We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian Royal History”
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.14*
and up
Monarch's Tour: Bishop Museum & Iolani Palace Combo Tour
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Day at Pearl Harbor Tour
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Honolulu City Ghost Haunts Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Iolani Palace, the official residence of Hawaii's monarchy, is a marvel of opulence, innovation and political intrigue. Meticulously restored to its former grandeur, this National Historic Landmark in downtown Honolulu tells of a time when their Majesties, King Kalakaua, who built the palace in 1882, and his sister and successor, Queen Liliuokalani, walked its celebrated halls. Today, you can enjoy one of the most spectacular living restorations in all of Polynesia and immerse yourself in Hawaii's royal heritage. E komo mai! Welcome!
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Royal History”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved Iolani palace. It provided a dose of Hawaiian royal history and culture, and told the story of the last two monarchs of the kingdom of Hawaii, before it became an American territory. It was beautiful and we loved seeing all the beautiful artwork, furniture and heirlooms. We especially liked the royal jewels that are on display in the basement. The grounds were beautiful as well. This is a must see when in Honolulu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NurseElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,382
    1,122
    318
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Can't believe I haven't been there before.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I lived in Hawaii for much of my life, but never went to Iolani Palace. Don't know why it wasn't a field trip when I was young. I highly recommend this as a great stop early in your vacation to Hawaii. I always feel that people who visit Hawaii don't have any kind of understanding about Hawaiian history and this tour will absolutely give you a baseline for that which will enhance your whole trip to Oahu. It really will. I wish we had made prior reservations so we could have gone on the guided tour but the self guided tour with the headphones was just fine (except that mine weren't working very well). Make sure that you go sit in the little theater to watch the short movie prior to your tour time as that really brings alive what you are about to see. Hint: even when you are doing the self guided tour, there are tour times you are assigned to, so don't expect to just walk in, pay and then go on in. They work hard to make sure that it is not crowded when you are in there, which is wonderful. I highly recommend this to anyone, resident or visitor if you haven't been before.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A visit to the palace is a nice change from the tourism of Waikiki and it is nice to learn a little about the Hawaiian Monarchy. The building has been totally restored and most rooms have been staged with original or similar furnishings. We are glad we splurged and made reservations for the guided tour. Tithe guides are very knowledgeable and can answer most any question you might have about Hawaiian history, palace construction, etc. The many photos and Crown Jewels on display in the basement area are worth a visit, and you will also see the original kitchen and much of the Royal China collection.
Anyone interested in history, architecture, or woodwork will enjoy a couple hours here but I would not recommend it for young children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
898 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Hawaiian History”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I recommend the guided tour, the guides offer a great narrative on the King and Queen. They tell the story of the queens imprisionment in the palace and the fall of the monarchy. The palace is beautiful and great architecture. If you appreciate Hawaiian history this is a great place to visit. It is about a 25 minute bus ride from Waikiki. It is a short walk to china town from the palace, there are some good dim sum restaurants in china town.

Helpful?
1 Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lolani Palace and King Kamehameha statue”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Every fan of Hawaii 5 -O has to visit here. Great museum and definitely a popular Kodak spot.
Grounds are well kept and trees are beautiful. Bus transfers are in order from downtown Waikiki area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing