We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lumberton, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here only one night, as we rented a home on the beach for a week. We had a 2 bedroom/2bth presidential with full kitchen & laundry. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised at how gorgeous it was! Very tastefully decorated & tons of room! Upscale furnishings, comfy beds & the master bath was huge. Nice ocean/city views from living/kitchen/bedroom areas. We were somewhat disappointed that the spare room had a king bed; would've rather had two twins for teens. Staff was very friendly & helpful. There is a valet charge of $30 a day (yikes) but parking in Waikiki is awful so I guess that's why. Location wasn't the best, but we walked downtown in no time & the beach didn't seem that far. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Presidential suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandrakintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    181
    47
    17
    24
See reviews for
72
227
31
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Royal Garden was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a studio. It was very clean and comfortable. It was nice to have a small kitchen in the room. It was about a half mile walk from the beach, shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GKMosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Royal Garden is a Wyndham Timeshare, however it really is a hotel without the timeshare amenities. The rooms are well appointed (recently refurbished) with comfortable beds. They all have a microwave and a small refrigerator. Bathrooms are small but OK. The location is on the canal side of Waikiki and about a twenty minute walk to the beach. If touring and sightseeing is your goal the Royal Garden is fine. If you are looking for the beach scene you will be sadly disappointed. The doormen are wonderful as are the Expedia girls. Vits, on the corner, is a great place for breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner. Good prices and food. Ask for Wendy at breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side actually have a balcony and if you are lucky you can see Diamondhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thunder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Even though this was a timeshare stay for us, it felt like an upscale hotel. Renovated rooms, very clean, and quiet for the most part (heard a party going on above us one night). Very nice staff. One tip is that you can park on the street overnight on certain nights for free. Otherwise you can valet park for a fee on site. Close to bus stations and about 20 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scarter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pictures on-line do not do justice to this fine property. As much as I hate my timeshare, Wyndam has wonderful hotel. You walk in the doors and; the staff is very friendly, the lobby is great, and the room are nice. We rented a Studio and 1-bedroom and both rooms are fully equiped. I rate the 'value' as average because it's a timeshare.

Room Tip: 1-Bedroom Presidential Suite, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank p f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Royal Garden and had a lovely time. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the grounds are clean and well kept. The only down side is the location. A little ways from many of the shops and in amongst some seedy buildings. But all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was very nice. We had a small kitchenette (microwave, fridge, coffee pot, sink, dishes) which was nice. We would pick up groceries from the ABC store and stored them in our fridge. We really only ever bought breakfast food because you couldn't really cook anything. The only reason I can't give this place a 5 star rating is because it lacked a restaurant and valet parking was a little costly. We ended up not using the car as much as we thought we would because the hotel is relatively close to shops and restaurants. We just found it easier to walk to most places. With that said the people working the valet were VERY nice. We loved that we could book excursions through our hotel too. They were very helpful -- we just wish we could have had room service which would have been nice on our honeymoon. We were gifted our stay (minus timeshare transfer fee) so we can't complain much! Definitely was an amazing deal for us! Next time we'd want to stay closer to the beach or outside of the city where it's more open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuperDuperBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,371 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing