining room like this.Our accomodation wasn't high-end,so the chance to treat ourselves was one we couldn't miss.Staff treated us as one of their guests & the food was amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed elsewhere,but if breakfast was anything to go by,i'd say all rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamdc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing