We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also small exhibit at the First Hawaiian Bank (999 Bishop St)”

Honolulu Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Waikiki Trolley Hop-On Hop-Off Tour of Honolulu
Ranked #22 of 334 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world’s premier art museums presents international caliber special exhibitions and features a collection that includes Hokusai, van Gogh, Gauguin, Monet, Picasso and Warhol, as well as traditional Asian and Hawaiian art. Located in two of Honolulu’s most beautiful buildings, visitors enjoy two cafés, gardens, and films and concerts at the theater. Other location: Honolulu Museum of Art Spalding House
Reviewed January 25, 2013

There is a small exhibit of art from the Honolulu Museum of Art at the First Hawaiian Bank at 999 Bishop Street in the ground floor and mezzanine. Open during bank hours and free. This is a central transfer point for many bus lines so if you're in the area, stop in a browse for a few minutes. Its a small selection but the building is beautiful, bright, and airy.

Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesa G, Honolulu Museum of Art at Honolulu Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are impressed that you made it to our gallery at First Hawaiian Center! You are a real traveler, exploring Honolulu's art nooks and crannies. Thanks for sharing that experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 743 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Brilliant change of pace, from surfing, and getting crispy lying on the beach. Take some time to check out historical art and artists of Hawaii. We especially enjoyed the tattoo exhibition which was spectacular. Some of the artists had worked for 4-5 years on an inking design on one body. Beautifully photographed & displayed

Thank muchmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesa G, Honolulu Museum of Art at Honolulu Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting the museum and sharing your kind thoughts about the experience. We're especially glad you got to see 'Tattoo Honolulu.' We miss it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not only is the museum beautiful it is chock full of Art.I was reminded of the MOMA in NYC with its many rooms of famous artists such as Monet,Chagall,Bacon,Gauguin,Van Gogh and Alice Neal to mention a few.
Not to be missed is the Lunch served From 1130 to 130 very interesting food and drink

Thank Mixerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesa G, Honolulu Museum of Art at Honolulu Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are humbled and flattered to be compared to MoMA in New York. You know your blue-chip artists! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments about your experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a wonderful way to spend a day that isn't a beach day. The grounds are beautiful, the fresh weekly floral arrangements are fabulous, the museum cafe is very good, and the art...did I mention the art? The collection is awesome, from Monet to native pacific artifacts...and do check out the museum shop!

Thank DessertDiva208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well, we were surprised that it was free to get in, not very usual for Honolulu! Well laid out in a beautiful building, it was a great opportunity to see art work from Hawaii. If you want to get to understand a bit more about Hawaii, I wouldn't miss it!

Thank JNS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesa G, Honolulu Museum of Art at Honolulu Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Glad you made it here on one of our two monthly free days, and that you got a chance to see the Arts of Hawai‘i gallery! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the museum. We appreciate you taking the time to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing