We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Palace, be careful about parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.14*
and up
Monarch's Tour: Bishop Museum & Iolani Palace Combo Tour
Ranked #13 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Iolani Palace, the official residence of Hawaii's monarchy, is a marvel of opulence, innovation and political intrigue. Meticulously restored to its former grandeur, this National Historic Landmark in downtown Honolulu tells of a time when their Majesties, King Kalakaua, who built the palace in 1882, and his sister and successor, Queen Liliuokalani, walked its celebrated halls. Today, you can enjoy one of the most spectacular living restorations in all of Polynesia and immerse yourself in Hawaii's royal heritage. E komo mai! Welcome!
Vienna VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Historic Palace, be careful about parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well worth visiting the historic palace. Be careful, very careful, about where you park in the vicinity and downtown in general. "Tow away zone" during rush hour means exactly that; we weren't towed, but others in our tour time group were.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,079
    1,031
    290
    43
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
339 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Small palace”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is a small palace when compared palaces in Europe and in Indo-Chine. Since it is so small you cannot buy your ticket and go inside. Even if you intend to visit as self-guided tour still you need to wait for scheduled time slots. There is a strange orientation session at the entrance explaining that how a palace visits!! It is funny that they provide galosh for overshoes. There is a first time for everything.
Wouldn’t suggest unless it rains.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travelguru-su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting Building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Historical and interesting site to visit. It is the only Royal Palace in the US. Guided tour gives much information on the history of the palace, monarchy, and Hawaii. Not recommended for young or hyper children. Should try to see this at least once during a visit to Hawaii. Will see the coronation/crowning room and beautiful koa wood staircase.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 711bingo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only one in the USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was slightly disappointed not to see inside Iolani Palace, but the outside look and standing next to the King Kamehameha statue worth the effort.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great for history buffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit (Dec 2010). We had been studying Hawaiian history and royalty prior to our visit so this was eagerly awaited. I have three daughters so the "real princess" theme works for us. I did have one who was too young to visit, per their rules, though she would have done fine. But I understand the worry about young children. She went with hubby downstairs and outside while I took the others inside. i found the staff nice and full of Aloha. The gift shop worker was patient and friendly with the kids. The other staff nicely answered my daughters' questions. If you are not interested in historic houses, this might not be the place for you. We loved it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing