We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service and room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

WE stayed here for new year - we had amazing vacation!

First of all - location cannot be better - just next to everything important - but not directly on the beach so you save yourself all the mess of dirty public areas and too many people in public areas...

The hotel is really high style - rooms are huge and room showers are very large and comfortable. Beds are among the best I ever slept on!!

Hotel audience is mixed - 50%+ are Japanese, and ages are mixed between young families and couples.

The hotel is well managed and service was impeccable - anything we needed was addressed immediately and at best quality.

Public areas are a bit small - pool is beautiful with amazing direct Waikiki views - but size is a bit small. only 1 small Jacuzzi that can be packed at times, and no sauna.

Although hotel is not directly on beach - they provide you with beach bag with everything you need every time you want to go to the beach, and you can rent beds and umbrella for $40 / day (a bit overpriced but at least you have the option!).

Bottom line - I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, service, and room quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank negvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,884)
There are newer reviews for Trump International Hotel Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 2,884 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Trump Waikiki for five nights over Christmas. For the most part, it is a great addition to the Waikiki strip - great location, modern, luxurious, and with excellent staff. Highly recommended...
The hotel is not right on Waikiki Beach but it is only a block away, just across the street from the Outrigger Reef. This is the perfect place to be close to all the action, both on the beach and in the restaurants and shops. You couldn't have a better location unless you want to be near Diamond Head or the zoo.
My room was a deluxe studio ocean view, and it was very nice. Unlike The Donald, the room is surprisingly muted. The bathroom is almost completely white, with marble floors and counters and white walls with no pictures. A bit bland, and I didn't like the faucet taps or the fact there was only one towel hook. It also has an open room shower, which might put some people off but I didn't mind.
The living quarters were also conservatively decorated but much nicer with some tasteful art and furnishings. A very well equiped kitchen, large living room and private lanai with a nice view completed the picture. All in all, very nice.
The hotel had three restaurants, one for breakfast/lunch, Wai'Olu for dinner and drinks, plus a steakhouse which I didn't try. Wai'Olu is surprisingly affordable for a Trump property restaurant. It's more of a small plate, tapas style restaurant but the food was very good, and you HAVE to try their Mai Tai, which apparantly won a world's best award and I can see why, it was outstanding.
Nearby excellent restaurants include Nobu, Roy's, Ocean House and others in high end properties Halekalani and Royal Hawaiian. Starbucks is across the street at the Outrigger, and EggsNThings is just up the road for breakfast (very busy!). And there are tons of casual eateries nearby as well. Certainly no lacking for choice!
The hotel itself doesn't have any shops, but you are only a block off the main strip.
Service throughout was top notch and friendly in the warm Hawaiian way, this is not a formal city so hawaiian shirts and shorts are perfectly acceptable. You will love your time in Honolulu!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank MarkG604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We travelled recently with our 4 month old daughter. Pre-reservation requirements of baby cot and other essentials were well honored, and the room, quality of attention and overall feeling was at the highest standard. We got 2-3 calls during our stay to see if all was fine, and even the request for a hand shower in the shower room was met with a technician changing the setting and adapting a hand shower. A first class experience. And the tall lady at the reception on the ground floor was so welcoming and warm. One of our best experiences. We`ll be back in six months

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights and had no complaints. Staff is some of the friendliest we've encountered in 20+ years of visiting Hawaii. The valets especially are very helpful and genuinely nice people. My husband and I had some treatments at the spa and found our therapists to be very good.

One weird detail: I could touch the ceiling of our bathroom and I'm 5ft 4in so I'm guessing the ceiling was only 7ft. The ceiling popped up a bit in the bedroom and sitting area, but overall the feeling it gave was still a little bit claustrophobic. Taller people might not be comfortable in this setting.

Even though this is not a beach-front hotel, in the public areas such as the lobby bar the designers did a wonderful job of capitalizing on views over the treetops of the neighboring park. The hotel does give off a big city, Manhattan type of vibe but that's in keeping with the Trump brand. In my opinion the architects did the absolute best they could with this piece of property, to maximize views and minimize the impact of other buildings.

Is this the #1 hotel in all of Honolulu? Personally I would put it at #3 behind the Halekulani and the Kahala, but that is based on my love of those two properties and not anything particularly wrong with the Trump. It is definitely one of the best hotels in Honolulu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frogprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for 4 nights. We booked a 2 bedroomed suite. The facilities of the suite where excellent, although we didn't used most of them (eg the kitchen). The main bathroom was wonderful and we loved the spa bath. The little extras where nice eg bags for the beach (including apples, water and sun cream) and shoe cleaning, although you are obviously getting what you pay for! The children where well treated. The staff where very accommodating. Location wise, the hotel is well placed and in walking distance to good shops and restaurants. The only thing I was uncomfortable with was the number of people running around after us eg three people came to attend to the suite twice a day. I found this a little intrusive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days to celebrate a milestone birthday. From the time we arrived until we left, we experienced exemplary service by the staff. Everyone was so very warm and friendly. Concierge was super helpful with every request. As others have experienced, we were also upgraded from a deluxe studio to a 1 bedroom suite. Gorgeous room, my DH did not want to leave. Food in the lounge was wonderful and the mai tai really was the best I had, after sampling many on three islands. We also liked the location, Waikiki is only steps away. You are also very close to Roy's, the Halekulani's restaurants and Duke's.
The only quibble with this magnificent hotel is that housekeeping was not quite up to the rest of the wonderful service at the hotel.
Should note that the charge for overnight valet parking is $30.
The Trump is our first choice whenever we return to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cadp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Trump Waikiki for 5 nights in June 2012. It was our first trip to Hawaii so we did not know what exactly to expect. We booked online several months in advance and were in touch with a hotel concierge beforehand who was very helpful in suggesting activities and accommodating our room request. We arrived and were greeted to a nice welcome from a friendly staff. We booked a studio room but were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the beach.

The room was really nice and far exceeded our expectations. The full kitchen was incredible. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was beautiful and it also had a washer and dryer which was really nice. The only downside to the room was noise from the street which we could hear fairly easily even up on the 18th floor. This did not bother us at all and it was just average background street noise. The room gets 5 stars from us.

The food all around was great. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day, once getting room service and the other days at the buffet downstairs. Both were outstanding. We also got room service for dinner one night and a late night snack another time. The room service overall was tasty and reasonable priced for what you get. They did confuse our orders with another room on two occasions but otherwise the service was respectable. We also had a few drinks at the bar downstairs where they offer the "world's best mai tai." It is not your average mai tai and I thought it was excellent. The bar overall was nice. The food gets 5 stars from us.

As should be the case with any 5 star hotel, the service is what makes this hotel great. There were small glitches here and there such as with the room service but overall there were no problems at all. Everyone went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Julia and Dean were the two most helpful and made our stay truly memorable. The next time we are in Honolulu, I don't think there's any question about where we'll stay. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I521YOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $340 - $846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing