We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Beachhouse at the Moana
Reserve with OpenTable
Beachhouse at the Moana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 2,368 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaiulani
Transit: General: from Ala Moana Center, any "Waikiki" bound bus will take you to Kuhio Avenue. Then disembark on Ka'iulani Avenue cross street and walk towards Kalakaua Avenue. From that point, the Moana Surfider, A Westin Resort & Spa can not be missed. From University area: take route 4 to Kuhio/Ka'iulani Avenue intersection.
Description: On the beach at Waikiki, beachhouse at the moana offers the finest steaks, freshest seafood and vibrant island inspired cuisine, utilizing the highest quality and locally sourced ingredients.  Accented with an award winning wine list and signature hand-crafted cocktails, beachhouse at the moana presents a timeless setting amidst the iconic Moana and the tranquil Pacific.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere and good selection from buffet and cooked to order menu. Attentive service from wait staff. If you go at around 9-10am there could be a bit of a wait for a table but for a small party the turnaround is quote quick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarinaT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the Veranda and that you received attentive service from the staff. The Veranda is so beautiful in the morning and there truly is no better way to start your morning in Waikiki. We also offer an Afternoon Tea service on the Veranda and we hope you can join us one day. Mahalo and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    176
    77
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
433 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had breakfast here on the first morning of our visit; liked it so much, I came back on the last morning of our stay. I loved their buffet. Food was great. My faves were their guava juice, fruit (especially their pineapple and guava), Portuguese sausage, eggs Benedict. The best was bowls containing smoked salmon in what seemed to me to be a poke salad, along with a delicious piece of bruschetta-type toast. Service was great. Specially offered to make pancakes, waffles, or omelets for me. Sitting in the outside veranda area gives you a great view of Waikiki Beach and the ocean. Especially great feeling in the morning.

The price is probably a bit expensive but typical for such buffets, and also accounting for the ambience. We actually had 50% discount vouchers, courtesy of our friends who were staying at the Surfrider Moana on a special package, so it wasn't so expensive for us on these occasions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roobydoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet on the Veranda. As you mentioned, the Veranda has such an appeal in the morning and there is no better way to start your day in Waikiki. The breakfast buffet offers an extensive variety of delectable options to choose from, ensuring satisfaction from nearly everyone. If you haven’t before, please join us one day for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a refined and relaxing experience. Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Beautiful drinks, good food, and excellent service! As all food services were in this hotel, it was all very expensive, but you just expect that when you stay here. I loved it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time spent at the award winning beachhouse, overlooking beautiful Waikiki Beach. It truly is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail and watch the day slip into night. The beachhouse features the highest quality steaks and the freshest Hawaiian seafood in the most ideal location. Mahalo and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for High Tea”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The veranda on the ocean side of the Westin Moana Surfrider hosts high tea from 12 noon to 3 PM each day. The Moana Surfrider is an old hotel that aligns with old Hawaiian tradition. The decor of the hotel lobby is a literal Hawaiian museum. The high tea service on the veranda is classy and you overlook the ocean. A great place to take your lady friend. She will love it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcregge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea service on the Veranda. As you may know, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki. We set the precedent in Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years ago and we continue to evoke a sense of romance and charm today. If you are ever interested, please join us for our complimentary historical tour offered every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am, where you can learn a lot of history about the Moana’s journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delighted by the experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why this place isn't in the top ten. Keep in mind that waikiki is a little biaisé by the typical tourist origin. This puts any steakhouse to shame. We had the porterhouse for 2 with the pamesan mashed potatoes and the aspergus. Sides are ordered separately and shared family style. The food is exquisite and they have a nice selection of wine carefully chosen. We had a bottle of stag's leap artmetis which is one of the best californian cabernet money can buy. It's a pricey meal but it worths it...with wine, food, kid's menu (which ia great btw) and appetizers just over $300

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georges C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Beachhouse at the Moana, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your dinner at the beachhouse at the Moana. We always use the freshest Hawaiian ingredients to create island inspired cuisine featuring the finest quality steaks and seafood. We are pleased you enjoyed a bottle of Stag’s Leap Artemis with your porterhouse for two, a beautiful pairing! Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachhouse at the Moana also viewed

 

Been to Beachhouse at the Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing