We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Only 5 Star Hotel in Waikiki in Terms of Rooms, Service, Location and Newness!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Only 5 Star Hotel in Waikiki in Terms of Rooms, Service, Location and Newness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We are Australian Chinese and travel internationally once a year. Since it's only an annual event, we like to pamper ourselves with 5star & luxury when we travel.

We have researched many hotels in Waikiki for 3months before travelling and decided to book 3 different hotels throughout our 2 weeks stay just so we are not stuck with one hotel in case we do not like it. Also, it's nice to book different budget/themed hotels just to experience how they are like.

We selected lower budget Hyatt Place Waikiki (turn out to be the best value), medium budget Outrigger Reef on the Beach (worst value, we moved out after one night) and highest budget JW Marriott Ko Olina (worst value as well and a ripoff). Read my reviews on these 3 hotels on TripAdvisor to find out more.

After one intolerable night at Outrigger, we decided to look for another hotel and Trump International was the natural solution, it being the number 1 hotel on Tripadvisor and we wanted to check out what the fuss was about.

As we were already in Waikiki, we decided to view the rooms personally before booking as we do not want to fall into the same trap as Outrigger, where it was rated "4 star" or more by Tripadvisor reviewers but when we personally experience it, was more of a "tourist class" hotel, rooms were badly outdated, bad soundproofing and noisy.

We were shown 2 different rooms at Trump and straight away, we knew we have found the 5star standard we were after.

Trump is about 3yrs of age, hence, all facilities still look brand new, including rooms, pool, carpet, business center, etc. There is a kitchenette in all guest rooms and though we did not need to use it, it comes in very handy for those who wants to save and cook instead of dining out. The kitchenette is fully equipped with everything, you do not need to bring any extras.

The bathroom is a good size though we would prefer the toilet to be separated from the shower so others can use when one is showering.

There is a lap pool at the Lobby plus Spa, which was great.

The most "Wow" experience for us was their "Spectacular" Customer Service, which was personalised, cheerful, customer focused and going the extra mile, unlike other hotels which claim they are luxury/5star, eg JW Marriott Ko Olina, but provide robotic service if any!

We lost our belongings at a Luau and due to travel Insurance claims purposes, we are required to lodge a police report. The manager, Jeff, went the extra mile to help us out, contacted the police to come to the Hotel so we can lodge the report, gave us a private spot at the breakfast lounge to do this and even stayed with us during the police report just in case we need anything!

Now, We have travelled all over the world including Europe, Asia, USA, Australia, NZ, you name it, and stayed in all sorts of hotels, we have never had such personalised service!

Also, the day before we check out, we received a call from the Hotel thanking us for staying with them and asking us if there is any assistance we require for checking out eg wake up call, luggage, transportation, etc. None of the other Hotels do this.

Our flight back to Australia was 10am and have to checkout by 7am, the bills were all ready when I step in front of the Reception unlike other Hotels, when you call them from the room asking them to prepare the Invoice, you still need to wait when you reached Reception. The bellman was also on the way up to the room collecting our luggage and our rental car was already parked out front, all as requested the night before and without any reminders! I call this "Customer Service"!

Cons:-
1. The shampoo/bath gel/conditioner smelt horrible though and could be improved.
2. The buffet breakfast cost $35++, and lack variety, definitely not worth the value as Denny's Restaurant is just across the street and on Waikiki Beach Walk, there is another restaurant offering cooked breakfast for less than $10.
3. Could have separate toilet and shower.


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    452
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
961
1,005
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great views, amazing honeymoon experience. Watch the fireworks from the hotel restaurant every weekend. Walking distance from most of the best restaurants IMO. On the first night, definitely check out hula dancing at House Without a Key across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinep313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Every single employee we came in contact with from the moment my husband and I pulled up to this hotel welcomed us and congratulated us on our wedding. The staff was beyond helpful...even sending a bell hop up to our room the night before we were checking out to weigh our luggage (we had done some Christmas shopping). When we checked in we were instantly upgraded to a full ocean view room, where a box of cookies (Honolulu Cookie Company) and a bottle of champagne greeted us! The valet gave us great tips on where to go on the North Shore, down to which shrimp trucks were the best to stop at (we were not disappointed). Before we even checked in we had contacted the concierge to help with dinner reservations at Alan Wong's, which he secured without a problem. He also let them know we were celebrating our honeymoon, which resulted in being greeted with congratulations from the hostess and a personalized menu singed by Alan Wong and his staff.

Thank you Trump International for making our honeymoon stay so lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrssampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

WE stayed here for new year - we had amazing vacation!

First of all - location cannot be better - just next to everything important - but not directly on the beach so you save yourself all the mess of dirty public areas and too many people in public areas...

The hotel is really high style - rooms are huge and room showers are very large and comfortable. Beds are among the best I ever slept on!!

Hotel audience is mixed - 50%+ are Japanese, and ages are mixed between young families and couples.

The hotel is well managed and service was impeccable - anything we needed was addressed immediately and at best quality.

Public areas are a bit small - pool is beautiful with amazing direct Waikiki views - but size is a bit small. only 1 small Jacuzzi that can be packed at times, and no sauna.

Although hotel is not directly on beach - they provide you with beach bag with everything you need every time you want to go to the beach, and you can rent beds and umbrella for $40 / day (a bit overpriced but at least you have the option!).

Bottom line - I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, service, and room quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank negvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Trump Waikiki for five nights over Christmas. For the most part, it is a great addition to the Waikiki strip - great location, modern, luxurious, and with excellent staff. Highly recommended...
The hotel is not right on Waikiki Beach but it is only a block away, just across the street from the Outrigger Reef. This is the perfect place to be close to all the action, both on the beach and in the restaurants and shops. You couldn't have a better location unless you want to be near Diamond Head or the zoo.
My room was a deluxe studio ocean view, and it was very nice. Unlike The Donald, the room is surprisingly muted. The bathroom is almost completely white, with marble floors and counters and white walls with no pictures. A bit bland, and I didn't like the faucet taps or the fact there was only one towel hook. It also has an open room shower, which might put some people off but I didn't mind.
The living quarters were also conservatively decorated but much nicer with some tasteful art and furnishings. A very well equiped kitchen, large living room and private lanai with a nice view completed the picture. All in all, very nice.
The hotel had three restaurants, one for breakfast/lunch, Wai'Olu for dinner and drinks, plus a steakhouse which I didn't try. Wai'Olu is surprisingly affordable for a Trump property restaurant. It's more of a small plate, tapas style restaurant but the food was very good, and you HAVE to try their Mai Tai, which apparantly won a world's best award and I can see why, it was outstanding.
Nearby excellent restaurants include Nobu, Roy's, Ocean House and others in high end properties Halekalani and Royal Hawaiian. Starbucks is across the street at the Outrigger, and EggsNThings is just up the road for breakfast (very busy!). And there are tons of casual eateries nearby as well. Certainly no lacking for choice!
The hotel itself doesn't have any shops, but you are only a block off the main strip.
Service throughout was top notch and friendly in the warm Hawaiian way, this is not a formal city so hawaiian shirts and shorts are perfectly acceptable. You will love your time in Honolulu!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkG604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Truly, this is my new favorite hotel.....the service is superb, the people who work at the hotel seem sincere and as though they truly care about their guests. The building is state of the art with all of the modern amenities you can expect at a tip-top hotel!

The only thing I didn't like is that there were babies and children in the bar/lounge...I really don't want to listen to a crying baby when I am drinking my 5'oclock martini...aren't some places sacred????!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tokyosakura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We travelled recently with our 4 month old daughter. Pre-reservation requirements of baby cot and other essentials were well honored, and the room, quality of attention and overall feeling was at the highest standard. We got 2-3 calls during our stay to see if all was fine, and even the request for a hand shower in the shower room was met with a technician changing the setting and adapting a hand shower. A first class experience. And the tall lady at the reception on the ground floor was so welcoming and warm. One of our best experiences. We`ll be back in six months

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing