We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Book In Advance
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Hawaii Five-0 TV Locations Tour
Ranked #9 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Touching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Driving into the crater and viewing the graves of our veterans was surreal. Driving through made me appreciate the sacrifice that has been paid by our military veterans.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKLDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,651
    613
    127
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was a fresh breath of reality. A wonderful island, beautiful people and beaches. We still need to thank our fallen heroes for our lives today.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vaniglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We visited this site on Sunday before Memorial Day and it was decorated beautiful, the flags and flowers really made this cementary look Great !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fast61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

A very beautiful location and honors our nations true heroes. Off the beaten path taken by most tourists.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah, Usa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Memorial Day life memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I beautiful setting for our veterans final resting place. Very peaceful, respectful and siren feeling with decorated graves and over 300 US flags flying.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing