We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good price”
Review of Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikiki Banyan
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was our first time at hawaii. This hotel is very close to everything. Ok, the hotel is old, but still they kept it in good shape. PLus we mainly used it to sleep at night. The check in was fast. The front desk were helpful and willing to give you tips of anything you ask them to. We didnt get to use the pool and the bbq on 6 floor i think, but it looks like a lot of people are enjoying themselves. No gym though so we just ran, which is very convinient since the beach is only a block away. Will definately go back here when I came back to oahu

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaysinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 522 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Once again we have spent the last two weeks at Waikiki Banyan - and we are never disappointed!

We checked in late - thanks to Lee, he as great, upbeat, friendly, fast and he upgraded us to an ocean view - awesome!

You are in within walking distance of everything, 1 1/2 blks from beach, 1/2 block to the trolley stops, quick 20 minute walk to the Rainbow Drive In!!

We do all of our grocery shopping at Walmart or Don Quixote's for the best prices and selection - trolley ride home with your loot...

We almost meet new people and can't wait to go back again!!

If you have a choice, check it out - worth it and a great bang for your buck!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was my first time in Honolulu but my friends told me what general area to look for rooms. This hotel is located with all the other high end hotels, that's how you know the location is amazing. The beach is 2-3 blocks away. The downtown area with all the shops and clubs were also within walking distance! The amenities were minimal but I didn't come to Hawaii to stay in my room/hotel. The view in tower 2 is phenomenal, you can see Waikiki beach and diamond head. You can book directly with the hotel or find it on VRBO. I found my room on VRBO and it decorated like a 4 start hotel. I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Tower 2 with the Ocean view is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We returned to Hawai'i again this year but centered our visit on O'ahu because we have family here. Since they had a new baby,we didn't feel like intruding on their home and opted to stay in this lovely condo. The garage was safe, clean and well tended. The building was lovely and well kept despite its age. We were so pleased with this comfy condo with a king sized bed and fully equipped kitchen. The location was quiet despite the sea of humanity on the streets of Waikiki. We did hear an occasional car horn but this is a very vibrant, busy area and those kinds of things are to be expected. We enjoyed the sunrise and views of Diamond Head as well as the occasional passing shower and ensuing rainbow. The entire area around this building is safe and walking friendly. We loved that we could just walk over to the beach and the zoo. I was so happy that we chose this immaculate home away from home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lechein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights. We rented it through Koko Resorts who offer a number of condos in this complex.
Firstly, check in was easy enough. The rooms all have key codes to get in so type it in and you're in! Was great not to have to take a key with us everytime we left the room too. Parking was free, come and go as you please. WiFi was free as were phone calls.
I chose this condo as it was on the corner of the building. Tower 1 faces sideways so we had sideways views through the living areas, but the kitchen and bedroom which are on the end faced directly to the beach. Get rooms ending with 14 in Tower 1 and you won't regret it!
We had 4 people so we ordered air beds. The bedroom has a double and a full bed. There is a sofabed in the lounge but OMG it was THE most UNCOMFORTABLE thing I've ever felt. My 9 year old daughter whinged about it, but when I tried it I saw her point. We ordered another air bed with no hassle. We ended up with 2 airbeds which made it crowded but we just stacked them up during the day.
The condo was great, lounges and other beds were comfy. Full kitchen with everything we needed and more. Condo has been renovated nicely. We all loved the bidet added to the bathroom!
Koko Resorts is on level 5 and open during office hours. They have heaps of boogie boards, chairs etc that you can borrow for free. I imagine at busy times they run out though.We bought our own snorkel gear as it's more hygenic and that way we knew our fins would fit too.
No linens are changed/room is not cleaned but you can take your soiled linens down to Level 5 and they will change them for free. They also provide free toilet rolls, hand towels, dishwashing detergent as requested. Our condo did get a bit dirty by Day 5 but the office staff went out of their way to find us a broom so we could sweep up the sand which ends up in your condo (despite trying not to bring any in!).
Pool, hot tubs, tennis court, golf, playground were all great. BBQs are available too and were well used by many guests. There is also a mini mart on Level 1 but we didn't use it, having been to Safeway with 1 big shopping trip.
Location was excellent - beach is one block to a safe beach for kids. Burger King is on the corner as is heaps of ABC stores, Subway and loads of restaurants. Very short walk to zoo as well. Safeway is a short 5 minute drive down the road.
They are renovating externally at the moment (until end of year I believe) so we could not use our lanai/balcony. There was very little noise. We got a cheaper deal because of this. Another reason I recommend you book a room ending in 14 from Tower 1, as if we could not see out the bedroom/kitchen windows, we could not have seen much from the lanai. Rooms ending in 13 are also on the end so should be okay too.
I would definitely rent again through Koko Resorts. I love being able to choose which condo I am getting which you can't do if you rent through the hotel section. Free parking and WiFi was also great as you have to pay for this if you rent through the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Floor, room in Tower 1 ending in 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAussieBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived on the 8/23/13 for 23 nights. This was our 2nd... 3 week holiday in Honolulu this year. But this was the 1st time we have stayed at the Waikiki Banyan and booked with Koko Resorts. It won't be the last time! From the moment we made email contact all arragements were made very clear and easy for us. On arrival at 10am we were greeted by Chieko, the Manager, who made sure we were allocated the condo that was perfect for us. We were immediatly escorted to the 31st floor, Tower 1. Chieko returned within the hour to make sure we were happy with our Suite and had everything we needed with directions on where everything was and how to use it. We had magnificent views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. The office on the 5th floor is where you pick up everything you may need, all linen, beach chairs and beach towels, or anything else you may have run out of. They even had a small library. All staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. On the rare occasion the clean laundry we wanted had not arrived it was delivered to us. A very special thank you to Kojun who has a great sense of humour and is very knowledgeable on where to go, what to see, and what bus to catch. When we return next year we will be booking the Waikiki Banyan again with Koko Resorts. Thank you all at the 5th floor Koko office for such a great stay.
Judith and George Knox,
Brisbane, Australia

Room Tip: High floor. Great staff. Both sides of building have great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GJKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Let me start off by saying that we had an excellent stay at this condo and we would definitely return.

We rented directly from a condo owner. The process was smooth and it was always pleasant to deal with her. We rented a car so we made use of the parking garage which was an added bonus and very easy to use and find a parking spot. The condo was in great condition. We loved the large lanai and ate breakfast on the lanai every morning, and the views were spectacular! The condo we were in was on the 30th floor and it was very quiet (even though it was next to the elevators-we never heard any noise). The elevators were always pretty fast considering the number of floors in the tower. We did not use the recreation deck or front desk. We loved the location of the Waikiki Banyan.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leticiateliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Waikiki
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 46 in Honolulu
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Banyan

Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $196 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOOKING FOR JACKIE'S CONDOS? LOOK NO FURTHER, YOU FOUND THEM! I have several condos for you to choose from! Rates vary depending on condo, length of stay and time of year. FREE PARKING.. FREE INTERNET ACCESS... FREE CALLS TO CANADA AND US MAINLAND FREE USE OF BEACH CHAIRS, BOOGIE BOARDS, BEACH UMBRELLAS, BEACH TOWELS...ALL LOCATED IN EACH CONDO FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE NO RESORT FEES FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE Our condos are impeccably clean and appointed with comfortable decorator furnishings. Full size kitchen with microwave, range, refrigerator, and all the necessary utensils. There is a flat screen TV, DVD player, stereo with CD player and IPOD docking station, phone and A/C. We provide all the necessities for your convenience and also some extras for your pleasure THE FEATURES The resort is simply incredible, featuring a huge waterfall and Koi pond in the lobby. The recreation deck features a large pool, two spas, sauna, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball court, snack bar, picnic/BBQ area, and children's playground...even a putting green! You will also find secured covered parking, a convenience store, a coffee house and a laundry room on every floor THE LOCATION Conveniently located within a very short walking distance to: of course, the famous Waikiki beach, Kapiolani Park, Aloha Shell, Aquarium, International Marketplace, Ali Wai golf course, Honolulu Zoo, Movies on the beach, and the 'Rodeo Drive' of Waikiki, Kalakaua Avenue. Car rentals, a church, a supermarket, a multitude of restaurants, and shops are easily accessed. A bus stop is located in front of the resort which will take you locally or around the entire island of Oahu! All major attractions [Pearl Harbor, Huanama Bay, etc} can be accessed inexpensively by bus. THESE ARE NON SMOKING UNITS PLEASE NO PETS PLEASE I ACCEPT: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Checks, Money Order ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing