We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother...definitely not worth the money”

Waikiki Starlight Luau
Ranked #10 of 33 Concerts & Shows in Honolulu
Attraction details
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother...definitely not worth the money”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's the worst Luau we've ever seen. Waiting time is too long. Long line to get to the show and then waitingtime again for the food and the real Luau show. The service is terrible. The dinner show is awful. Foods are bad and the drinks are cheap (water down). Again, don't bother! Not worth $100 per person.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosejingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    56
    61
    35
    42
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. I thought we should do a beachside luau, but ended up doing this luau because it was convenient. We were already staying at the HHV. The stage is three sided, so even though we did not pay for the premium seating, we were only two tables away from the stage. Glad we did not pay extra as it would have made only a minor difference. The food was plentiful and better than we expected. I can't say whether it was authentic or not, but there was filet, kaluha pig, chicken, fish, futomaki, and many side dishes. Once the show started though, even though the buffet stayed open, it was not really convenient to get more food. The hula dancings and "journey" themes were expectedly touristy and cheesy but enjoyable. The fire sticks were impressive. Overall, we enjoyed the luau. HINT: they tell you to meet at the wedding chapel and be escorted to the rooftop luau, but if you make your own way to the luau and wait at the door, you can be seated before the crowd.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EBMDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Worst Luau”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This Luau was a disappointment. Paying $100 per person was not worth for a dinner show. IT WAS the WORST show ever. First you go in line to take your sit. (A long line.) As soon as we sat down we had to wait for our drinks. Service was bad. Alcohol was water down. The food was not ready until 1 1/2 hr of waiting. The real show was so slow with bands singing. Finally, the buffet was ready after waiting and then we had to go in line again to get our food. Food is bad. Then the real show still has not started. After dinner ,there's finally 1 show, and then a show to sell the outfits....2 hrs has gone by the real show was still not happening. It was so bad we had to leave.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank argielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luau not what I expected”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I expected the Luau to be beach side and more authentic. It was a real disappointment. The food was average as best and definitely not that authentic. The dancers were good and the fire knife show was worth seeing but all the other actitives were pretty cheesy. Plus where we had to meet and then be lead to the roof top of the convention center was pretty lame.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not worth paying $99”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I went to Waikiki Starlight Luau with my family after receiving free tickets for attending Hilton Vacation Club orientation. Food was just ok, but disappointed that some of the mentioned food in the brochure were missing. The best part was Samoan fire dance. For us overall experience was ok as we didn't pay for anything. We would definitely not pay $99 p/p for this luau.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank akm193Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki Starlight Luau also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki Starlight Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing