We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
achach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was my second 5 nights stay at Trump Waikiki in June 2012. Actually, it was even more perfect than the year before. I booked a standard room with ocean view and got a free upgrade to a studio room with ocean view, it was a very good surprise after 20 hours traveling from Europe.

The location is very convenient, not on the beach but within walking distance. It's close to every attractions in Waikiki.

The most amazing point was about employees, they were always very helpful and polite. That really made the difference.

The valet service was very efficient, no matter when you ask for your car, it was always there in less than 5 minutes. A bit pricey (30$/day) but it did worth it.

My return flight was at 09pm and the check out was at 11am. I explained to the concierge and he allowed me to keep the room until 7pm, that was a real late check out!!

I'll go back there this year because I'm sure I can't find a better place to stay in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms. The ocean view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    419
    108
    24
    20
See reviews for
878
955
81
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Many of the previous reviewers have outlined how the Trump falls short of mainland and some of the island luxury hotels. Yes, the pool is obnoxiously small, the reception area and lobby are not grandiose or overly austentatious. Where the Trump truly shines is the employees and their attention to detail and focus on serving the customer.

When we arrived, our room was not yet ready as the previous tenants were having some sort of medical issue and were late checking out. The front desk took our bags and sent us to the bar for a complimentary cocktail and hors d'oeuvre while we waited. We had reserved an ocean view suite for 10 days starting the Friday of Memorial Day weekend, so the hotel was fully booked and very busy. After our cocktails and snack, the room was still not done. They graciously put us in a temporary room to shower, change, and take a nap until our room was ready. Throughout our stay the employees exhibited the same high level of customer service. While waiting for our room, I asked the reception agent if our room had a wine cellar, since I had brought a couple bottles of wine that were in the $150 range when purchased 10-12 years ago. Some rooms did have this feature but ours did not, so he offered to store them for me in their cellar gratis. Each and every day at least one person working for the hotel did something to shine.

I look forward to going back to the Trump Waikiki, hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked a one bedroom with a den for family of 5. At first I thought the room would be too small but we manage with two sofa beds and roll away for the kids.

Service is fantastic, housekeeping is seriously one of the best I have experienced, towels are changed day & evening and our room is always tidy and clean. Going to the beach we are supplied with beach bag, towels, water, sunscreen & fruit. Bed so comfy but not so much the sofa beds!

Price isn't cheap but we felt it was worth it. During our stay we had an evacuation at 1am in the morning due to a broken water valve, we all descended down the stairs but there wasn't any direction from staff and was not informed when we could go back to our rooms, we basically just followed the crowd when it was over. I think lesson learnt they need some sought of authority during these emergencies.

Trump is closer to the nicer part of Waikiki beach near the Hilton Hawaiian Lagoon, the beach is wider, cleaner and less crowded with many restaurants and bars along the beach walk. There's also a large grass area to hang out if you don't want sand. You can walk along the beach further up to the main shops and hotels and catch some waves.

Room Tip: Trump is very close to shops, restaurants and transport. Our favourite ABC store on Lewers St, it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_W838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Trump Waikiki is a great modern hotel with a wonderful location. We booked a Deluxe Studio Ocean View room, but were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was gorgeous - loved the marble tile in both bathrooms.

Since we were traveling during the busy holiday break, our expectations were set for a busy hotel with overworked staff. We were pleasantly surprised that even though the hotel was at capacity, all the staff took exceptional care of us like we were the only people at the hotel. They helped with directions, made sure we had enough water and the jeep was always at the ready after we called.

If we are ever in Honolulu again we will definitely be back to the Trump!

Pros:
*location, location, location
*views of surfers from the patio
*updated, clean rooms with full-sized refrigerator
*friendly and helpful staff
*beach bag from the concierge filled w/ fruit and water
*quick valet

Cons:
*no "hawaiian" feeling

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poutyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in October 2012 and It was amazing. The hotel is very clean, friendly and deserves its 5*.

When we arrived we were greated with Handmade necklaces and taken to reception for check in. It was easy and quick and were then escorted to our room.

Upon arrival we had a bottle of wine courtesy of the hotel as we were celebrating our anniversairy, this was a special touch which we really appreciated.

The housemaides regulary cleaned our room well and provided new towels etc and would always come of an evening for turn down service.

The concierge service was very good and they recommend some shopping malls, places to see and helped us with any queries we had. They also provide the beach bag which comes complete with Towels, suncream, fruit and water, perfect for if you dont want to bring your own.

The pool and Jacuzzi at the hotel was clean and you have a fabulous view of the other hotels and sea. It does become very windy up there which is great if you want to sit in the sun and get a great tan. The beds are comfortable and water is available at anytime.

The bar is great, wasnt too busy when we went of an evening, I would say the cocktails were a little pricey for what you got but I expected this of a hotel chain such as Trump.

The location is great, 5 Mins from the beach, 2 mins from the shopping strip which has plenty of places to eat at.

I would most certaintly recommend this hotel to family and friends, its one of the best Ive stayed in so far, I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazz2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Well, I'm not impressed a very plain buildings plain reception area, nothing that really stands out. It's not even ocean front. I guess you hear the Donald's name attached to something and you have certain expectations. Well this one didn't meet mine. Sits on a piece of Waikiki adjacent to Ft. De Russy, across the street from Outrigger's Reef Hotel. High end prices which could probably be spent elsewhere with a greater return on dollars spent. No sense of place feeling, you could be in Manhattan, except for the coconut trees everywhere. They could have had a more Hawaiian feeling and made for a more memorable experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Kolekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed as a party of six and booked a 3 bedroom suite for five night at a cost of $2,200 per night. At that price i expected a better quality hotel. it is constructed with all the hallmarks of building efficiencies rather than luxury finishes. The ground and lobby areas are constrained and cramped. Corridor sizes are tight and ceilings low, and the pool is tiny and not very appealing and is certainly not kid friendly. The lifts are too small and there is not enough of them necessitating long waits at times for service.
added to that some of the smaller additional charges can be annoying such as paying $17 to watch a movie, and $30 per day for the hire car we rented
- if i'm paying $12,000 for five days, I expect to able able park my car and watch a movie in my room and put one on for the kids without feeling you're getting tickled up again.
The staff were professional and polished, and this was our first stay in Waikiki, I can't recommend other hotels, but i'd look elsewhere at the price. Very overrated on Tripadvisor for some reason.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bernie64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why save the best for last when you can have it all the time? And why stay anywhere else in Hawaii when you can stay at Trump International Hotel™ Waikiki Beach Walk®? This Hawaii luxury hotel is part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, making it one of the premier Honolulu hotels. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway.Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotel Collection to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attaché - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing