We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Watch out for the time share sales pitch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Watch out for the time share sales pitch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, well presented and very nice staff.
We spent four nights and were greeted with an invitation to visit the concierge for a welcome gift. This was reinforced with a note put under our door. On visiting the concierge, mainly to book a couple if tours, we were told we could get $125 off the cost; all we had to do was to spend 90 minutes with the Wyndam Time Share team for a presentation. Silly us of course this turned into a 2 hour, one on one, sales session. The reality of this was that we effectively lost half a day of R&R. We did not buy. Maybe we should have paid the $125 and gained some more "us" time.
Other than that the place was excellent. But we will be better armed next time to avoid the sales pitch.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swampykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    195
    52
    17
    24
See reviews for
80
237
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

First, I must comment on the impeccable service of this resort. From the front desk staff, to the valet personnel, to the janitor on the elevator, to the precautionary letter from the resort manager advising of an impending tropical storm, we were treated like royalty. I would like to commend two of the valets in particular: Sheldon and Mark.

We entered a stunning, beautifully decorated lobby with marble floors and chandeliers. We walked into a spacious—yes, spacious--tastefully decorated studio on the 8th floor. I have very high standards of cleanliness, and the room was immaculate. It included a comfortable king-size bed, a kitchen with microwave and refrigerator, a dining table for two, and a bathroom with massage head, extra towel racks and storage space. The lanai was very pleasant with a view of the city, canal, mountains, and even the ocean if you peeked around the corner. Our room was “refreshed” once during our stay. Some other great features were a fitness center, business center, Zen garden, game room, complimentary newspapers and wireless internet, laundry with free detergent and dryer sheets, three elevators, and, of course, a swimming pool. Everything was well maintained.

We were approached with the standard timeshare pitch but stood firm and were not contacted again after the first day. Parking was expensive at $30 a day. The resort could use more ice machines, as only two were available (if both are working). Another easy chair in the room would be a nice addition as well. If not venturing beyond Waikiki, consider walking everywhere or taking the bus or trolley. It seemed like we were close to everything, including the beach.

We really enjoyed the Royal Garden at Waikiki and always looked forward to returning to our room following our activities. As a matter of fact, we look forward to returning to the resort on our next vacation to Honolulu!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NWArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaroo, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel was a 20 minute walk from Waikiki and its attractions. It was down a side-street with limited view (back of another hotel from our room) and hence we deducted a star. However, the room was good- comfortable and well maintained. The addition of a fridge and microwave was a real boom. The free, and flowing, coffee, pop-corn, laundry powder and towels was a bonus. The staff were friendly and helpful- nothing was too much trouble. Overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom_Upton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family of 6 stayed here in 2 different rooms. We really liked the hotel. We stayed in the Wyndham at Waikiki Beach Walk the first week of our trip and stayed in this hotel the second week since we weren't able to get rooms for the whole time at the same hotel.

While we really liked the Wyndham Waikiki, this hotel is newer and a little nicer. The rooms are bigger as well. The only drawback is that it's a little far from the beach. The hotel is located near the canal side of Waikiki, about a 15-20 minute walk from the beach. We didn't mind it so much since we had already spent time at the beach the first week.

Overall, this is a great hotel. While it wouldn't be my first choice to stay in Waikiki, we really liked it. No complaints. Amazing rooms and great hotel staff!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for great views of Honolulu and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucky_3_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed in summer 2012. This place is quiet, far from touristic crowds of Waikiki. It's about 20 minute walk from the beach. I liked the portion of the beach where Hilton is. Lots of good places to eat are near the hotel. My room was clean, with fully equipped kitchen, and with the balcony with a nice view of the city, not the ocean. Customer service is exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KOE-KTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here only one night, as we rented a home on the beach for a week. We had a 2 bedroom/2bth presidential with full kitchen & laundry. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised at how gorgeous it was! Very tastefully decorated & tons of room! Upscale furnishings, comfy beds & the master bath was huge. Nice ocean/city views from living/kitchen/bedroom areas. We were somewhat disappointed that the spare room had a king bed; would've rather had two twins for teens. Staff was very friendly & helpful. There is a valet charge of $30 a day (yikes) but parking in Waikiki is awful so I guess that's why. Location wasn't the best, but we walked downtown in no time & the beach didn't seem that far. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Presidential suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandrakintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Royal Garden was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a studio. It was very clean and comfortable. It was nice to have a small kitchen in the room. It was about a half mile walk from the beach, shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GKMosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing