We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just Enough Off the "Magnificient 2 Miles on Steroids"!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just Enough Off the "Magnificient 2 Miles on Steroids"!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our first visit to HI. I really wish it hadn't been Waikiki. We are truly not shopping or partying folks. We really would have perferred a quieter, more relaxed area. This hotel was perfet for that! The pool was relaxing.The staff was very friiendly and kind. The bed was extremly comfortable. We have an adjustable Tempurdic at home and sometimes traveling is downright uncomfortable. Bed was wonderful. I only wish the hotel had a nice lounge with an upscale restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer and ask for a Japanese style room. The furnishings are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    188
    51
    17
    24
See reviews for
74
235
31
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Garden for three nights. While it's a little off the beaten path, it's still a very nice resort. The common areas are very elegant. Everything looks recently remodeled. It's a block off of Kuhio (one of the main streets in Waikiki) and at the far end of the Waikiki tourist area. There are some not so nice homes you have to walk past to get to Kuhio or Kalakaua streets, but it's a short block, so we didn't feel too worried about it.
We had a studio room. The room was nicely furnished and very clean. About the same size as a hotel room, with a small table & chairs and mini kitchen (sink, small fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishes) For the most part the room was quiet, but we could hear street noise. The only irritating thing was the air conditioner was motion activated, so it shut off while we slept. No ceiling fan to keep the air moving, so it got stuffy at night. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. Less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was my first timeshare swap and i was really pleased with the way it worked out. We had a studio on the 7th Floor which was just ideal for our needs. The hotel is in a residential area not far from a pretty park and five minutes beyond is the quieter stretch of beach;Duke Kahanamoku beach. i liked the fact we were not right in the thick of the busy Waikiki stretch.
We arrived late at night and the welcome we got was so friendly. The staff on the front desk were really informative and had a nice sense of humour telling us " that we would have to wash our beach towels ourselves." That made me smile. They told s about the gym and the pool but to be honest we were only here for a wek and we just wanted to relax on the beach.
The studio had a small kitchen area with worktop, coffee machine, microwave sink and all the utensils you would need to get by. A little dining table for two. The bed was huge by European standards and very comfortable. The bathroom was small but totally adequate. Our room looked out onto the street with a side view of the canal. It is not a glamarous view as Honolulu is very built up, but we did not go there to stay in our room. The beach, the turquoise sea and the crashing waves were all we wanted to see. Facilities; free wifi, use of the laundry room. TV is Time Warner 70 channels. We used the business centre to print off our boarding cards. It was all good. We enjoyed our stay here which is very different from our usual timeshare in a hilltop Italian town. Would I come back ? Most definitely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulesmoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited Oahu for the first time and we did not know what to expect. We were met by the staff who made us feel not only welcomed but comfortable. The accomadations were outstanding and the amenities such as the pool, media room and fitness center appeared to be up to date and new. The staff made our stay at the Royal Garden memorable. I would like to give a big Mahalo to the following Staff; Aaron, (who always made us smile and shared a laugh or two), Andre, (who helped me with connecting my IPad to their WIFI), and Lynn, (who always answered our questions concerning the locale and things to do in Waikiki). Mahalo to Darwin, Geg and Shane for their assistance. In our opinion the Royal Garaden is One of the Best places we have stayed. Again Mahalo, We will be Back Again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is now a mixture of a Wyndham timeshare resort and privately owned vacation rentals. We had unit 1803 which was a vacation rental. The building has has been renovated and is excellent. The pool area is great and the front desk service is very friendly. The large laundry is free and all rooms have free wifi. Our studio apartment was spacious well equiped and furnished and very comfortable. The views were nothing special, but we had a great 9 days here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CliveP-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are Wyndham owners. Our home resort is Wyndham Waikiki Beachwalk nearby, but there was no availability, so we gave Royal Garden Waikiki a chance. Luck was in our favor. We stayed for 2 weeks.

The true gems are the staff at the front desk: Aaron, Joemar, Shane and Darwin. They showed us true Aloha! They were all so friendly and helpful in every way. I spoke with the hotel manager, Mr. Winter, who was also helpful and attentive.

The room is a small studio (350 square feet +/-), but modern and well appointed. It suited us, a couple. We did have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and blender. We also had utensils and plates provided. The small breakfast nook table and chairs were nice to have small breakfast meals. The TV and entertainment system was great to watch the Olympics on. There is barely a lanai or terrace; you can stand out there, but there were no chairs, nor would they fit. The view from our room 2404 was of the Ala Wai Canal and mountains, no ocean view. The daily newspaper was out 10 of 14 days.

While in HI, have homemade ice cream @ Henry's Place on Beachwalk. One of our Japanese friends told us about it. I still miss and long for ice cream from Henry's Place. We ate our way through the island. We had amazing Sunday brunches at Hoku's @ the Kahala Resort and @ Orchids, Halekulani resort. Loved Ono's Hawaiian Food and the KCC farmers market. Enjoyed shrimp and fish in Kahuku @ Romey's. We had our anniversary dinner @ Sushi Sasabune, truly amazing. We also had a food adventure with Hawaii Food Tours and would definitely recommend it.

We rented a car a few times and visited other beaches: Halona Beach Cove (Eternity Beach), Lani Kai in Kailua and Three Tables Beach in the North Shore. We also did a thrilling shark cage dive! Awesome! It's wonderful to have new experiences and test your boundaries especially in Hawaii.

RESALE, RESALE, RESALE as far as the timeshare presentations. The sales team on site was problematic. I was to attend an "Owners Update" meeting, but was turned away, because my husband was not with me. I could make another appointment when my husband was with me. I OWNED WYNDHAM before my marriage and am still the sole owner of the timeshare. I made a few phone calls to Wyndham Owner Care about my treatment as a woman owner and that I need my husband to attend meetings. I have attended Owner Updates in Atlantic City, Las Vegas, and SF all without my husband. In the end, I was told "it was a misunderstanding and the secretary was new." I was frustrated and insulted to be treated like this as an owner and guest on vacation. I did spend several hours trying to remedy this on my vacation, because I don't want other people to treated poorly. The sales team is separate from the hotel team, luckily.

We did have a memorable time @ Royal Garden Waikiki. We are now refreshed and rejuvenated from the islands.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aliehssunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for our 30th Anniversary in May, 2012. We are timeshare owners from Australia & booked this resort with RCI (Pacific), We had a wonderful week as the hotel is in a great location for anything your heart desires, restaurants, shopping, beach, cafes, etc are all very close by.
The Ala Moana shopping mall is also within walking distance, but you can catch a bus if the 20 minute walk is too much for you!!. We especially liked the fact that we were not right on the beach or close to the main "tourist" strip, which was only a five minute walk away. The reason for this is the noise of the hustle & bustle of the main street, we were far enough away that we could enjoy a good nights sleep, & be in a relatively quiet street not far from the main areas.
The staff, Darwin, Aaron, Lynell, & Joemar were always helpful & courteous with suggestions of dining, tours, clubs & bars, etc.
Our room was spacious & clean with a balcony, there is WiFi in all rooms, a laundry room on L4, the adults lounge has 3 computers for guest use (also on L4), the Lobby looks great after the renovations earlier this year. The pool area is nice with the well maintained gardens, the Gym is well equipped & clean.
This resort was a pleasure to stay in & made our week easy to get to places that we wanted to because of it's great location, bus services to many attractions & shopping centres were only a few minutes walk away. We would highly recommend this resort/hotel to anyone. "ALOHA"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing