We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean and Modern Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Clean and Modern Room”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The studio that we rented was very clean with newer furnishings and a firm but comfortable bed. There was a small safe, good locks on doors, a sink, small frig, microwave, dishes, glasses, and silverware (no stove). The lobby and grounds were very nice. We were on the 7th floor and at night we could see the lights of passing ships in the ocean. My only complaint on the the room was the lack of a door seal on the bottom of the entry door that allowed me to hear people in the hall.

The area around the Hotel is not the nicest - some of the apartments, houses, and buildings were sketchy looking. The pool while very nice had an open fence to the street and one of the ugly apartment buildings walkway was directly above the pool. We never felt unsafe in the area around the hotel it is just that I could not imagine hanging out at the pool in the summer.

It was a very short walk to the International Market Place and the wide part of the beach was accessable through Fort DeRussy Park. I am told that we were in the "quiet" part of Waikiki.
Overall a great bargin - much nicer than we expected for the price: especially during Pro-Bowl.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    216
    56
    20
    25
See reviews for
94
257
39
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A part of the Wyndam timeshare group, this property surpassed my expectations. I loved being on the quiet part of Waikiki with the Alawai canal across the street, which is also a great place to walk. The staff is unsurpassed in their "Aloha spirit" and they couldn't do enough for us. If renting a car, their valet service is $25, which is a bargain compared to San Francisco ($50 plus).
It is convenient to the freeway and walking to Waikiki. Also it is just minutes (by car) to Ala Moana Shopping center, Gulick's Deli (fabulous & cheap Asian take out food) and Don Quijote (Japanese version of Walmart for low priced souvenirs that are almost double the price on Waikiki, groceries, deli).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomboTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Previously, we stayed at the Beach Walk Resort and were disappointed that we couldn't get into the resort this time; however, we found the Royal Garden Waikiki even better. Our room was beautifully decorated, efficient and clean. Everything was within walking distance and when we chose to take public transportation, we were guided to conveniently located bus stops. The staff, from the front desk, activities director, baggage handlers and cleaning staff were polite, friendly, professional and accommodating. We found no problems with security and felt safe, even when returning to the resort at night. Even when check-out time left us with lots of time before our flight home, our baggage was stored and we were able to use the comfortable and accommodating media/hospitality center to wait for our shuttle to the airport. All in all, a very pleasant experience. Our only regret would be choosing to do an "owners' update," which was the typical sales pitch; however, we did receive a "reward" of $100, which we used to do our Heroes-Pearl Harbor tour (well worth the money!).

Room Tip: For our short 5 day stay, the studio was more than sufficient in meeting our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very good hotel, in relative proximity to the beach. Nice restaurant.
Staff is nice, and pool section is fabulous. Parking also available. Centre is walking distance.
Impressive lobby.
Would come back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZGtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room was modern &  clean, with mini kitchen, microwave, flat screen tv & floor to ceiling windows & balcony. Only con was once the curtains are drawn there is no inner 'see thru' curtain for privacy amoungst all the surrounding appartments & hotels. Self use laundry  is free ( only have to spend on laundry  powder or bring your own), media room includes couch in addition to usual computer seating.
Staff always friendly & regularly greeted guests coming & going from hotel, so had that personal touch.
Location is not on a main street so its low key yet only 1/2 block a way from busier streets such as Kuhio. Would recommend for those staying long term / wanting more of a  ' at home  appartment' feel than impersonal hotel. This is not one of those  shabby hotels you pay high prices 'cos of its waikiki location. This is a modern & decent hotel.  Stayed 7 nights & got great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Royal Garden is a beautiful hotel that completely exceeded my expectations when I stayed there for 6 nights Dec 2012.

Rooms were recently renovated,huge and spacious with sink, microwave, fridge, utensils, safe etc. Bathroom had a decent sized bathtub and was very clean (room too!) No problems with security at all, our balcony door could be locked securely. No super amazing view from our room, but it was ok because we were out most of the time! They also had free washers and dryers including complementary detergent and dryer sheets that can be obtained from the front desk which we definitely appreciated! There is also a small fitness center and a very nice media room with complementary computers with internet access to use!

Front desk staff and bell boys were super friendly, always with a smile on their faces and ready to help out with anything.

Location was about a ten minute walk from the beach, not in the center of all the action but close by enough that its no problem at all. We walked home late most of the nights and didn't feel unsafe at all.

Overall, a very nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to the Waikiki area again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j0yce90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a beautiful and elegant resort. We came in late at night and checked into one of the private condo units with Security. Everything was explained in detail and he even walked us around the property showing us where all of the amenities were. The unit we stayed in was nice and spacious and well equipped. The staff was great and always greeted my friends and I with ALOHA everyday. They were always willing to assist us with directions, places to eat, clubs, etc. The free laundry facility was a bonus since my friends and I don't pack too much clothes on trips. The fitness center was perfect and had everything we needed. Saved us money from buying a months pass at 24 hour fitness. The pool area was nicely landscaped and very peaceful and the barbecue grills were a plus. Even though we were not in the heart of Waikiki or next to the beach, it was cool to be away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk from the resort. We plan on returning next year and will definitely stay here again.


D. Oda

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank D_Oda1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
438 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing