We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, however housekeeping is short on supplies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, however housekeeping is short on supplies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It's very clean and modern. I've traveled a lot on business and leisure. The bed is luxurious. Location is perfect. Not by the water so that not too noisy. Staff is courteous. There's a kitchenette with all utensils so that u can prepare your own food. Hall ways are so clean and smell so nice and refreshing. Wifi is fast. There is a mini library. Amenities in the room are excellent. It is nothing but luxury. You can ask a beach bag with water, fruits and towels plus sun screen whenever you go out to beach.
My only complaint is house keeping.
I stayed there for five nights. I washed my hair and I have left over shampoo. I didn't throw away the half used shampoo since I hate wasting. It is almost done and housekeeping could see it. I thought they'd put second bottles as many girls do. I had to shampoo my hair on day 5 wih left over which is not enough for my hair. I am not crazy about hotel shampoos since I use Aveda(r) at home. But ...lack of refills by housekeeping ruined the day with not so clean hair.
Overall, it's top notch and it is extremely clean... One of the best palaces I've stayed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Coral H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    463
    120
    31
    22
See reviews for
1,029
1,051
86
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Trump for 12 nights for our Honeymoon. We decided to book this hotel after researching many hotels in the Waikiki area. We could not have made a better choice!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the valet staff, Dean (the main Bellman), and Julia (hostess). The luggage from our rental car was taken out and tagged immediately to be sent to our room. We were given beautiful leis and were escorted to the check in desk. While checking in, we were given pineapple infused water and cool towels to freshen up.

We stayed on the 14th floor in a one bedroom studio. Although the room was the smaller and simpler room type, we were amazed by the "basic" amenities it included. Hawaiian music was playing in the room once we opened the door, and a box of Honolulu Cookie Company cookies were on the desk to welcome us.

The kitchen appliances included: refrigerator (with ice maker), microwave, touch screen stove, and stainless steel sink. The kitchen accessories were endless: coffee cups, wine glasses, champagne glasses, plastic cups, short glass cups, tall glass cups, small plates, medium plates, large plates, small bowls, large bowls, food storage containers, coffee maker, forks, spoons, knives, blender, rice cooker, pots, pans, measuring cups, glass pitcher, hand mixer....... everything you could possibly need in a kitchen!

The bathroom was amazing. All marble flooring and counter tops. We really enjoyed the deep tub and shower.

Housekeeping was top notch. There are two services per day. First service to clean the room and replenish any items/towels needed. Second service as a bed turn down service around dinner time to remove extra pillows and turn out the sheets to get you ready for bed. Each night, they provided us complimentary bottled water by the bed as well.

The staff really made our experience the the Trump wonderful. Julia would greet us by name, and Dean would always make a point to ask us what we were doing each day while we got our car from valet. He was always happy to provide directions and suggestions. The whole valet staff and hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The day before leaving Waikiki, we informed the hotel our flight would not leave until 11 at night. We inquired about having the hotel hold our bags. They immediately offered a late check out for us. Typically, late check out would be 1 or 2 in the afternoon. They actually set up the late check out for 9 at night!

We cannot wait to come back to Waikiki. We will be staying at the Trump next time. No question about it!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach bag when heading out! It's free - includes beach towels, sunscreen, fruit, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's been two days at the Trump Waikiki and I don't want to leave! Honolulu is heaven on earth and The Trump is the perfect place to stay!

Hotel arrival
Entrance is beautiful. Reception is on the sixth floor. When we arrived, weekly Friday night fireworks were about to start. We grabbed a cocktail, and stayed on the balcony for the perfect view. Friendly and quick check in, great service

Room
We booked a studio room city view through Jet Luxury resorts and got an awesome deal. The room is not huge but it had everything we could want - comfortable bed with all white sheets, balcony with partial ocean view, tv with DVD, iPod/iPhone docking station, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, coffee maker and dishes! Beautiful shower and sink. Modern and simple very clean. We even arrived to a box of Hawaiian short bread cookies which I will definitely be bringing back for friends and family. Perfect room for us!

Pool
Much smaller than anticipated....BUT it's on the sixth floor so no ransoms from other hotels nth is is huge because as you walk through other hotels in Waikiki you find you can just walk into their pools and there's aren't really that much bigger. I found that although our pool was small most the time you want to be at the beach so it's a small sacrifice for such a modern hotel.

Location
Is PERFECT! You are in the heart of everything. We walked to breakfast just around the corner from shopping and the park. Quick walk to the beach. Across for. The Halekulani for brunch. It's right in the heart of it all without being too chaotic like some of the other hotels.

All in all this is a great hotel and I will be back! Honolulu is the ideal marriage of beach and city , relaxation and fun, nature and luxury. I'm sold on the Trump!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pvgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was my second 5 nights stay at Trump Waikiki in June 2012. Actually, it was even more perfect than the year before. I booked a standard room with ocean view and got a free upgrade to a studio room with ocean view, it was a very good surprise after 20 hours traveling from Europe.

The location is very convenient, not on the beach but within walking distance. It's close to every attractions in Waikiki.

The most amazing point was about employees, they were always very helpful and polite. That really made the difference.

The valet service was very efficient, no matter when you ask for your car, it was always there in less than 5 minutes. A bit pricey (30$/day) but it did worth it.

My return flight was at 09pm and the check out was at 11am. I explained to the concierge and he allowed me to keep the room until 7pm, that was a real late check out!!

I'll go back there this year because I'm sure I can't find a better place to stay in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms. The ocean view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Many of the previous reviewers have outlined how the Trump falls short of mainland and some of the island luxury hotels. Yes, the pool is obnoxiously small, the reception area and lobby are not grandiose or overly austentatious. Where the Trump truly shines is the employees and their attention to detail and focus on serving the customer.

When we arrived, our room was not yet ready as the previous tenants were having some sort of medical issue and were late checking out. The front desk took our bags and sent us to the bar for a complimentary cocktail and hors d'oeuvre while we waited. We had reserved an ocean view suite for 10 days starting the Friday of Memorial Day weekend, so the hotel was fully booked and very busy. After our cocktails and snack, the room was still not done. They graciously put us in a temporary room to shower, change, and take a nap until our room was ready. Throughout our stay the employees exhibited the same high level of customer service. While waiting for our room, I asked the reception agent if our room had a wine cellar, since I had brought a couple bottles of wine that were in the $150 range when purchased 10-12 years ago. Some rooms did have this feature but ours did not, so he offered to store them for me in their cellar gratis. Each and every day at least one person working for the hotel did something to shine.

I look forward to going back to the Trump Waikiki, hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked a one bedroom with a den for family of 5. At first I thought the room would be too small but we manage with two sofa beds and roll away for the kids.

Service is fantastic, housekeeping is seriously one of the best I have experienced, towels are changed day & evening and our room is always tidy and clean. Going to the beach we are supplied with beach bag, towels, water, sunscreen & fruit. Bed so comfy but not so much the sofa beds!

Price isn't cheap but we felt it was worth it. During our stay we had an evacuation at 1am in the morning due to a broken water valve, we all descended down the stairs but there wasn't any direction from staff and was not informed when we could go back to our rooms, we basically just followed the crowd when it was over. I think lesson learnt they need some sought of authority during these emergencies.

Trump is closer to the nicer part of Waikiki beach near the Hilton Hawaiian Lagoon, the beach is wider, cleaner and less crowded with many restaurants and bars along the beach walk. There's also a large grass area to hang out if you don't want sand. You can walk along the beach further up to the main shops and hotels and catch some waves.

Room Tip: Trump is very close to shops, restaurants and transport. Our favourite ABC store on Lewers St, it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_W838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Trump Waikiki is a great modern hotel with a wonderful location. We booked a Deluxe Studio Ocean View room, but were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was gorgeous - loved the marble tile in both bathrooms.

Since we were traveling during the busy holiday break, our expectations were set for a busy hotel with overworked staff. We were pleasantly surprised that even though the hotel was at capacity, all the staff took exceptional care of us like we were the only people at the hotel. They helped with directions, made sure we had enough water and the jeep was always at the ready after we called.

If we are ever in Honolulu again we will definitely be back to the Trump!

Pros:
*location, location, location
*views of surfers from the patio
*updated, clean rooms with full-sized refrigerator
*friendly and helpful staff
*beach bag from the concierge filled w/ fruit and water
*quick valet

Cons:
*no "hawaiian" feeling

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poutyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing