We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounding area looks seedy but hotel is great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surrounding area looks seedy but hotel is great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room was modern &  clean, with mini kitchen, microwave, flat screen tv & floor to ceiling windows & balcony. Only con was once the curtains are drawn there is no inner 'see thru' curtain for privacy amoungst all the surrounding appartments & hotels. Self use laundry  is free ( only have to spend on laundry  powder or bring your own), media room includes couch in addition to usual computer seating.
Staff always friendly & regularly greeted guests coming & going from hotel, so had that personal touch.
Location is not on a main street so its low key yet only 1/2 block a way from busier streets such as Kuhio. Would recommend for those staying long term / wanting more of a  ' at home  appartment' feel than impersonal hotel. This is not one of those  shabby hotels you pay high prices 'cos of its waikiki location. This is a modern & decent hotel.  Stayed 7 nights & got great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    175
    46
    17
    24
See reviews for
70
219
30
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Royal Garden is a beautiful hotel that completely exceeded my expectations when I stayed there for 6 nights Dec 2012.

Rooms were recently renovated,huge and spacious with sink, microwave, fridge, utensils, safe etc. Bathroom had a decent sized bathtub and was very clean (room too!) No problems with security at all, our balcony door could be locked securely. No super amazing view from our room, but it was ok because we were out most of the time! They also had free washers and dryers including complementary detergent and dryer sheets that can be obtained from the front desk which we definitely appreciated! There is also a small fitness center and a very nice media room with complementary computers with internet access to use!

Front desk staff and bell boys were super friendly, always with a smile on their faces and ready to help out with anything.

Location was about a ten minute walk from the beach, not in the center of all the action but close by enough that its no problem at all. We walked home late most of the nights and didn't feel unsafe at all.

Overall, a very nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to the Waikiki area again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j0yce90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a beautiful and elegant resort. We came in late at night and checked into one of the private condo units with Security. Everything was explained in detail and he even walked us around the property showing us where all of the amenities were. The unit we stayed in was nice and spacious and well equipped. The staff was great and always greeted my friends and I with ALOHA everyday. They were always willing to assist us with directions, places to eat, clubs, etc. The free laundry facility was a bonus since my friends and I don't pack too much clothes on trips. The fitness center was perfect and had everything we needed. Saved us money from buying a months pass at 24 hour fitness. The pool area was nicely landscaped and very peaceful and the barbecue grills were a plus. Even though we were not in the heart of Waikiki or next to the beach, it was cool to be away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk from the resort. We plan on returning next year and will definitely stay here again.


D. Oda

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank D_Oda1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I should start by saying that Aaron at the front desk was so nice. He has a lot of energy and is ready to help any way he can. We stayed in 1512 it was a corner unit with a pretty good view. We had a view of the mountains to the right and if you looked between a couple of buildings you could see Waikiki beach. There is not a lot of drawer space, so keep that in mind. I left some things in my suitcase so they needed to be ironed. The iron leaked all over, I called the desk and they had housekeeping bring me a new one in about 5 minutes. They do not have a hot tub at this location which I was a little disappointed about after an 8 hour flight. All in all it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzjamszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We really liked the location of this resort. It is away from the crowd yet only a few minutes walk to all the shops and restaurants. The $25 parking fee seems high for the area. We had a studio which is adequate for our travel needs. The free Wi-fi is nice. There is also a media room with three PCs. We printed our boarding passes before we checked out. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I couldn't get the Wyndham by the beach so I had to settle for this location and at the end, it was okay.
The staff is excellent... they open the door everytime we walk up and say "Welcome Back!" Front desk is helpful and the Concierge, even though they try to get you to one of the presentations, are not pushy and willing to give you directions. Only maid service on Wednesdays... which was a bummer... and they do not do dishes. Speaking of dishes... only two of each and no range in the room. It says "suite" but it's the size of a regular room... small area for the fridge, sink, toaster, microwave and coffee maker.
Loved the balcony! the sunrise is beautiful then it gets too bright to be out there... our scenery was very nice with the tall buildings in front, the canal with the mountains on the left and the ocean a distant right side. The NOISE IS BAD! You are in downtown! I was on the 9th floor and the honking, electric saws, motorcycle racing, back up beeping from the trucks, sirens, etc woke me up several times even with the balcony door closed!
You are a few minutes from the bus stops, shops, ABC Store, Vit's Steakhouse (good cheap breakfast and happy hour drinks) and BEACH! Love being close to everything.
No restaurant nor bar in the hotel... they give you coffee at the front desk and there is always cold water when you return.
Safe in the closet... some drawer space and hangers for your clothes. Bathroom is small and a little dark but full mirror by the front door so you can see what you look like before you leave the room. This hotel is only 2 years old (renovated) so it's pretty modern and the furniture is nice... Lobby has chandeliers and nice art frescoes on the ceiling. Small pool, sauna room but no hot tub... Everything is very neat and clean... A-1 for cleanliness!
I would come back and request a room on a higher floor. Aloha!

Room Tip: Request higher floor... the higher the better to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we jumped over from Maui , i wasnt impressed with location ,however rooms are immaculate , media room top notch , small workout room but adequate, laundry . it was close and easy to walk for shopping purpose. staff was fantastic. if i were to return to this area again i would stay with no hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing