We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon in December 11'. It is a few blocks off the beach in Waikiki, but still a very good location. You can walk almost anywhere you want in just a few short minutes, so you don't really need a car. (On a side note, we did get a car, and parking is hard to find. Valet is $25 per night). The lobby is very nice and the staff is pleasant to deal with. Any issue we brought up, was immediately fixed or changed. Our room was on the 9th floor and had a very good view of the area with a balcony. The pool area is a bit on the sad side as it is very small, but why are you using the pool when there is the beach a few blocks away anyways, right? Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The corner room we recieved was very noisy in terms of wind. Wind picked up towards sleeping times a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dano9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    216
    56
    20
    25
See reviews for
94
258
39
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Thankyou Aaron for your friendly service when we arrived.The room was nice,the amenities in the building such as large media centre,free laundry machines came in very handy.I was happy with the room and the location.I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you want a chance of having a side view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

If you're looking for beachside or a resort with all the frills, this place is not for you. But if you just need a clean, comfortable and spacious place to stay with incredibly friendly service, then you should book here. While not located on the beach, the hotel is still in a good location, just a block and a half from high end stores like Chanel and Gucci and from there a nice stroll to the beach, more shopping or restaurants. Only downside is the pool is kinda cold, but you're in Hawaii. Grab the beach towels provided in your room and head for any one of the beautiful beaches. While most people prefer to not drive, there are so many beaches other than Waikiki that we chose to have a car even if it meant paying $25 a night for valet service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vava05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Nice place on an amazing island. My wife loved the location, Just far enough away to be nice and quiet, but close enough to walk easily in to the beach and town centre. We loved Waikiki, just stunning, awesome beaches, superb day trips and great people. The staff are included in this, Aaron on Receiption made us very welcome, what an asset. The free laundry is hugely useful too. All in all we were very happy and would gladly reccomend. Aloha!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lukeandbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I recently took my parents to the Royal Garden at Waikiki for their wedding anniversary and after reading some older reviews I was a little nervous, but I must admit the hotel exceeded my expectations, which is saying a lot as I am a frequent traveller with very discerning tastes. I never stay at a new hotel without first consulting trip advisor, although I've never written a review. After my stay at the Royal Garden I decided I need to write one!

From the moment we checked in we were warmly greeted by Aaron at the front desk and he was every bit as friendly, helpful and awesome as previous reviews report! Not to be outdone, Greg at the bell desk stepped right in to offer his services with a great attituded and a smile. In fact all the staff we encountered were warm, friendly and an absolute pleasure! We often found ourselves in the lobby just chatting with them. The rooms were clean and modern and looked just like they did on the web page - and we got two great newly remodeled rooms from the beginning and didn't have to make any special requests or ask for upgrades and if you needed anything extra, it was never more than just a phone call away.

We enjoyed football on the big screen in the media room, relaxed in the sauna and even barbecued one evening, courtesy of the free grills there (two first come, first serve gas grills AND they provide you with all the grilling utensils)! They really go out out their way to be at your service, right down to the free laundry facilities.

Although we had a car, we took the advice of other reviewers and parked on the street or on the canal. I never even checked with the valet for their prices since street parking was pretty convenient. Just make sure you pay the meter by 7am if you're parked on the street to avoid a ticket. I also found that a car wasn't necessary if you were staying in Waikiki - the hotel is in a great location - a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The hotel is also across the streed from the canal which offers a nice opportunity for a relaxing walk.

I noticed some small projects around the hotel like painting and one of the elevators seemed to be still be used as a freight elevator (though we never saw anything large being transported or heard any indications of construction) so perhaps some of the older reviewers stayed at the hotel prior to the majority of the renovations being completed. All I can say was that our stay was wonderful.

My parents couldn't stop talking about how friendly everyone was and what a great time they had! Thanks to the staff at the Royal Garden for helping make this a very special anniversary gift! A great stay for a great deal that you won't regret. I'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maria_maria206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Booked last minute! Great rate! Great service!Excellent recent remodel.Compliments to designer.Top notch front desk staff+facilities AND free laundry room to boot! Very happy 6 days w/an ocean,mountain+canal view.4 star facility @ a 2 star price! Lovely-MK

Room Tip: Quiet corner rooms.Great views from all/
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illusive45
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We initially booked at one of the Aqua hotels but a room opened up on our timeshare, so we jumped on it.
The hotel itself is a little far from most of the Waikiki commotion, which may or may not be your thing. We didn't mind the walk to the beach and from our room(on the 6th floor), we did not have issues with noise.
The rooms themselves are very nice. I believe they had a major renovation in the past couple of years, so most everything has been updated. Our little studio with King bed was a little small and cozy, but still enough room for a couple and 1 little toddler. The kitchen was sparse, at best. Just a sink, a few dishes and silverware, coffee maker, and blender. No microwave?? We had to call the front desk to request one, weird.
The bathroom was small as well but the granite countertop and shower/tub finish was a nice, classy touch. I love the outrigger oar placed over the headboard. It makes for a nice island accent to the room.
As far as service, I'd give it high marks. Aaron, the front desk guy was always very nice and had a smile. Sheldon, the doorman/bell person/valet guy was really a standout. He gave us an umbrella when it looked like it was going to rain one night. What a guy!
As far as parking, we opted not to get raped and pay the $25/night for 8 nights so I braved the Waikiki streets every afternoon/night. Surprisingly, we found FREE street parking within 1-3 blocks of Olohana St. every night! I think its mostly luck, but with a little persistence, you can find free street parking within walking distance of the hotel. Tips: its free to park at a metered spot after 6pm but make sure you move it before 8 or 9 in the morn. If you find an unmetered spot, make sure its marked with brackets, otherwise its illegal to park there.
Overall, a great experience at Royal Garden. The media room and laundry are free to use. Free wi-fi! About the only minus is the small pool surrounded by apartments..literally! We could hear a lady cursing out her window, it was so close. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Being that there are no real rooms that face the beach, Choose one higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank illusive45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Property: Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing