We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice setting”

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.83*
and up
Half-Day Pearl Harbor City Tour from Waikiki
Ranked #8 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice setting”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was part of the tour we took that only took a drive through. Would have like to spent a little more time in the memorial.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,737
    635
    132
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A Sober Rememberance”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We toured this Cemetery while on tour bus. We were not allowed off the bus, but it did provide an insight and a time of remembrance of those who were buried there. It is a very pretty cemetery.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mysugarpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another moving experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Situated at the very top of the city a very moving experience if you had not had enough at Pearl Harbour. Beautifully maintained and a wonderful view of the ciry

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“RESPECT FOR THE FALLEN HERE..!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Having been to the American cemetery at Colleville -Sur -Mur in Normandy, France several times, I didn't think there would be another to match that well laid out final resting place against the backdrop of Omaha Beach. Until I visited the Punchbowl, and was completely blown away with what is a truly magnificent setting fit for true heroes. Being an ex service man myself and served with the British Army, it was a real honour for me to visit and pay my respects. Now getting here is easy enough as all I did was get my hotel to fix me up with a taxi, negotiate a price (Sixteen Dollars return in my case) and arrange for the taxi to come and get me in a couple of hours later or so, but, beware it's really worth it as there is a steep hill to walk up otherwise, and unlike rip off tourist buses you'll get to actually walk around here at your own leisure on your own without squawking fellow tourists.!
Upon entering you just pop into a small building pick up a handy little map, and as you start to walk around here one is drawn to the many memorials and graves marking thousands of men who made the ultimate sacrifice in war, even one of the soldiers who raised the flag on Iwo Jima in that famous picture is buried here. As it happened we were in the middle of a ceremony taking place for the Korean vets, due to the new South Korean ambassador taking office and paying his respects, but we were allowed to continue and let me just say the old vets looked so resplendent in their uniforms so smart and respectful.
What I do remember most is the wall of colourful memorials depicting the wars both I & II, Korea, and Vietnam with the many battle maps and so on, including the jaw dropping statue of Colombia standing on the bow of an aircraft carrier defying anyone to mess with freedom. Sadly below her are the names of 28,000 men known only to God, along with a quote from Abraham Lincoln outlining this sadly.
There is also a nice little chapel here if one wishes to contemplate, as well as the panoramic views across to Honolulu and diamond head not to be missed either, as this place has everything fit for a hero in their final resting place. Just do remember to be respectful here as I witnessed three young Asian girls running around squealing and giggling taking pictures of each other in "Fashion Shoots" against the memorials, oh yes girls hang your heads in shame you disgraced yourselves big time here and you KNOW who you are, and I can never understand people who visit such places and then revert to behaving like some uneducated, moronic, Imbeciles devoid of any basic human respect.. Unacceptable I'm afraid..!
As I said earlier there are many graves of notable interest, even President Obama's Grandfather is in here along with one of the Challenger shuttle's astronauts. just walking around makes you think of the sacrifice's made for us. All in all this was a moving experience for us and should be made compulsory for all schools for the future , as one has to give credit to the Americans as they really know how to honour their fallen here. ..... Outstanding.!

A wee tip, go after a visit to Pearl Harbour, you'll get a better feeling for the "PunchBowl"..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigb67Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Place--The Punchbowl”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Large military cemetary in the caldera of an ancient volcano. Must rent a car or take a tour. Buses come close, but do not get you to the top of the hill. Long walk unless you drive in. Very moving place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wolverine989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing