We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have travelled extensively with our 2 children (who are now both young adults) and this hotel is up there with the very best in the world. We searched extensively for a hotel that could comfortably accommodate our family of 4 and nearly all hotels offered us their only option of 2 x hotel rooms. This is both a very expensive option and i wanted to spend time with my family. I wanted all of us to be together but a room big enough that gave us some space. Thankfully, I found the Trump and booked an Oceanview 1 bedroom +den. On arrival we were warmly greeted and made to feel at home. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom Oceanview room and all I can say is that this place is stunning. The room is spectacular, the staff are very friendly, earnest to help but not intrusive and they try to accommodate every need. We are only part way through our stay ( still have a few more days left) and I can confidently say that I would not stay anywhere else. 13 years ago we stayed in a very popular, well renowned beach front hotel and disliked the experience so much I vowed I would never return to Hawaii, fortunately, I changed my mind. Ok,the beach is across the road but it took all of 2 minutes to find a fabulous spot on the beach. The pool here is not big and is not as fancy as some of the other hotels but it is still perfectly fine. The staff are absolutely incredible and go out of their way to help you. The location is brilliant if you want to go shopping, go to the beach or catch a local bus to anywhere. Most people rave about this place and now I know why. This is recommended for couples, business etc but I would also recommend this for families as well - it is the perfect option for families, and I will recommend it to everyone I know. We walked to the beach today and the Concierge desk handed us a gorgeous bag with beach towels, water, sunscreen and fresh fruit; whoever thought of that idea is a real gem, well done! We were asked to give a time for the room to be serviced in the morning and in the evening and they have honoured that. At many other hotels you just never know when they will service your room each day stay. Don't stay anywhere else if you want a quality experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 12coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,884)
There are newer reviews for Trump International Hotel Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,884 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

best hotel in waikiki. rooms include a full kitchen and service was top notch. i was not looking for the regular resort feel and this hotel certainly is not that. it's about two blocks in from the beach and feels more like a high end city hotel but it was great.

the service alone should be a draw here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forrest73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived (in November) we were made to feel special with a warm welcome, an upgrade and even a $50 voucher for a meal. The host who showed us to our sumptuous lanai room on the sixteenth floor pointed out that here was the perfect place to watch the Friday night beachfront fireworks display. During an intriguing dinner of delightful asian dishes the waitress introduced us to ice-cold sake drunk from a tiny wooden box. A memorable experience!
We loved the location, the infinity pool and the simple elegance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvonne-phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed in lots of wonderful hotels all over the world but I am now a Trump devotee! I loved every second of my stay at Trump. I was treated like a celebrity from the moment I stepped out of the cab. Not only were we upgraded to an ocean view room but Trump is celebrating by giving everyone a $50 voucher to spend in the hotel. We spent it at Wai-olu Lounge and had an incredible meal - the poke is to die for! We were also given a complimentary bottle of champagne as they noticed it was my husband and my 5th anniversary. No detail went unnoticed and we were pampered and respected as individuals with unique tastes and preferences. Trump is in a much nicer part of Waikiki than some of the other hotels. It is about a 2 minute walk to the beach and it is a more private section of the beach; more like a haven than swarming with tourists. When you have a beach like this - I'm not sure why people are so concerned about the swimming pool, which we loved at night with the lights and spa, but we were at the beach during the day! The beach bag that the concierge gives patrons is an excellent idea and means that you have a fresh towel, water, fruit and a gorgeous bag to take to the beach - even on the spur of the moment. The beds are the best beds in the world and the open air dining and sumptuous breakfasts are nothing short of stellar. I was in no way disappointed and it was worth every cent. You get what you pay for - there are some decidedly shabby hotels in Hawaii that look good on the website - but don't be enticed. If you want to feel like a star - stay at Trump! It's simply THAT good.

Room Tip: We loved the partial ocean view room!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lolita16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and recently stayed here for our honeymoon in November 2012. Definitely enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it to others. The staff are very friendly, personable and helpful - certainly a standout of the experience. We were upgraded to an ocean view suite (had booked an ocean view room), which had a kitchenette, very large and spacious bathroom, lounge area, desk and queen size bed. The room was very clean and had high quality finishes.

We had drinks and food at the Ocean View Lounge on the lobby level (level 6) which provides great views over the ocean and city skyline - certainly worth a drink over sunset. Conveniently happy hour is 3pm - 6pm (sunsets around 5.45pm). We ordered some "tapas" during happy hour, priced at around $8-12/plate, they were huge! Very good quality food, and massive portions, we didn't need to end up having dinner. As they are currently celebrating their 3rd anniversary for the hotel, they provided guests with a $50 voucher to use at any of their bars and restaurants/room service. You can surprisingly stretch this pretty far during happy hour! We were also greeted with a bottle of sparkling wine and box of Honolulu Cookies as it was our honeymoon - a nice touch.

We paid around $295/night which was good value. The location is fairly good, only a 2 minute walk to beach, or about 7 minute walk to the popular spot on the beach (in front of the royal Hawaiian Hotel). It is located just of Honolulu's Rodeo Drive (Kalakaua Avenue), plenty of shopping and places to eat.

The only thing lacking at this hotel really was the pool area - pretty underwhelming. It features an infinity pool which overlooks the treetops to the ocean, but there is only one very small spa and that's about all it boasts. We stayed at a resort in Maui and coming to Trump the following week we were disappointed by the pool area here (used it only once only because we thought we should try it out). Although it's unfair to compare a hotel to a resort, Trump Tower could have certainly done better here. Having said that, the beach is only moments away which is where you spend most of your time! The hotel provides fancy little beach bags packed with towels, fruit, sunscreen and water - again a nice touch.

We went for dinner at Morimoto while we were staying in Honolulu - the restaurant is located inside "The Modern" hotel, only 15 minute walk from Trump Tower. The Modern has a great pool area - check it out if you happen to be walking by or have dinner there. But they are disadvantages by not being close to the beach (so they need a better pool area).

The concierge service is very helpful and friendly.

Overall:
Don't expect a resort, it's a hotel - but a very good one. If you were a family, I'd probably stay somewhere with a better pool area to entertain the kids. But I think this is great for Solo, Business and Couples. It's a great hotel and worth staying at! Thanks to everyone at Trump Tower for helping us celebrate a great honeymoon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was disappointing to say the least. The issues were primarily with how the staff managed the experience. One evening despite the privacy sign on our door, the staff knocked insistently on our door at 10:30pm to retrieve room service plates (and no, we had not called to request they come get the tray). On another day, they had mistakenly given a new guest a key to our room, walking in on us! That was terribly awkward and ridiculous.
The hotel itself is fine, although it should be noted that the infinity pool and spa are exceptionally small. The concierge were very good and quite helpful, they were the bright spot at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that "ocean view" rooms don't provide views that you may expect, simply due t...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpWaikikiHonolulu, Director of Residence & Public Relations at Trump International Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Aloha and thank you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Please know that it is very important to us to receive guest comments (positive and negative) so that we can understand how best we can assist in creating a fantastic stay for each and every guest. Therefore, feel free to contact us at the following address at your earliest convenience as we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your stay. (Waikiki.Info@trumphotels.com).

Thank you again for your comments – we look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is just another Hotel. The infinity pool was a disappointment. Very small and crowded. Watch out for Ocean View or Ocean Front lingo. The "Ocean View" room was a side view and was surrounded by other high rise hotels. This is a concrete jungle and not a relaxing holiday. The hotel is not on the beach. The beach is across the street and down a block. The good about the Trump is the staff. All of the staff was great but that is normal for most hotels in Waikiki. Definitely not worth 300 to 500 a night.

Room Tip: The hotel is across the street and down a block from the beach and the view of the ocean is a side v...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Candace55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $351 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing