We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
627 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our 3 week trip to the islands. I was able to get a discount price on the room thru another website and was very satisfied with our stay. The rooms were fairly spacious, very clean and had a great balcony on which to sit and have a glass of wine at the end of a long day. The small kitchenette was a plus. I always try to reserve rooms with a small refrigerator. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. Every single one of the that we had any dealings with at all were unfailing friendly, helpful & knowledgable. This friendliness extends to the valet that handled our car to the front desk to the concierge desk. We booked both a Pearl Harbor tour and a submarine tour with their excellent help. I would definitely stay at this hotel again - especially if I can get another discounted rate!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    216
    56
    20
    25
See reviews for
94
258
39
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great stay at Royal Garden. The room was very clean and modern. Although it is not as close to the beach but it's only a few blocks away. A little walk to everything. The valet parking is a little high compare to the other hotels. Staff were nice and friendly. Bed was very comfy and
massage shower heads were relaxing. We used our timeshare points so don't know how the price comparison would be. I will go back to Royal Garden again at anytime. But I have to book it way in advance since it is a very popular place for vacationers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mhyrriam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean - all the staff is very nice. It had a complete kitchenette, but the downside is that there really are no grocery stores nearby that we found. There are a ton of convenience stores. There are WalMarts, etc., but not that we found in walking distance (so, could have been, we just didn't find it!) We are East Coasters, so were wide awake at 2 am with the time change - it would have been nice if the gym were open 24 hours. It opened at 7 am and closed at 10 or 11 pm. There is a nice, free laundry with 10 or 12 machines. I was aware of this from reading other reviewers, so took the Tide pods with me on vacation, and did all our laundry the morning before we came home. That was great!! Business center was nice - 3 computers to use with printers There is no restaurant on site. You will be offered to go to Wyndham's time share presentation - we went early in the AM since we were up and received $100 & free breakfast buffet at the Shorebird - so we put the gift card towards a nice dinner at Duke's & the breakfast buffet was awesome. Easy walk to the beach, helps work off those dinners! Nice little pub on the way back - Bamboozle that had great drink specials until 8 pm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jada_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff was amazing. They were super helpful with all our needs. I would definitely stay at this location again. This location is not right by the beach rather it is closer to the lake side. The hotel is clean and the price/night is certainly reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TripDoc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very clean, which is most important to me! We stayed in a studio with a kitchenette, which is nice to make small meals like breakfast. Walking distance to the beach and all of Waikiki. My two gripes are: 1. parking is $30 per night, even though booking websites advertise it as $25 per night (which is insane anyway) 2. the street noise is quite excessive, especially when the trash is picked up daily and when large vans and trucks are backing up in front of the hotel at ungodly hours like 4am, this happens A LOT. We were on the 11th floor and we were definitely disturbed by it.

*TIP: if you end up staying here park on Ala Wei next to the canal for free but, read the signs about street cleaning and move your car to avoid being towed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chois87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The title that came up when I searched for this hotel was "Wyndham Vacation Resorts Royal Garden at Waikiki." It's not exactly a resort...but definitely a nice hotel. Off the main strip in Waikiki, it's pretty quiet and has ammenities such as a microwave, fridge, business center, laundry room, gym, and pool. I didn't get to see the pool as we spent most of our time at the beach, but it looked to be pretty small. Convenient location- walking distance to the main strip in Waikiki and about a 1/2 mile walk to Waikiki beach (not a far walk at all).

I'm not sure if this is the Hotel's fault or Hotwire's fault, but the hotel did oversell their rooms, which caused a huge headache for me and the bf. I booked through Hotire and received an email just as I landed that my hotel (booked through hotwire) would not accept our reservation and to call 1-866-430-4981, but the person didn't know anything about the situation and transferred me. I got transferred about 3-4 times before someone finally understood the situation and started to look for a new hotel for us. There was only a place that was about $2000 a night, per the rep, and so they were able to negotiate with our original hotel to accept our reservation.

I spent about perhaps an hour, if not more- most of it on hold, trying to figure things out. It was extremely frustrating, confusing, and to top it off, I had just gotten off the plane and hadn't eaten since 3am Arizona time (it was about 12:30pm HI time). It would have been nice if we were alerted at least 24 hours in advance to deal with the situation then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank poohmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We only had a studio during our stay, and since we didn't spend a lot of time in it, it was adequate. The room itself was about the size of a hotel room with the kitchen area making it a little bigger. The bed was super hard & made getting a good night sleep very difficult. (unless you like super-firm beds). We stayed on the 9th floor & it was very noisy. There were sirens at all hours, loud motorcycles, etc... We talked to other guests & it seems the higher your floor, the less you'll be bothered by the noise. The view at night time is beautiful from the balcony. The building itself is very nice, with a lot of amenities. There is a computer room, laundry room (free), exercise room, etc... The beach is about a 10 minute walk, if that, & shops & restaurants are all within walking distance. The best thing this place has going for it is the staff. Awesome people! They were all so friendly & always went out of their way to help us & make us feel welcome. Even if everything else had been negative, the staff would have more than made up for it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less outside noise & rooms on the North side would probably be quieter, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rannydef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
473 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing