We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by our shuttle bus driver!”
Review of Bishop Museum

Bishop Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.95*
and up
Bishop Museum General Admission
More Info
$114.14*
and up
Monarch's Tour: Bishop Museum & Iolani Palace Combo Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #15 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bishop Museum was founded in 1889 by Charles Reed Bishop in honor of his late wife, Princess Bernice Pauahi Bishop, the last descendant of the royal Kamehameha family. The Museum was established to house the extensive collection of Hawaiian artifacts and royal family heirlooms of the Princess, and has expanded to include millions of artifacts, documents and photographs about Hawai'i and other Pacific island cultures. Today, Bishop Museum is the largest museum in the state and the premier natural and cultural history institution in the Pacific, recognized throughout the world for its cultural collections, research projects, consulting services and public educational programs. It also has one of the largest natural history specimen collections in the world. Serving and representing the interests of Native Hawaiians is a primary purpose of the Museum. The Museum also operates the Amy B.H. Greenwell Ethnobotanical Garden on the island of Hawai'i.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Recommended by our shuttle bus driver!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Bishop Museum had indepth information about the origins of the Hawiian peoples and certainly gave us a good insight into the customs and history of the islands. The Bishop Museum is not included on any of the tours so we had to catch a bus which was about an hours journey - possibly the type of place to visit on a 14 night holiday and not an 8 as we did.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sysolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,400
    610
    143
    31
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this out of the way museum”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The museum comprises several building. The science building covers information about volcanoes, lava flow and the ocean. Another building has a history of Hawaii and significant people, from which the names of banks, streets, etc are named. Plan on several hours here. After going through this museum you will have a good foundation about Hawaii and its people. Other places of Hawaii that you visit will mean so much more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashcroft
2 reviews
“Museum of Natural History”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This museum encompasses the natural history of all Polynesia. Located off the beaten track it is easy to access with lots of parking.
Professional displays make the trip and admission well worth the trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An enjoyable slice of Hawai'i”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I came here to experience more than mere tourist traps and commercial areas, so this museum was a lovely, peaceful afternoon of history and culture. I wandered through the cool quiet rooms looking at the paintings of Hawai'ian royalty and history, textiles and other art.

I happened to catch a cultural presentation by a lovely young man who spoke about hula and chant and gave a demonstration that invited participation by learning some of the words and arm movements with their meaning. It was a simple first hula that a child might start with in training, but it was fun for all to participate with him. Moses had a beautiful strong, deep singing voice and I think it was really special for the little boys who witnessed a strong man sharing his cultural heritage and showing that song, dance and the arts can be masculine and powerful. He was generous in answering questions as he packed up after the presentation as well.

There is a coupon in the common coupon books to be had at all hotels in the area for about $3 off an adult admission. I bought a membership to the museum to support their good work even if I don't get to visit again soon. I was only disappointed in the selection of local music in the gift shop and that the only hula videos were of the fitness variety instead of cultural such as Merry Monarch Festival videos which I finally located in Sam's Club before my trip ended. I would have rather given the money to the museum even if they had to charge a bit more for the DVDs.

One building was under renovation and closed as well. I didn't get to try the cafe as I arrived just after it closed in early afternoon. However, the exhibit about Japanese picture brides was very interesting with the little videos and personal items such as immigration documents and kimono on display.

A few areas cannot be reached by wheelchair, but they have added special lifts to make most of the older building available to everyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loved it! - A real treasure”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Surprising and filled with so much of the heritage of the islands - I can't believe it is overlooked by so many I talked with who have traveled to Oahu.

I am a geek when it comes to the authentic and real. and I must admit that I was blown away by the amount of, and the quality of the artifacts on display. Not only was it the most comprehensive collection of Polynesian cultural items I have ever seen, but it was overwhelmingly educational. Very fun and engaging. We spent an entire afternoon but only got through less than half of the exibits. Even so I felt rushed and wish I could have had more time. Please support this little treasure

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bishop Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing