We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Stop for any Art Hounds”

Honolulu Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Waikiki Trolley Hop-On Hop-Off Tour of Honolulu
Ranked #17 of 321 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world’s premier art museums presents international caliber special exhibitions and features a collection that includes Hokusai, van Gogh, Gauguin, Monet, Picasso and Warhol, as well as traditional Asian and Hawaiian art. Located in two of Honolulu’s most beautiful buildings, visitors enjoy two cafés, gardens, and films and concerts at the theater. Other location: Honolulu Museum of Art Spalding House
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Must Stop for any Art Hounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was very impressed with the breadth of collection stored here. Didn't know what to expect but they have a sampling from a very large range - impressionist, renaissance, modern, Indian, Chinese and Japanese. American modern section closed while we were there but still worth the visit. And to top it off the restaurant there is amazingly good. Although reserve as you walk by it, waiting until the end cost us 45 minutes of sitting time because they were booked up. I would go back to look again next time in town.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    278
    53
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This art gallery is a gem; it's a place we can't wait to revisit every time we return to Oahu. The building itself is exquisite and its courtyards all have a very soothing atmosphere. Its permanent art collection -- though relatively small -- is both impressive and eclectic. As well, the gallery always has a series of very interesting temporary exhibits to delight the senses. Frankly, in part this gallery is highly satisfying because its size is so manageable: one doesn't get as exhausted and foot-sore as in major galleries on the "mainland" or Europe.

Its store offers an excellent array of books and artifacts and at a wide range of prices. The only thing we are not keen on is the restaurant. While the food is very good, the atmosphere is quite pretentious -- so we've learned to avoid it, especially if all we require is a refreshing cup of afternoon tea before proceeding to the next exhibit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 566Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
166 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“always a favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

i love the museum ....still a favorite to visit.....not as special as before but still better than most museums....the food is good too

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you like art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great venue, lots of interesting artwork to view. Takes a few hours to see it all. Café there has tasty food with reasonable prices. Trolley drops off and picks up right at its door!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Beautiful setting, wonderful art including local artists and legends, excellent gift shop. Free and few people. Your own amazing art show and another glimpse into the Hawaiian culture including current environmental issues.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zanzibar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing