We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet location but close to actions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
LA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Quiet location but close to actions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We really liked the location of this resort. It is away from the crowd yet only a few minutes walk to all the shops and restaurants. The $25 parking fee seems high for the area. We had a studio which is adequate for our travel needs. The free Wi-fi is nice. There is also a media room with three PCs. We printed our boarding passes before we checked out. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    181
    47
    17
    24
See reviews for
72
227
31
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I couldn't get the Wyndham by the beach so I had to settle for this location and at the end, it was okay.
The staff is excellent... they open the door everytime we walk up and say "Welcome Back!" Front desk is helpful and the Concierge, even though they try to get you to one of the presentations, are not pushy and willing to give you directions. Only maid service on Wednesdays... which was a bummer... and they do not do dishes. Speaking of dishes... only two of each and no range in the room. It says "suite" but it's the size of a regular room... small area for the fridge, sink, toaster, microwave and coffee maker.
Loved the balcony! the sunrise is beautiful then it gets too bright to be out there... our scenery was very nice with the tall buildings in front, the canal with the mountains on the left and the ocean a distant right side. The NOISE IS BAD! You are in downtown! I was on the 9th floor and the honking, electric saws, motorcycle racing, back up beeping from the trucks, sirens, etc woke me up several times even with the balcony door closed!
You are a few minutes from the bus stops, shops, ABC Store, Vit's Steakhouse (good cheap breakfast and happy hour drinks) and BEACH! Love being close to everything.
No restaurant nor bar in the hotel... they give you coffee at the front desk and there is always cold water when you return.
Safe in the closet... some drawer space and hangers for your clothes. Bathroom is small and a little dark but full mirror by the front door so you can see what you look like before you leave the room. This hotel is only 2 years old (renovated) so it's pretty modern and the furniture is nice... Lobby has chandeliers and nice art frescoes on the ceiling. Small pool, sauna room but no hot tub... Everything is very neat and clean... A-1 for cleanliness!
I would come back and request a room on a higher floor. Aloha!

Room Tip: Request higher floor... the higher the better to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we jumped over from Maui , i wasnt impressed with location ,however rooms are immaculate , media room top notch , small workout room but adequate, laundry . it was close and easy to walk for shopping purpose. staff was fantastic. if i were to return to this area again i would stay with no hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Gardens during the second week of our honeymoon in Hawaii. We had just stayed at a pretty lack-luster resort through RCI in Kauai, so our expectations were pretty low. The Royal Gardens has clearly been renovated - the lobby is really nice and the rooms were also well done. Everything was really clean and up to date and the front desk was pretty helpful.

A few dings: the timeshare folks downstairs were mildly aggressive. On our first morning in the hotel, we even had a gal call our room at 8am to ask if we'd want to join a timeshare sales meeting. Uh, no? Especially if you call me at 8am on vacation. Pretty inconsiderate. Also, the hotel has a pool - but no hot tub. Kind of a bummer - since you really don't need a pool given the beach is a 10 minute walk away.

The location of this hotel is pretty great - just a few minutes from the main street in Waikiki - we could pretty much walk everywhere. We did rent a car for two days to visit other parts of the island and that seemed totally sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank csnyder513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is now owned by Wyndham and is a timeshare property. It is in a fabulous location between the Ala Wai canal and Waikiki Beach. It's close to the Hale Koa (for the military and DoD personnel) and is in walking distance to the shops, restaurants, everything. The staff is so graceous and professional and the rooms are spacious, modern, and very clean. We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed every moment. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the front of the building. These rooms have the larger balconies and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I cannot complain anything about this resort. It's walking distance to the busy street of Kalakaua ave. but it's located in a quiet part of Waikiki. Out family felt safe in the area and the staff was really friendly and made sure we were taken care of. Rooms were renovated and looks modern. We did not get to use the amenities of the resort so I cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheekebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place to stay in Waikiki. We stayed in studio. Room decor very pleasing. With balcony doors closed, room very quiet. There is air conditioning for hot days. Shopping close by, beach a short walk. Valet parking only, but then you know car is safe. But make sure to get a car and see rest of island. We found Honolulu a little to much city for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,371 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing