We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks imagination in great location”

Beachhouse at the Moana
Reserve with OpenTable
Beachhouse at the Moana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,454 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaiulani
Transit: General: from Ala Moana Center, any "Waikiki" bound bus will take you to Kuhio Avenue. Then disembark on Ka'iulani Avenue cross street and walk towards Kalakaua Avenue. From that point, the Moana Surfider, A Westin Resort & Spa can not be missed. From University area: take route 4 to Kuhio/Ka'iulani Avenue intersection.
Description: On the beach at Waikiki, beachhouse at the moana offers the finest steaks, freshest seafood and vibrant island inspired cuisine, utilizing the highest quality and locally sourced ingredients. Accented with an award winning wine list and signature hand-crafted cocktails, beachhouse at the moana presents a timeless setting amidst the iconic Moana and the tranquil Pacific.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel manager and executive chef need to talk. The home baked bread with red wine salt was a highlight. Should have known Alaskan King Crab would be frozen- you know shellfish that is spongy and watery so for the chef- the best way to play it is don't put it on the menu if it ain't fresh- and at $56 that's what you get a plate of crab- no sides, possibly a slice of lemon. The menu lacked fresh and local. Kids meal fish overlooked and dry.

Very plain un imaginative hotel food in surroundings that deserve so much more. Many items on the printed menu unavailable. Management - your customers are generally International travelers and expect more in 2013!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myjourney2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Aloha,
Mahalo for your inquiry. We are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding your meal at the beachhouse and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Here at the beachhouse we always aspire to create vibrant island inspired cuisine, using the freshest local seafood and produce and we are so sorry if you received anything less than extraordinary. If you wish to address this matter further, please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We hope you will consider returning to the beachhouse at the Moana and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 492 of 761 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere and good selection from buffet and cooked to order menu. Attentive service from wait staff. If you go at around 9-10am there could be a bit of a wait for a table but for a small party the turnaround is quote quick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarinaT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the Veranda and that you received attentive service from the staff. The Veranda is so beautiful in the morning and there truly is no better way to start your morning in Waikiki. We also offer an Afternoon Tea service on the Veranda and we hope you can join us one day. Mahalo and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had breakfast here on the first morning of our visit; liked it so much, I came back on the last morning of our stay. I loved their buffet. Food was great. My faves were their guava juice, fruit (especially their pineapple and guava), Portuguese sausage, eggs Benedict. The best was bowls containing smoked salmon in what seemed to me to be a poke salad, along with a delicious piece of bruschetta-type toast. Service was great. Specially offered to make pancakes, waffles, or omelets for me. Sitting in the outside veranda area gives you a great view of Waikiki Beach and the ocean. Especially great feeling in the morning.

The price is probably a bit expensive but typical for such buffets, and also accounting for the ambience. We actually had 50% discount vouchers, courtesy of our friends who were staying at the Surfrider Moana on a special package, so it wasn't so expensive for us on these occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roobydoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet on the Veranda. As you mentioned, the Veranda has such an appeal in the morning and there is no better way to start your day in Waikiki. The breakfast buffet offers an extensive variety of delectable options to choose from, ensuring satisfaction from nearly everyone. If you haven’t before, please join us one day for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a refined and relaxing experience. Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Beautiful drinks, good food, and excellent service! As all food services were in this hotel, it was all very expensive, but you just expect that when you stay here. I loved it!

Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time spent at the award winning beachhouse, overlooking beautiful Waikiki Beach. It truly is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail and watch the day slip into night. The beachhouse features the highest quality steaks and the freshest Hawaiian seafood in the most ideal location. Mahalo and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The veranda on the ocean side of the Westin Moana Surfrider hosts high tea from 12 noon to 3 PM each day. The Moana Surfrider is an old hotel that aligns with old Hawaiian tradition. The decor of the hotel lobby is a literal Hawaiian museum. The high tea service on the veranda is classy and you overlook the ocean. A great place to take your lady friend. She will love it.

Thank mcregge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea service on the Veranda. As you may know, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki. We set the precedent in Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years ago and we continue to evoke a sense of romance and charm today. If you are ever interested, please join us for our complimentary historical tour offered every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am, where you can learn a lot of history about the Moana’s journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachhouse at the Moana also viewed

 

Been to Beachhouse at the Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing