We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome museum with a lot to offer”
Review of Bishop Museum

Bishop Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.95*
and up
Bishop Museum General Admission
More Info
$114.14*
and up
Monarch's Tour: Bishop Museum & Iolani Palace Combo Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #15 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bishop Museum was founded in 1889 by Charles Reed Bishop in honor of his late wife, Princess Bernice Pauahi Bishop, the last descendant of the royal Kamehameha family. The Museum was established to house the extensive collection of Hawaiian artifacts and royal family heirlooms of the Princess, and has expanded to include millions of artifacts, documents and photographs about Hawai'i and other Pacific island cultures. Today, Bishop Museum is the largest museum in the state and the premier natural and cultural history institution in the Pacific, recognized throughout the world for its cultural collections, research projects, consulting services and public educational programs. It also has one of the largest natural history specimen collections in the world. Serving and representing the interests of Native Hawaiians is a primary purpose of the Museum. The Museum also operates the Amy B.H. Greenwell Ethnobotanical Garden on the island of Hawai'i.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Templeton, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awesome museum with a lot to offer”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Expensive, but worth it. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but once on the grounds, it's amazing. The actual Bishop Museum is a 3 story stone building that houses several of Kamehaha I's personal items, huge amount of Hawaiian and Polynesian historical items, a Planetarium, science center where demonstration of lava is done as well as a volcano and other scientific things that kids would like. There is a cafe and gift shop. I spent 5 hours here and could have stayed longer. Alot to see and well worth the price of admission.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    613
    143
    31
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Overview of Hawaiian History and Culture”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had not been to Hawaii so had scheduled a 4 island tour. Oahu was the first island so I wanted to find a place to learn more about the history and culture of Hawaii. I read the reviews here on Trip Advisor and was glad to have set this on the itinerary. We got a very thorough view of not only the history of Hawaii but also the migration history of all of Polynesia. It was interesting to see how they travelled, what they took with them, and how the cultures evolved as the people hopped from island to island across the Pacific. In addition, the history of Hawaii is laid out very well and gave us a good understanding of what we would see in the next 2 weeks and how to put all of that in context. We also saw the lava demo which was done well, especially for the kids in the audience. Also the restaurant was good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Was ok to pass some time”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The museum was enjoyable enough. Our 8 year-old enjoyed the Lego exhibition and the science center and the large whale. We enjoyed the old building with all the wood inside. We didn't get much chance to read all the history as our daughter wanted to go after she had seen the interactive parts.

Was Ok for a visit but not something we would necessarily return to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeverInOnePlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

You would never know this beautiful museum is nestled so close to the H1. We have known about this museum since out first trip and finally was able to visit on our third trip. The main building looks like a castle and houses a three story exhibit ranging from a small scale heiau and rebuilt hale on the first floor to maritime exhibits on the second to a history of Hawaii on the third. There is a full-scale whale that hangs over you from the ceiling. A koa staircase greets you upon entering the building. When we were there, they had an exhibit for the South Pacific. The building next door was skipped as it housed the special feature of the month -- Legos, which was of no interested to us. However, we did go to the Science Center, which was not very science-y, much to our disappointment. We returned to the Planetarium, but did not stay for the show. The gift shop had enough trinkets to purchase (which we did). Overall, it was a very good visit -- well worth visiting!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank starg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Learn About Hawaiian History”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The lava rock buildings and the interiors of carved koa wood are quite impressive in their own right - beautiful. The exhibits and story boards are so informative and nicely done but if you can catch some of the scheduled demonstrations and/or narrated tours it is a fantastic experience. I happened to be in the museum for demo about music and dance - a talk about the royal families and their reign - a show in the planetarium. The science center would be a great place for kids to explore - just a wonderful experience for the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bishop Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing