We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds!”
Review of Bishop Museum

Bishop Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.95*
and up
Bishop Museum General Admission
More Info
$114.14*
and up
Monarch's Tour: Bishop Museum & Iolani Palace Combo Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #15 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bishop Museum was founded in 1889 by Charles Reed Bishop in honor of his late wife, Princess Bernice Pauahi Bishop, the last descendant of the royal Kamehameha family. The Museum was established to house the extensive collection of Hawaiian artifacts and royal family heirlooms of the Princess, and has expanded to include millions of artifacts, documents and photographs about Hawai'i and other Pacific island cultures. Today, Bishop Museum is the largest museum in the state and the premier natural and cultural history institution in the Pacific, recognized throughout the world for its cultural collections, research projects, consulting services and public educational programs. It also has one of the largest natural history specimen collections in the world. Serving and representing the interests of Native Hawaiians is a primary purpose of the Museum. The Museum also operates the Amy B.H. Greenwell Ethnobotanical Garden on the island of Hawai'i.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Studio City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

You would never know this beautiful museum is nestled so close to the H1. We have known about this museum since out first trip and finally was able to visit on our third trip. The main building looks like a castle and houses a three story exhibit ranging from a small scale heiau and rebuilt hale on the first floor to maritime exhibits on the second to a history of Hawaii on the third. There is a full-scale whale that hangs over you from the ceiling. A koa staircase greets you upon entering the building. When we were there, they had an exhibit for the South Pacific. The building next door was skipped as it housed the special feature of the month -- Legos, which was of no interested to us. However, we did go to the Science Center, which was not very science-y, much to our disappointment. We returned to the Planetarium, but did not stay for the show. The gift shop had enough trinkets to purchase (which we did). Overall, it was a very good visit -- well worth visiting!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank starg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,400
    610
    143
    31
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Learn About Hawaiian History”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The lava rock buildings and the interiors of carved koa wood are quite impressive in their own right - beautiful. The exhibits and story boards are so informative and nicely done but if you can catch some of the scheduled demonstrations and/or narrated tours it is a fantastic experience. I happened to be in the museum for demo about music and dance - a talk about the royal families and their reign - a show in the planetarium. The science center would be a great place for kids to explore - just a wonderful experience for the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Science Museum, kids hands on and Hawaiian Culture GREAT!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had been told about the Bishop Museum by a friend and chose to visit when some other attractions were not open. We are so glad we went (and we arrived from our beach hotel in a fabulous superstretch white limo -- the next "car" in the line 'grin' ). We toured the Hawaiian culture exhibits, saw a show in the planetarium that helped us star gaze all Hawaiian vacation, enjoyed the lava melt demonstration and the lego traveling show and just had a fun day with the families of Honolulu. I would highly suggest a taxi out to the museum -- didn't seem close to bus stop nor easy to find -- they called a taxi for us for return trip (about $20 each way?). Excellent gift shop and a small restaurant. Very Friendly and informative staff and volunteers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bowiememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level 6 Contributor
840 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“very extensive and well-curated museum”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My partner and I went to the Bishop Museum for a visit before our flight out in the night time, and overall, I felt it was a very well-curated museum with a lot of information about native Hawaiians and Hawaii. I had not been to the Bishop Museum during previous trips to Hawaii, but I'm glad I went this time.

The museum entry itself is rather expensive, but this is not a government-funded museum, so the large exhibits and houses on the property need to be maintained somehow. All the different rooms and halls of this museum or chock-full of information. The exhibit at the front was undergoing renovation while we visited, but the room about the Hawaiian kings, queens, and kalihi is very comprehensive. We didn't have that much time, but there was so much information that we could not get to.

The main hall is towering and has videos and artifacts and explanations of so many aspects of Hawaiian culture and history. I'm surprised at how interesting they made the subject become, and there was interpretive and hands-on examples for kids as well.

Overall, I would definitely recommend a visit to the Bishop Museum. The Iolani Palace is gorgeous, but there is much more information and explanation at the Bishop Museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I went here on a rainy day and had a good time. Interesting exhibits. Good place to go on a rainy day

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bishop Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing