We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful spot with great views of honolulu!”

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Day at Pearl Harbor Tour
Ranked #8 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Holualoa, HI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful spot with great views of honolulu!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

It is just a cemetery but it has great views and history to learn about. I also like driving up there and look at all the different kinds of older homes in HOnolulu. I would have liked to walk around more but did not want to be disrespectful to those visiting loved ones, but it is a special place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank shai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,712
    628
    131
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
721 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Mooving experience...”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We came here to pay our respects as the day we arrived in Hawaii our dear friend USMC Gunnery Sergeant William Hale, who served during WWII in the Pacific War, passed away at the age of 90 years old. Since we were in Hawaii, we could not attend the services and decided to come here and place flowers on the memorial for the fallen USMC Soldiers who passed away in the Pacific...many whom he knew.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Somber”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A beautiful place to go and say some prayers for all we lost.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PunchBowl”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very interesting, although we could not get off the bus, it was an excellend tour.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank webfoot1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Special Memories for us”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had been to Oahu last year and I was disappointed that we didn't get around to visiting the National Cemetery then, so it was top of my list for this years trip.
The day we chose to visit was the 24th April, and we were so lucky to see the U.S Marines (I think?) doing a practise run for the following days ANZAC Day ceremony. For us Aussies, it was ANZAC Day back home (25th) as Hawaii is 18 hours behind Perth, so we felt like we were honouring our fallen heroes at the right time. It was a special feeling to be there, so it made our visit even more memorable.
The actual cemetery is laid out beautifully, and the views from the lookout are amazing.
This place is well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing