We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waikiki Banyan
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a last minute find and turned out to be a gem. The location is fantastic...not too noisy compared to other locations we've stayed in Waikiki. The sixth floor BBQ and pool area was a nice bonus as well as the free parking that was included in our one bedroom suite 704-T2.
We rented from a private owner thru a rental company...seems some of the other hotel suites in the same building are a bit of a hit and miss...ours was great. Only pet peeve was the cleaning fee seems steeped compared to other similar properties we inquired with...and the other was a late check in fee when arriving after 9pm...other than that, this property comes highly recommended especially if you have kids...the fully self-contained one bedroom suite with full kitchen is a HUGE bonus....definately felt like a home away from home!

Room Tip: Do your homework and check for hidden fees...higher floors if your looking for a view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 514 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our first trip to Hawaii and my only disappointment was the room. The room smelled stale. The hide-a-bed was broken, the roll away bed they brought in, my son said he could feel every spring. No blow dryer, had to call and ask for one. There were basic kitchen pots and pans but no frying pans or a toaster. And they shut the hot tub down way way to early (9pm). The couches were uncomfortable and stained. The bathroom was to small. And for our last two days there, they were fixing the balconies, so we got woken up by the sound of drilling. On the up side..they have bbq's downstairs to use ($2.00/hour) and wasn't to far from the beach or food pantry. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in Tower 2 with Aston. The property is very kid friendly but since there is private and other management properties you can rent from I would do so.

Aston rooms have not been updated they are run down and terrible. We were lucky enough to see some rooms by the other managment group on property and they where nice our room sucked, I would not recommend staying there and plus they charged my credit card twice after a lengthly discussion with the front desk I had to just call my credit card company to stop the charges, it was horrible and also, we checked in at 5 pm and had to wait till 7 pm to get a room, WTH.

Aston bills this place as a condo w/hotel type services. Good luck trying to get a pool or beach towel. We went at 9 am and they didn't have any but checked us out room towels and upon our return at 3 pm the lady asked why we had these towels, silly lady is the same person who gave them to us. This place gave me a headache.

The pool area was nice, tho the hut tub was hecka hot and the barbaque pit's where nice. The coffee shop down stairs was good and the ladies where nice but stay away from the cheap store. They are so rude and chump that they don't deserve anybody's business. Just go a block to ABC.

The location is less than desirable tho, it is a trek to go get food and other parts of waikiki and to walk back a night is very uncomfortable and unsafe feeling. We where visiting family so we had no need for a car so I do not know about the parking situation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heckya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Banyan from Dec 14 2012 to Dec 28 2012 and found the accommodations and amenities to be great for a family. Our group of 5 were comfortable and the 6 Floor BBQ's and Pool were very convenient. I would not hesitate to stay at the Banyan again, the staff very outstanding!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SierraB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in tower 2, suite 2609 from Dec 20-Dec 30, 2012. The view was amazing city side, room was clean and spacious for the four of us. We were a group of 8, the other family members stayed in tower 2 as well in suite 704 also nicely renovated with a partial view of ocean with lots of sun in the afternoon. Both rooms were spacious, 2609 slept 4 in large bedroom with doors separating the sleeping area, great kitchen with all the amenities. These are both private units booked through Captain Cook Travel. Great prices and close to all amenities including a quick walk to the beach. We got free wi-fi with our rooms and 1 parking space per condo included in costs. BBQ's are $2.00 per hour usage and they are electric not gas, so you have to be patient to BBQ. Hot tub and pool areas closed at 9pm every night. Safeway is nearby walk/drive but expect to pay the prices for all groceries, it's not cheap!

Overall great experience being first time in waikiki would definately stay at this condo again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in Tower 1, Suite 2409 and it was an amazing experience. The layout was
creative. The bedroom was huge with two big, super comfortable beds in it.
I found the way the bedroom was able to be closed off from the living room very
creative with 3 sliding doors to close the area. Thus it could be totally opened up
to make a very large apartment.
The lanai was big, and the view was wonderful, seeing a fairly large part of
the ocean and Diamond head.
The amenities are great. If you play tennis, you'll love this. The pool is warm,
and the hot tubs are very relaxing. The sauna needed some work, though,
so I didn't put 5 stars here. But if they fix the flooring and a few other things,
it can be a nice sauna.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the more expensive, but the better it gets. If you can afford high up, do this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyVancouver2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were extremely happy with our stay at KoKo Resorts. The view was amazing and the furnishing very comfortable and recently updated. It was great to have a kitchen and we did a fair amount of cooking since since we bought so much wonderful produce, fish, and meat at the amazing Kapiolani Farmers Market. Our primary reason for traveling was to visit our young grandson and we really enjoyed the play structure on the recreation deck. It was so great to have a safe and convenient place where he could play. The location couldn't be better with the zoo close by and Waikiki beach just a short walk. KoKo Resorts was very accommodating and let us check in 2 hours early. We borrowed a stroller and several other items from them which was super convenient. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 46 in Honolulu
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Banyan

Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $144 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOOKING FOR JACKIE'S CONDOS? LOOK NO FURTHER, YOU FOUND THEM! I have several condos for you to choose from! Rates vary depending on condo, length of stay and time of year. FREE PARKING.. FREE INTERNET ACCESS... FREE CALLS TO CANADA AND US MAINLAND FREE USE OF BEACH CHAIRS, BOOGIE BOARDS, BEACH UMBRELLAS, BEACH TOWELS...ALL LOCATED IN EACH CONDO FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE NO RESORT FEES FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE Our condos are impeccably clean and appointed with comfortable decorator furnishings. Full size kitchen with microwave, range, refrigerator, and all the necessary utensils. There is a flat screen TV, DVD player, stereo with CD player and IPOD docking station, phone and A/C. We provide all the necessities for your convenience and also some extras for your pleasure THE FEATURES The resort is simply incredible, featuring a huge waterfall and Koi pond in the lobby. The recreation deck features a large pool, two spas, sauna, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball court, snack bar, picnic/BBQ area, and children's playground...even a putting green! You will also find secured covered parking, a convenience store, a coffee house and a laundry room on every floor THE LOCATION Conveniently located within a very short walking distance to: of course, the famous Waikiki beach, Kapiolani Park, Aloha Shell, Aquarium, International Marketplace, Ali Wai golf course, Honolulu Zoo, Movies on the beach, and the 'Rodeo Drive' of Waikiki, Kalakaua Avenue. Car rentals, a church, a supermarket, a multitude of restaurants, and shops are easily accessed. A bus stop is located in front of the resort which will take you locally or around the entire island of Oahu! All major attractions [Pearl Harbor, Huanama Bay, etc} can be accessed inexpensively by bus. THESE ARE NON SMOKING UNITS PLEASE NO PETS PLEASE I ACCEPT: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Checks, Money Order ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing