We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I'm coming back & telling friends/family about this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'm coming back & telling friends/family about this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wow. Exceptional service. I will be a returning guest, likely every time I come to Honolulu. You will not regret staying here.

1. Friendly. Everyone greeted us, the front desk remembered us...one gal in particular, Julia, was so sweet to our baby boy. She always greeted us with a smile and warm words.

2. EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE (this should be #1). My husband left his backpack in the cab as we were dropped off at the airport returning to California. Of course I noticed about 5 minutes after the cab had left that the backpack was missing. Luckily we had the cab driver's name...one would think that United Taxi would be able to locate its own cab driver. Nope. Apparently not. Unbelievable. I told my husband to play his wild card and call the Trump. He did. Troy answered the phone. My husband told him what happened, the cab driver's name, & Troy said "oh yeah, I think I know who that is". Again, WOW. Troy got a hold of him, called us back and told us he would be returning to our terminal with our backpack. Now that, people, is SERVICE. Troy could easily have said "I'm sorry, we can't help you"...which most (even the taxi company itself) would do...but that extra step, that extra bit is what sets this hotel apart from others.

3. Hotel itself is immaculate. You can read about the beach bags they hand out, the restaurant(s) service & food (all wonderful), but our room was clean every day even with a 1 year old baby boy running around.

It may not be the cheapest hotel around, but it's actually priced VERY well for what you get. I was very, very pleased. If you have kids, I would suggest going for the 1 BR suite...you have extra room, a washer/dryer, and a full kitchen...all very useful.

It's not on the beach, but it's a short walk back and forth.

Had the Signature massage...I wish I remembered the masseuse's name...she is Japanese, her name starts with a "K"..sorry, not very helpful. I normally NEVER go to hotel spas...I feel like you spend a lot of money and get a very fair massage. This gal did not disappoint. My husband booked it as a surprise for me, and I rate it a 5. Front desk gal was not very friendly, but the massage itself was fantastic. For $250, it better be!

Eggs n Things is a few blocks up from the hotel, very yummy breakfasts. Doraku Sushi in the mall close by also very good...happy hour was really good, and a very good deal. Nico's on Pier 38...try it!

You will not regret staying here. I'd highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    452
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
960
1,003
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Trump was very nice - highly recommended

Pros:

Modern well designed hotel
Spacious rooms
Excellent staff
Checkout was a breeze

Cons:

Pool is small,tiny
Gym while modern is small
Wifi in room isn't fast enough for Skype video call (1mbps max)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungrysumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Trump is awesome! We were greeted with lei flowers a cool drink and personal attention. The room was spectacular and immaculate. It is near the beach but you get taken care of with a beach bag and goodies complimentary to take with you. You drop it off at the end of the day and pick up a fresh one the next day. Also the views of the park are very nice with the ocean in the distance. the pool is small but quiet. Even though you are in Honolulu it is very calm with Aloha spirit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WA_traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

What an excellent hotel! We arrived in Waikiki on our honeymoon. We were greeted warmly and with a Lei and taken to our room on the 21st floor - a 1 br suite. The bathroom was amazing - a wetroom type shower and a deep soaking tub, king size bed that was SO comfortable with an amazing doona and sumptious pillows. We had a partial ocean view, looking towards diamond head. The staff are very focused on how YOU are. We were disappointed that as a honeymoon couple, we were not recognised as such - our travel agent did put this in the booking and suggested we take our wedding certificate as proof for upgrade options and welcome champagne - neither of which we got. However, having been here for a week we realised that it did not matter. We did get Honolulu cookie company biscuits that are yummy, you get a great beach bag daily with 2 pcs fruit, 2 drinks, sunscreen and towels and it is a short walk to the beach. The pool was small and there were lots of people, but as we are so close to the beach, it did not matter. The beach nearby is rocky, going closer to Diamond head you dont get the rocks. We shopped at ABC and ate brekkie at Outrigger (which offers a discount when you go back). Dinner at the hotel (not BLT) was expensive and the meal yummy but small. We hired a car and took advantage of the great Valet service. The valet staff and concierge staff are fantastic. we would definitely stay again! Oh and the room service was twice daily for us, with bottled water!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better - we faced Diamond Head, but if you can face the side the 6th floor lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is what every hotel should aspire to! The staff remember your name, there are all very friendly and the location is excellent for exploring Waikiki. We've been to Oahu many times before and this time decided to stay in a top end resort, we chose the Trump due to the many top reviews the hotel gets and believe me they deserve it.

Our room was a small studio overlooking Beachwalk, we had room number 916. If you get chance to book this room go for it, you can see the water from the balcony and the room is gorgeous, plenty of room and comes equipped with a kitchen so you can cook your own meals if you desire.

Within walking distance are numerous restaurants, so you'll be spoilt for choice.

The pool is not the biggest you've ever seen, but the staff bring around fruit and little nibbles for you as you sit around the pool, all free, they also layout your towels for you and make sure the area is clean and spotless, all done with a smile.

Check in was easy as is check out, we arrived on an early morning Jet Star flight from Sydney, arriving very tired, but that's another review for later. We got to the Trump well before check in time, like 9am in the morning, but the hotel were kind enough to give us a room so we could freshen up and have a sleep and a cup of coffee until our room was ready, free of charge.

Tell me any other hotel that provides that service for you?

One of the best hotels we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe Springs, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at Trump Waikiki from 11/19/12 to 11/22/12. The hotel was beautiful,we were greeted with a nice lei upon arrival. The staff were very cheerful,welcoming and efficient. The lobby area provided a great first impression.We checked out the pool area right away, it was small but really beautiful,very adult. The room was nice,we had a balcony that has a partial ocean view,and a nice view of the embassy suites pool area across the way which was always hustling and bustling. The beach access was just across the street.The concierge provided us with a beach bag loaded with fruit,water,towels and sunscreen. Each time we left our room we came back to a clean room,evem when we used the full kitchen. We will definitely use the Trump brand of hotels for future vacations

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We normally don't stay in high end properties, but Trump had a special that included the fourth night "free" when you stay for three nights. This hotel was a treat. The location was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Our room had a fridge and microwave, which was very handy for snacks from the local 7-eleven and ABC stores. The bar and pool area restaurant wait-staff were very attentive and cordial. The pool size didn't bother us as the ocean is just a short walk away. Our room was very clean and wifi worked well. The only complaint is the small size of our closet (I don't think we have ever had a closet that small in a hotel). A very minor complaint, though. We will stay here again on our next trip to Oahu, probably even if they don't have a room special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I90west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing