We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Korean Hole-in-the-wall”
Review of Mikawon

Mikawon
Ranked #327 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Korean Hole-in-the-wall”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

With Korean food, it's all about the side dishes, and this place delivers. Great food and friendly helpful service. If you like Korean food and want to make sure you have a good meal, here you go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHonestScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    50
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, MN
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Tucked Away, But Worth Finding!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were told to go here by our hotel's concierge. . . .so glad we followed her advice!

We had never eaten Korean food before, and wanted authentic . . . this was it.

My husband and I had the "Special for 2" and we couldn't even eat it all. They kept bringing plate after plate and bowl after bowl.

The people who worked there were very sweet to help us know what everything was, and even how to eat some of it.

Highly recommend this place. It is tucked away in the corner of a hawaiian market. Worth taking the time to find it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissaMoorhead_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If you can find it, you'll love it.”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

It's a small restaurant hidden amongst the bustle of the city, but if you can find it and if you love Korean food, you'll love it. The price of our dinner was reasonable, the portions perfect, and the assortment of side vegetables amazing. Our waitress was very friendly and thr atmosphere was fun - the entire place is decorated by drawings and notes from people who have dined there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GremlinGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Service...”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We were craving for Korean food while we were in Waikiki on the first week of March 2011. We came across this tiny Korean restaurant which is located inside the International Market Place. We were lucky to get a table without any wait time. After being seated for 10 minutes. We had to flagged down a server to take our order. The food came 10 minutes later. After deliverly of our food and drinks which I had to asked for it again because she forgot about it. We were left unattended till we asked for our bill. When the bill came, she told us that they had already added a 15% gratuity on to it. We were very unhappy about this as the service was terrible. As for the food itself, it was medicore at best.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vick_lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“I keep going back”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I haven't found much food in Waikiki to rave about, but this restaurant has been consistently excellent. It's a little place, tucked into a part of the International Marketplace. Normally, I worry about tourist locations but the food here is delicious, attractively prepared, and the service is very good and friendly. Reasonable prices, too. We always wind up with leftovers. The squid has been tender, and all the side dishes are wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikawon also viewed

 

Been to Mikawon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing