We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting but not a lot to see” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
Book In Advance
$155.00*
and up
Day at Pearl Harbor Tour
Ranked #13 of 317 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Iolani Palace, the official residence of Hawaii's monarchy, is a marvel of opulence, innovation and political intrigue. Meticulously restored to its former grandeur, this National Historic Landmark in downtown Honolulu tells of a time when their Majesties, King Kalakaua, who built the palace in 1882, and his sister and successor, Queen Liliuokalani, walked its celebrated halls. Today, you can enjoy one of the most spectacular living restorations in all of Polynesia and immerse yourself in Hawaii's royal heritage. E komo mai! Welcome!
England
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting but not a lot to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Worth a visit - we were lucky as it was a holiday celebration and got in free but only 3/4 rooms to see

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,852
    930
    257
    40
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am so glad that I took time out to visit the palace on this trip. My friend and I really enjoyed it, though we had a little giggle at wearing the shoe covers, but it is worth it to protect the gorgeous carpets and beautiful wooden floors. It is a great way to really appreciate that the Hawaiian Royalty were greatly respected by other monarchies, and how sad it was when the Royal family was stripped of power. A truly beautiful place to visit. We went on The Bus, very easy to find.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieFi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The palace is beutifully restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Compared with a few years ago, the Palace is now beautifully restored. We really enjoy history and the Palace provides a lot of insight. The courthouse museum across the street is also worth a stop. The volunteer there was very knowledgeable, especially about the WWII connections.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank optimize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We toured the island of Oahu and this stop was a very enjoyable part of that trip. The role of this facility in the history of the island was very helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
517 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Go to Friday concert on lawn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Although we did not take the tour of the palace, the architecture is beautiful. We arrived on a Friday around noon and the Royal Hawaiian Band was performing. We pulled up a chair under the giant shade tree and spent a wonderful hour relaxing to their soothing music and seeing the beauty of the dancer with her graceful movement.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing