We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice gallery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honolulu Museum of Art

Honolulu Museum of Art
Book In Advance
$25.00*
and up
Waikiki Trolley Hop-On Hop-Off Tour of Honolulu
Ranked #19 of 315 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world’s premier art museums presents international caliber special exhibitions and features a collection that includes Hokusai, van Gogh, Gauguin, Monet, Picasso and Warhol, as well as traditional Asian and Hawaiian art. Located in two of Honolulu’s most beautiful buildings, visitors enjoy two cafés, gardens, and films and concerts at the theater. Other location: Honolulu Museum of Art Spalding House
Canberra
Level Contributor
269 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice gallery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The building is lovely and it houses an impressive collection of artifacts and modern artworks - quite a variety

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    267
    52
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A wide and impressive collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Don't miss the Honolulu Museum of art. Take the number 2 bus in front of Tony Roma's right around the corner from the icky Ramada Plaza. It's about a ten minute ride and very easy to get to.
The museum is huge with endless wings and an enormous collection of art and artifacts from around the world.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank heritage011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A long-time favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Growing up in Honolulu and now returning to visit family, I always enjoy a visit to this museum. There are excellent special exhibits, such as the current tattoo exhibit and the previous Bhutan exhibit, which went on to San Francisco, where I saw it again at the Asian Art Museum. I thought the Honolulu presentation was much better than the one in San Francisco although I am a big fan of both museums.

The permanent exhibits are also worth seeing.

The gift shop has an impressive selection of local arts and crafts and jewelry, and the café is a pleasant place to have lunch. The food there is uniformly good.

A few years ago I took the tour to Shangri-La, Doris Duke's estate, which is has spectacular coastal views and Islamic décor and gardens. It's a tour worth taking!

Close to the holidays the museum has a gift sale with interesting and unusual things from around the world.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cchang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem in the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The collections are excellent and the interpretations are informative. The building and courtyard designs by Goodhue win the prize. There is little of the usual hustle & bustle to deal with here. No often discussed in travel books. Goo off the beaten path and enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank denverjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great local art museum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Don't just plunk yer butt on the beach, Get out and see some great local art. Not pictures stuck on the wall. I saw the work of tattoo artists, great board shorts and displays from all over the Pacific region. Something for everyone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rogerlodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesa G, Public Relations Manager at Honolulu Museum of Art, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! We agree—Honolulu has a lot to offer beyond the beach and we're glad you discovered us and got to see "Tattoo Honolulu" and "Boardshorts: A Perfect Fit."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honolulu Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Honolulu Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing