We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lame”

Beachhouse at the Moana
Reserve with OpenTable
Beachhouse at the Moana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 2,368 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaiulani
Transit: General: from Ala Moana Center, any "Waikiki" bound bus will take you to Kuhio Avenue. Then disembark on Ka'iulani Avenue cross street and walk towards Kalakaua Avenue. From that point, the Moana Surfider, A Westin Resort & Spa can not be missed. From University area: take route 4 to Kuhio/Ka'iulani Avenue intersection.
Description: On the beach at Waikiki, beachhouse at the moana offers the finest steaks, freshest seafood and vibrant island inspired cuisine, utilizing the highest quality and locally sourced ingredients.  Accented with an award winning wine list and signature hand-crafted cocktails, beachhouse at the moana presents a timeless setting amidst the iconic Moana and the tranquil Pacific.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So lame”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sat at the bar for a drink and appetizer. Horrible service, obscenely overpriced everything. Felt like being cranked through a conveyor belt. Lovely place, but no thanks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GABRIELLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experienec Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha,
We are so sorry to hear of your recent experience at the beachhouse. The service you mentioned is uncharacteristic of our standards and we sincerely apologize. We aspire to create vibrant island inspired cuisine featuring the highest quality steaks and freshest seafood in a timeless oceanfront setting. Excellent customer service is of the utmost importance to us and if you wish to address your concerns further, please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. Mahalo and we hope you will consider returning to the beachhouse and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    176
    77
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seaside Spectacular”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spectacular Seaside Ambiance with talented musicians at the Grand Piano in the parlor, and on the outdoor veranda. Bamboo ceiling fans turn while waves crash into the beach just a few feet away. Dinner begins with fresh baked breads coated in the Chef's own blend of herbs and spices. The Cioppino is the best we've had--with a subtle spicy kick in the tomato based sauce, we LOVE it!! Nice Wine List and AMAZING Macadamia Nut Carrot Cake!! Don't miss this Piece of Paradise in Honolulu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHERDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your dining experience at the the beachhouse. Set directly on beautiful Waikiki Beach, the beachhouse offers the freshest local seafood and highest quality steaks in an elegant timeless setting. Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Amazing setting, great views whether seated in or out of the restaurant.

I would recommend the cold bar to start. All of the steaks are good! Lamb is too expensive.

Wine list was large and sommelier was very knowledgable. we gave him a price range and the bottle he picked was fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. So happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner at the beachhouse at the Moana. As you mentioned, the ocean raw bar is an excellent way to start your meal. Hawaiian spot prawns, kona abalone, ahi, Hamachi, and escoloar, sashimi, pacific oysters, snow crab, king crab, and confit pulpo all served on a bed of ice and delivered directly to your table. We do offer an extensive wine list and we are pleased to hear our sommelier was successful in choosing an appropriate bottle according to your taste and price range. Mahalo again and we hope you return to the beachhouse at the Moana soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
419 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Stunning Setting”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A table on the veranda of this iconic hotel overlooking the banyan tree and the sea beyond is a great experience. It's a great way to enjoy the sun set and the Waikiki scene. The service is professional but the food is little variable. My wife enjoyed the monchong but my roast chicken serving was enough for two people (a leg and a breast). The french fires were stoggy and overdone. So, on balance a great spot with variable food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. As you mentioned, the Veranda overlooking Waikiki Beach is the most ideal setting to enjoy breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Its ambiance is unparalleled with fresh sea breezes and shade from our iconic banyan tree. We’re happy to hear you experienced professional service and that your wife enjoyed her monchong, however we are sorry to hear you found the food to be variable. We hope you will return to the beachhouse in the future and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lacks imagination in great location”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel manager and executive chef need to talk. The home baked bread with red wine salt was a highlight. Should have known Alaskan King Crab would be frozen- you know shellfish that is spongy and watery so for the chef- the best way to play it is don't put it on the menu if it ain't fresh- and at $56 that's what you get a plate of crab- no sides, possibly a slice of lemon. The menu lacked fresh and local. Kids meal fish overlooked and dry.

Very plain un imaginative hotel food in surroundings that deserve so much more. Many items on the printed menu unavailable. Management - your customers are generally International travelers and expect more in 2013!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myjourney2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for your inquiry. We are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding your meal at the beachhouse and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Here at the beachhouse we always aspire to create vibrant island inspired cuisine, using the freshest local seafood and produce and we are so sorry if you received anything less than extraordinary. If you wish to address this matter further, please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We hope you will consider returning to the beachhouse at the Moana and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachhouse at the Moana also viewed

 

Been to Beachhouse at the Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing