We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason why this hotel is No.1 on Tripadvisor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I booked this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed.

From check-in to check-out the service was superb but I would stress that this is a hotel geared for couples and groups of adults, rather than families with young kids.

The design of the pool looks fantastic but is long and thin and not geared up for kids to be splashing around. The space around the pool is also very limited and once again designed for adults to relax rather than for kids to run around.

We stayed in a deluxe ocean view studio on the 20th floor with incredible views (Room 2017), which overlooked the ocean on one side and the mountains on the other. I highly recommended requesting this room or 2117, 2217 or 2317.

The room was tastefully decorated and featured a small living area with a large flat screen TV and also an iPod dock.

When booking, I deliberated whether to upgrade to a one bedroom but the studios are so spacious I'm glad I didn't spend the extra money.

Our balcony provided us with a front row seat for the Friday night fireworks, which was a lovely experience after a long flight from Sydney.

The well equipped kitchen is a fantastic bonus and by stocking up on breakfast things at the ABC store around the corner, we enjoyed breakfast on our balcony each morning and bypassed the expensive room service and cafe crowds.

The king size bed was very comfortable (we named it 'the cloud') and there is a pillow menu if you are not happy with the selection on the bed.

The spacious modern bathroom includes a large shower, deep bath and double sinks.

Even though the hotel is one street back from the beach, it really doesn't make any difference because you have the lovely ocean views from your balcony and the walk to the beach is literally a couple of minutes. When heading to the beach, ask the Concierge for a complimentary Trump beach bag, which includes swimming towels, cold water and fresh fruit - a lovely touch!

We didn't eat at the hotel (although I'm sure it would be excellent) but we did have dinner at Nobu (okay service, great food but expensive - over US$400 for 2 people), which is a 5 min walk from the hotel and Orchid's at the Halekulani Hotel (also a 5 min walk), which was also very nice. We also had dinner at Dukes (a Waikiki institution), which was a lot of fun. The hotel is more than happy to make bookings and we had fantastic tables at all 3 restaurants.

Depending on how long you are going to be staying in Waikiki, I would recommend hiring a car for a couple of days and driving to Pearl Habour and then onto the Waikele Premium Factory Outlets (15 min drive on from Pearl Harbour) and then on the second day head up to the North Shore (and the famous Sunset Beach aka Pipeline). We hired a convertible Mustang through www.discounthawaiicarrental.com, which was great fun!

After our time in Waikiki, we headed over to Maui for a week and only wish Trump would open a hotel on that island, as they are crying out for a luxury, small leading hotel in the Lahaina area.

Thank you to the team at Trump for making our holiday so enjoyable and for also making our 10th Anniversary so memorable (the sparkling wine was greatly appreciated!).

We highly recommend this hotel - especially for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a studio room on a high floor (20 or above) and with a 17 in the room number (this will ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andreadarling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,781 of 2,908 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very comfy beds. Not very romantic though, there are better hotels for visiting couples.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaWalker1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nothing bad to say about this hotel to the meet and greet, checking in or out etc. The room had everything you need and the bathrooms are a great size. the pool area was really nice and quiet although the pool is not huge. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to have an apartment style room but all the amentities of a 5 star hotel and a nice quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnPerthAustralia_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My friends and I decided to splurge for our birthdays and spent 10 days at the Trump in late July in a 2 bed + den partial ocean view suite.

Check- in: We arrived at 11 am and were greeted warmly by the head porter and his team and escorted to the lobby on the 6th flr. The staff were very welcoming with leis and coconut infused water while we checked in. As we'd requested an early check in we were happy to wait 20 minutes in the outdoor bar area while our suite was prepared.

Suite: our rooms ( 2 bed plus den) were on the 24th flr with a partial ocean view/city view. Immediate impression of the suite was of spaciousness and cleanliness. Great fully stocked kitchen along with dining table and chairs. The lounge consisted of a large couch and armchairs and large flatscreen tv and coffee table and was adjacent to the main balcony (lanai). The den was a small alcove separated from the lounge area by the dining table and chairs and consisted of a large couch (that doubled as a fold out bed) and a chest of drawers. The main bedroom had a separate toilet, walk in robe, and large shower with a separate huge bath tub. The second bedroom was smaller but offered a private balcony (lanai) and a decent sized bathroom (shower only and toilet). Off the entrance was the laundry (washer and dryer) and third bathroom consisting of a shower and toilet. This was the smallest bathroom but still a good size. All bathrooms were stocked with the Spa at Trump branded toiletries including body wash, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, scrub, shower cap, mouthwash and facial soap. These toiletries were excellent quality.

The beds were sooooo comfortable with fresh crisp white linen sheets and great pillows. We utilised the fold out couch in the den and this too was comfortable (not as comfortable and soft as the bed, but definitely better than the standard fold out experience). We liked the nightly turn down service and the attention the housekeeping staff took to lay out the robes and slippers and prepare our beds. We found every day that either bottles of water or chocolates were left in our suite by housekeeping which offered a nice touch.
We also appreciated the very nice bottle of complimentary champagne left in our suite as a birthday gift from management.

Service: overall we found the service to be excellent, in particular the concierge and the staff at the Wai'olu ocean view lounge restaurant on the 6th floor. We dined there a couple of times and really took a liking to the mai tais! Michael and Christopher were great wait staff and provided us with lots of suggestions about sights and attractions to check out during our stay. Happy hour is from 4-6 pm daily and although the mai tais aren't included in happy hour prices, there is an excellent vodka cocktail to enjoy instead called Stars on the Water. Mmmmm.

Restaurants: we had dinner at both the Wai'olu ocean view lounge and the BLT on the ground floor. Food and service at both were excellent. We were given a complimentary birthday dessert at the Wai'olu when the wait staff heard we were celebrating our birthdays.

Facilities: we used the gym a few times which had treadmills, bikes and free weights together with a couple of weight machines. There are headphones available to use with the treadmills and bikes and filtered water. The gym is quite small though (only 2 bikes) and could get crowded.

Other: the only downside of staying in our beautiful suite was the daily battle to open the sliding door to the main balcony off the lounge area. This was a heavy glass door that took some effort to open and close each time.
Another issue came when one of my friends, sleeping in the second bedroom, wanted to sleep with her balcony door open so she could enjoy the sound of the surf. However as we found out the next morning, if either balcony door is left open, the airconditioning for the entire suite switches off, and we had to get housekeeping to get it working again. The evening turn down service was inconsistent and a couple of times we had to call to ask for this service.
Also the pool size - as noted by other reviewers- is very small. Its a beautiful infinity pool on the 6th floor but the small size means it gets crowded very quickly.

Location: the beach is a very quick walk from the Trump, less than 5 minutes. We found the location perfect as it was near the beach and main shopping area. Around the corner is an ABC store to stock up on food and drink. We jumped in a cab to the Ala Moana shopping center to get most of our groceries at the supermarket there. We felt very safe and comfortable walking to and from the Trump late at night as the area is well lit and populated.

Suggestions: grab the beach bags (available from the concierge desk on the ground floor) when heading to the beach. The bags come with towels, fruit and bottled water.
We emailed the Trump prior to arriving to request some advice about activities and restaurants and were sent a detailed list of suggestions which came in handy when planning what to do each day. We also spoke with the concierge who made all our bookings for us and offered more ideas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the 23rd floor up to minimise the noise from the street level and maximise your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emm3cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We travel frequently and have stayed in many hotels in Honolulu and the Trump is the best. The room (3 bedroom) was beautiful with beautiful bathrooms and the most comfortable beds ever (and I mean EVER). Even though the rooms were large, clean, and high-end, the service was even better. The people who work here, without exception are genuinely nice. They go out of their way to help. The complementary beach bags they provide daily are invaluable. Yes it costs 28 dollars to park ...but the valet service is great and saves time and work. If parking is ever worth 28 dollars a day then it is here. We had my whole family (three daughters and sons-in-law) with us and everyone was impressed and would return in a heartbeat. Having been there, I can think of no other place to stay in Honolulu than at the Trump International. Other guests on this site have talked about noise ...never heard another soul (stayed 5 nights). Also other guests have complained about the wireless internet being slow...are you kidding me...it was excellent. The walk to the beach was extremely short. Some construction across the street but starts after 9 and ends by 5. But again the staff are the stars at this all-star property. Stay here once...it won't be your last.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solascmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were in a 1 Bed + den suite on the 25th floor and it was amazing. Among the best we've stayed in. Built-in SubZero fridge, Wolf range and microwave, Bosch dishwasher and washer/dryer. Two ocean-view balconies.

The common facilities are minimal but the location (for an off-beach hotel) is very good. The staff was exceptional.

If you arrive early and need to kill some time, try our old favorite restaurant - The Shore Bird in the Outrigger Reef immediately across the street on the beach. It's a casual, open air, beach front restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trvlr575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in an apartment and enjoyed both the service, the clean environment, the excellent views from the two balconies we had. When you take the elevator down you are in the midst of restaurant and shopping sidewalk happening, and the Waikiki beach is steps away. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dikla_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,568 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,122 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $326 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing