We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Pho Old Saigon

Pho Old Saigon
Ranked #375 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The food was really good, but the service was lacking. If you have been to Asia at all, it was the same kind of service. Very authentic and good food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank samjam801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    109
    55
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cong Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Like others have reviewed.. this place is one step above serving your family dog. I do not trust the cleanliness of the place that can not keep toilet clean. They use MSG and don't care if you no likey... no washy... how did they get license and who is behind the rental space.. it is below a tranny bar and the whole corner should be demolished and redeveloped as it is prime space. Yes go to Marukame Udon.. or a Vietnamese restaurant that does not use brain killing MSG. Don't go to the place next door either.. it is mom and pop and grandma Chinese that if you look in kitchen you will know what I mean..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamakanuiahailono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the service”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Phone old Saigon seems to be a mom and pop restaurant. It's not a big place, but was pretty busy. I ordered the curry chicken with vegetables (#59 on the menu).

Basically a bowl of curry sauce with chicken and mixed vegetables. The yellow curry sauce is excellent, and they give you a nice amount of chicken and vegetables mixed in.
My only disappointment was the service.

After ordering my dish I had to ask for water and you only get one napkin. I asked 3 different waiters for for extra napkins and water, and none of them came back with one; finally one of them came back with some water and one extra napkin.

I would still go back for food, but I would lower my expectations in what to expect in service.

Helpful?
Thank megsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Best springrolls!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The fresh springrolls here are great! As good as you get them in Vietnam. We have eaten here twice and both times the meals were very good and the portions are big!
We had no problems with the service at all. It's all about the food. It is quite a busy place, but you don't have to wait too long to get a table. They have seating upstairs as well. It is a basic place, but again it's the food that makes this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent PHO for High Price, Washroom at back was bad”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My first day in Hawaii, just happened to be a block from the Hotel;
$12 for a bowl of PHO,I am used to pay about $8. Ya I know its Waikiki everything is costly.
had to get a key to Bathroom at back, it was scary and dark; smelled bad.
Honestly if I known now, should have have gone to Marukame Udon the next block- 2310 Kuhio Ave. and waited in the line up.
cheers,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Old Saigon also viewed

 
 

Been to Pho Old Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing